BlockBefore
Photograph of Joseph Heptig Barn
Photograph by Dragonstudent1984, CC BY-SA 3.0. Via Wikimedia Commons.

Joseph Heptig Barn

Listed on the National Register of Historic Places in 2011.

From the record

One of 14 National Register listings published here for Pottawatomie County · listed in 2011 · category: Building.

Sources: the National Register database, National Park Service

The listing

  • What is counted as historic. The nomination lists 1 building as contributing to the listing.
  • Listed as. Heptig, Joseph, Barn - the National Register files a house under its owner's surname.
  • Address. 12115 Antons Rd., Flush, 66535
  • When was it listed? October 2011
  • Category. building
  • Also known as. Agriculture-Related Resources of Kansas MPS
  • Township. Pottawatomie township
  • National Register reference number. 11000728 - assigned by the National Park Service when the property was listed.

Fires near this property

54 since 2005

Regional context, not property-specific evidence. The federal wildfire occurrence database lists 54 fires within 5 miles of Joseph Heptig Barn between 2005 and 2018, burning about 2,051 acres in total. None started naturally. 1 was recorded as arson. Distance is straight-line from the map coordinates, so a fire counted here may appear on a neighbouring settlement's page as well.

Reported cause Fires
Debris and open burning25
Missing data/not specified/undetermined18
Smoking5
Equipment and vehicle use2
Fireworks2
Power generation/transmission/distribution1
Arson/incendiarism1

The most recent of them, most recent first, with the day each was reported and the service that recorded it.

DateCause SizeReported by Name on the report
4 September 2017Debris and open burning2.0 acresPottawatomie County144
22 August 2017Debris and open burningunder an acrePottawatomie County84
8 July 2018Fireworksunder an acreKansas Forest Service1176025
7 July 2017Missing data/not specified/undeterminedunder an acrePottawatomie County107
2 July 2018Fireworksunder an acreKansas Forest Service1176008
5 June 2017Missing data/not specified/undeterminedunder an acrePottawatomie County93
21 May 2017Smokingunder an acrePottawatomie County58
5 April 2008Missing data/not specified/undetermined300 acresKansas CountiesDEXTER

Every fire recorded in Pottawatomie County

Storms near this property

22 since 1995

Regional context, not property-specific evidence. The National Weather Service names Flush, the town this property stands in, in 22 storm reports between 1995 and 2024: 14 hail, 5 thunderstorm wind, 2 flash flood, 1 tornado. No death or injury is recorded in these reports. Each account below is quoted exactly as the forecast office filed it, from the NOAA Storm Events Database, and each date opens the federal record of that event.

WhenEvent Place namedHarm What the report says
May 2007Flash FloodFlush$50,000Officially, four to six inches of rain with locally nearly 7.75 inches in less than four hours led to flash flooding over central and southwest Pottawatomie county. One unofficial amount of nearly 12.5 inches was noted in a newspaper report. There was enough force from the running water to pull hedge posts buried over 3 and a half feet out of the ground on one homestead. Several area roads were closed and parts of the Flush road were washed out. |
August 2010Thunderstorm WindFlush$8,000Strong thunderstorms brought periods of strong winds and heavy rain to portions of Pottawatomie County on the afternoon of Aug 10, 2010. These storms produced strong winds which broke or damaged 6 power poles near a landfill along Wheaton Road near Louisville. The Kansas Department of Transportation reported a roof was torn off a barn-style metal shed located near Highway 24 and Onaga Road. Many spotters throughout the area reported 60 to 70 mph winds with this storm.
May 1998HailFlush$1,000no account filed
May 2021Thunderstorm WindFlush-Tree limbs down.
June 2017Thunderstorm WindFlush-Estimated wind gust report.
July 2014Thunderstorm WindFlush-Wind gusts estimated. No major damage to report.
June 2013HailFlush-Photo reported on social media...time estimated from radar.
June 2013HailFlush-Mostly dime size hail.
June 2010Flash FloodFlush-Flush road was closed 10 miles northwest of Wamego near Hopkins Creek. Two roads also flooded on the north side of Milford Lake near Milford.
June 2008Tornado (EF0)Flush-The mesocyclone within this thunderstorm produced a tornado in western Pottawatomie County which lifted, then produced a second, stronger tornado that went through Soldier. This tornado produced only minor damage for the most part. The beginning of the tornado path was marked by broken large tree branches. Along the path, more large tree branches were broken, a grain bin was blown into a field, and several tree tops were damaged. The end of the tornado path was near where several trees were broken off in a cemetary to the north-northwest of Louisville.
June 2024HailFlush-no account filed
June 2013HailFlush-no account filed
June 2011HailFlush-no account filed
May 2010HailFlush-no account filed
August 2009HailFlush-no account filed
August 2009HailFlush-no account filed
July 2003HailFlush-no account filed
May 2002Thunderstorm WindFlush-no account filed
June 2001HailFlush-no account filed
May 1998HailFlush-no account filed
June 1998HailFlush-no account filed
June 1995HailFlush-no account filed

Every storm recorded in Pottawatomie County

Map coverage status

No historic map-sheet match is published for this property yet. That does not mean no map exists. This record needs a coordinate-quality review before it can be joined to a sheet boundary. Browse the county's mapped places while that work is pending.

Listed places nearby

1 within 8 miles

Other National Register properties close enough to walk or drive between, ordered by distance from this one. Both positions come from the same geocoding pass that matched these properties to their map sheets.

Photograph PropertyDistance Listed
John McKimmons Barn7.9 miles2010

Sources for this property

National Archives recordThe nomination case file for reference 11000728 in Record Group 79.
Pottawatomie CountyAll 14 listed properties in this county.

Provenance

  • Listing record. National Park Service National Register of Historic Places, listed-properties dataset, current to 2026-05-22.
  • Map join. Address geocoded through the United States Census geocoder, then tested against the published boundary of every sheet in the USGS Historical Topographic Map Collection.
  • How this page is made. Listing fields come from federal records; map-sheet coverage is a labelled coordinate-to-boundary calculation, not a source-field claim.
  • Wildfire. Short, Karen C. 2022. Spatial wildfire occurrence data for the United States, 1992-2020 [FPA_FOD_20221014]. 6th Edition. Fort Collins, CO: Forest Service Research Data Archive. https://doi.org/10.2737/RDS-2013-0009.6 Collected with United States Government funding and usable without additional permissions or fees.
  • Storms. NOAA National Centers for Environmental Information, Storm Events Database https://www.ncei.noaa.gov/stormevents/ A work of the United States government, no copyright under 17 U.S.C. 105. Narratives are quoted verbatim from the National Weather Service report and are not edited or summarised.