BlockBefore
Photograph of Arvonia School
Photograph by MadameGraffigny, CC BY-SA 3.0. Via Wikimedia Commons.

Arvonia School

Built in 1871 (vernacular architecture). Listed on the National Register of Historic Places in 2012.

From the record

“The Arvonia School, on South Arvonia Road in Lebo, Kansas, was listed on the National Register of Historic Places in 2012.”

Wikipedia article Arvonia School, CC BY-SA 4.0.

One of 14 National Register listings published here for Osage County · listed in 2012 · category: Building · built in 1871, vernacular architecture.

Sources: the Wikipedia article · the National Register database, National Park Service

The listing

  • What is counted as historic. The nomination lists 1 building as contributing to the listing.
  • Address. S. 9th St., Lebo, 66523
  • When was it listed? July 2012
  • Category. building
  • Also known as. Public Schools of Kansas MPS
  • Township. Arvonia township
  • When was it built? 1871
  • Architectural style. vernacular architecture
  • National Register reference number. 12000387 - assigned by the National Park Service when the property was listed.

Fires near this property

19 since 2015

Regional context, not property-specific evidence. The federal wildfire occurrence database lists 19 fires within 5 miles of Arvonia School between 2015 and 2020, burning about 261 acres in total. None started naturally. 1 was recorded as arson. Distance is straight-line from the map coordinates, so a fire counted here may appear on a neighbouring settlement's page as well.

Reported cause Fires
Missing data/not specified/undetermined11
Debris and open burning4
Equipment and vehicle use2
Smoking1
Arson/incendiarism1

The most recent of them, most recent first, with the day each was reported and the service that recorded it.

DateCause SizeReported by Name on the report
12 August 2018Equipment and vehicle useunder an acreKansas Forest Service486
8 April 2020Missing data/not specified/undetermined90 acresKansas Forest Servicenot named
20 April 2015Debris and open burningunder an acreKansas Forest Service190
13 April 2017Debris and open burning5.0 acresOsage County170109
11 April 2015Missing data/not specified/undetermined6.0 acresKansas Forest Service174
10 April 2017Debris and open burningunder an acreOsage County170107
29 March 2015Missing data/not specified/undetermined75 acresKansas Forest Service128
13 March 2018Smokingunder an acreKansas Forest Service159

Every fire recorded in Osage County

Map coverage status

No historic map-sheet match is published for this property yet. That does not mean no map exists. This record needs a coordinate-quality review before it can be joined to a sheet boundary. Browse the county's mapped places while that work is pending.

Listed places nearby

3 within 8 miles

Other National Register properties close enough to walk or drive between, ordered by distance from this one. Both positions come from the same geocoding pass that matched these properties to their map sheets.

Photograph PropertyDistance Listed
Calvinistic Methodist Churchunder 500 feet2012
Arvonia Township Hallunder 500 feet2017
Luther Severy & Son Stock Farm6.4 miles2023

Sources for this property

National Archives recordThe nomination case file for reference 12000387 in Record Group 79.
Wikipedia articleCommunity-written account of this property, licensed CC BY-SA.
Osage CountyAll 14 listed properties in this county.

Provenance

  • Listing record. National Park Service National Register of Historic Places, listed-properties dataset, current to 2026-05-22.
  • Map join. Address geocoded through the United States Census geocoder, then tested against the published boundary of every sheet in the USGS Historical Topographic Map Collection.
  • How this page is made. Listing fields come from federal records; map-sheet coverage is a labelled coordinate-to-boundary calculation, not a source-field claim.
  • Wildfire. Short, Karen C. 2022. Spatial wildfire occurrence data for the United States, 1992-2020 [FPA_FOD_20221014]. 6th Edition. Fort Collins, CO: Forest Service Research Data Archive. https://doi.org/10.2737/RDS-2013-0009.6 Collected with United States Government funding and usable without additional permissions or fees.