BlockBefore

Kansas Homestead of Thomas McQuill(i)an

Listed on the National Register of Historic Places in 2021.

From the record

One of 118 National Register listings published here for Douglas County · listed in 2021 · category: District.

Sources: the National Register database, National Park Service

The listing

  • Address. 1320 North 150 Rd., Baldwin City, 66006
  • When was it listed? June 2021
  • Category. district
  • Also known as. Agriculture-Related Resources of Kansas MPS
  • Township. Willow Springs township
  • National Register reference number. 100006683 - assigned by the National Park Service when the property was listed.

Fires near this property

48 since 2015

Regional context, not property-specific evidence. The federal wildfire occurrence database lists 48 fires within 5 miles of Kansas Homestead of Thomas McQuill(i)an between 2015 and 2020, burning about 537 acres in total. None started naturally. 9 were recorded as arson. Distance is straight-line from the map coordinates, so a fire counted here may appear on a neighbouring settlement's page as well.

Reported cause Fires
Debris and open burning22
Missing data/not specified/undetermined16
Arson/incendiarism9
Equipment and vehicle use1

The most recent of them, most recent first, with the day each was reported and the service that recorded it.

DateCause SizeReported by Name on the report
7 August 2018Missing data/not specified/undetermined2.0 acresKansas Forest Service41
5 May 2017Arson/incendiarism5.0 acresFranklin County32
27 May 2018Missing data/not specified/undeterminedunder an acreKansas Forest Service229
7 April 2015Debris and open burning15 acresKansas Forest Service15
28 April 2018Arson/incendiarism15 acresKansas Forest Service29
12 April 2017Missing data/not specified/undetermined1.0 acresFranklin County2017111
10 April 2015Missing data/not specified/undeterminedunder an acreKansas Forest Service134
9 March 2018Debris and open burning45 acresKansas Forest Service16

Every fire recorded in Douglas County

Storms near this property

2 since 1995

Regional context, not property-specific evidence. The National Weather Service names Baldwin City, the town this property stands in, in 2 storm reports in 1995: 1 thunderstorm wind, 1 tornado. No death or injury is recorded in these reports. Each account below is quoted exactly as the forecast office filed it, from the NOAA Storm Events Database, and each date opens the federal record of that event.

WhenEvent Place namedHarm What the report says
May 1995Tornado (F1)Baldwin City$1,000,000A small tornado formed along the north edge of a strong downburst and moved mainly across open fields. The tornado skipped across the county destroying several farm buildings, a motorhome and farm equipment. However, with widespread straightline wind damage in the area, it was difficult to distinguish between the cause(s) of the damage. The most significant damage occurred along and about one to two miles west of highway 33.
April 1995Thunderstorm WindBaldwin City$20,000High winds tore down power poles and lines knocking out electricity for several hours.

Every storm recorded in Douglas County

Map coverage status

No historic map-sheet match is published for this property yet. That does not mean no map exists. This record needs a coordinate-quality review before it can be joined to a sheet boundary. Browse the county's mapped places while that work is pending.

Listed places nearby

6 within 8 miles

Other National Register properties close enough to walk or drive between, ordered by distance from this one. Both positions come from the same geocoding pass that matched these properties to their map sheets.

Photograph PropertyDistance Listed
Santa Fe Depot3.1 miles1983
First Methodist Episcopal Church3.8 miles2025
Case Library3.8 miles1986
Parmenter Memorial Hall3.9 miles1977
Baldwin City School and Auditorium-Gymnasium3.9 miles2015
Old Castle Hall, Baker University4.0 miles1971

Sources for this property

National Archives recordThe nomination case file for reference 100006683 in Record Group 79.
Douglas CountyAll 118 listed properties in this county.

Provenance

  • Listing record. National Park Service National Register of Historic Places, listed-properties dataset, current to 2026-05-22.
  • Map join. Address geocoded through the United States Census geocoder, then tested against the published boundary of every sheet in the USGS Historical Topographic Map Collection.
  • How this page is made. Listing fields come from federal records; map-sheet coverage is a labelled coordinate-to-boundary calculation, not a source-field claim.
  • Wildfire. Short, Karen C. 2022. Spatial wildfire occurrence data for the United States, 1992-2020 [FPA_FOD_20221014]. 6th Edition. Fort Collins, CO: Forest Service Research Data Archive. https://doi.org/10.2737/RDS-2013-0009.6 Collected with United States Government funding and usable without additional permissions or fees.
  • Storms. NOAA National Centers for Environmental Information, Storm Events Database https://www.ncei.noaa.gov/stormevents/ A work of the United States government, no copyright under 17 U.S.C. 105. Narratives are quoted verbatim from the National Weather Service report and are not edited or summarised.