From the record
One of 118 National Register listings published here for Douglas County · listed in 2023 · category: District.
Sources: the National Register database, National Park Service
Listed on the National Register of Historic Places in 2023.
One of 118 National Register listings published here for Douglas County · listed in 2023 · category: District.
Sources: the National Register database, National Park Service
Regional context, not property-specific evidence. The federal wildfire occurrence database lists 24 fires within 5 miles of Sowers-Crawford Farms Historic District between 2015 and 2020, burning about 406 acres in total. None started naturally. 3 were recorded as arson. Distance is straight-line from the map coordinates, so a fire counted here may appear on a neighbouring settlement's page as well.
| Reported cause | Fires |
|---|---|
| Debris and open burning | 15 |
| Missing data/not specified/undetermined | 5 |
| Arson/incendiarism | 3 |
| Smoking | 1 |
The most recent of them, most recent first, with the day each was reported and the service that recorded it.
| Date | Cause | Size | Reported by | Name on the report |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 10 August 2018 | Missing data/not specified/undetermined | 15 acres | Kansas Forest Service | 191 |
| 15 April 2020 | Missing data/not specified/undetermined | under an acre | Kansas Forest Service | not named |
| 11 April 2017 | Debris and open burning | 6.0 acres | Douglas County | 30 |
| 11 April 2017 | Debris and open burning | 4.0 acres | Douglas County | 29 |
| 9 March 2018 | Debris and open burning | 45 acres | Kansas Forest Service | 16 |
| 8 March 2017 | Debris and open burning | 1.0 acres | Franklin County | 12 |
| 6 March 2015 | Debris and open burning | 10 acres | Kansas Forest Service | 17 |
| 6 March 2015 | Debris and open burning | 2.0 acres | Kansas Forest Service | 16 |
No historic map-sheet match is published for this property yet. That does not mean no map exists. This record needs a coordinate-quality review before it can be joined to a sheet boundary. Browse the county's mapped places while that work is pending.
Other National Register properties close enough to walk or drive between, ordered by distance from this one. Both positions come from the same geocoding pass that matched these properties to their map sheets.
| Photograph | Property | Distance | Listed |
|---|---|---|---|
| Stoebener Barn | 2.3 miles | 1989 | |
![]() | Marion Springs School | 3.4 miles | 2018 |
| Lone Star Lake Civilian Conservation Corps (CCC) Camp | 5.6 miles | 2023 | |
| Lone Star Lake Dam | 5.7 miles | 2023 | |
![]() | Elmwood Stock Farm Barn | 5.8 miles | 2022 |
| Willow Springs Santa Fe Trail Segment and DAR Marker | 6.4 miles | 2019 |
| National Archives record | The nomination case file for reference 100009424 in Record Group 79. |
| Douglas County | All 118 listed properties in this county. |