BlockBefore

Harmon Park Swale

Listed on the National Register of Historic Places in 2018.

From the record

One of 34 National Register listings published here for Johnson County · listed in 2018 · category: Structure.

Sources: the National Register database, National Park Service

The listing

  • Address. 7700 Mission Rd., Prairie Village, 66208
  • When was it listed? September 2018
  • Category. structure
  • Also known as. Santa Fe Trail MPS
  • City. Prairie Village city
  • National Register reference number. 13000880 - assigned by the National Park Service when the property was listed.

Fires near this property

184 since 2006

Regional context, not property-specific evidence. The federal wildfire occurrence database lists 184 fires within 5 miles of Harmon Park Swale between 2006 and 2018, burning about 22 acres in total. 3 started naturally. 12 were recorded as arson. Distance is straight-line from the map coordinates, so a fire counted here may appear on a neighbouring settlement's page as well.

Reported cause Fires
Missing data/not specified/undetermined92
Debris and open burning23
Smoking17
Equipment and vehicle use15
Arson/incendiarism12
Power generation/transmission/distribution7
Recreation and ceremony6
Misuse of fire by a minor5
Fireworks4
Natural3

The most recent of them, most recent first, with the day each was reported and the service that recorded it.

DateCause SizeReported by Name on the report
9 September 2018Arson/incendiarismunder an acreKansas Forest Service2520092
9 September 2017Smokingunder an acreJohnson County2520108
8 September 2017Smokingunder an acreJohnson County2510188
5 September 2017Debris and open burningunder an acreJohnson County2480067
3 September 2018Arson/incendiarismunder an acreKansas Forest Service2460133
3 September 2007Missing data/not specified/undeterminedunder an acreJohnson Countynot named
29 September 2007Missing data/not specified/undeterminedunder an acreMissouri State Fire Marshal's Officenot named
25 September 2015Missing data/not specified/undeterminedunder an acreKansas Forest Service2680121

Every fire recorded in Johnson County

Mines and quarries near this property

10 of 14 shown

Regional context, not property-specific evidence. The federal mineral resources record lists 14 workings within 5 miles of Harmon Park Swale: 14 past producers. None of them still produces. What was taken out: Stone, Crushed/Broken, Clay. Distance is straight-line from the map coordinates, so a quarry counted here may appear on a neighbouring settlement's page as well.

Where SiteCommodity StatusRecorded
Doyle Rock Company Clay PitClayPast Producer
Coyter Brothers QuarryStone, Crushed/BrokenPast Producer
UnknownStone, Crushed/BrokenPast Producer
Unknown-LsStone, Crushed/BrokenPast Producer
Unknown-LsStone, Crushed/BrokenPast Producer
Unknown-LsStone, Crushed/BrokenPast Producer
Unknown-LsStone, Crushed/BrokenPast Producer
Unknown-LsStone, Crushed/BrokenPast Producer
Unknown-LsStone, Crushed/BrokenPast Producer
Unknown-LsStone, Crushed/BrokenPast Producer

Every working recorded in Johnson County

Map coverage status

No historic map-sheet match is published for this property yet. That does not mean no map exists. This record needs a coordinate-quality review before it can be joined to a sheet boundary. Browse the county's mapped places while that work is pending.

Listed places nearby

6 within 8 miles

Other National Register properties close enough to walk or drive between, ordered by distance from this one. Both positions come from the same geocoding pass that matched these properties to their map sheets.

Photograph PropertyDistance Listed
Horn-Vincent-Russell Estate1.5 miles1997
Overland Theater1.9 miles2005
Campbell Dome House2.1 miles2022
Broadmoor Ranch House Historic District2.2 miles2011
Wolcott House2.8 miles2001
Shawnee Mission3.2 miles1966

Sources for this property

National Archives recordThe nomination case file for reference 13000880 in Record Group 79.
Johnson CountyAll 34 listed properties in this county.

Provenance

  • Listing record. National Park Service National Register of Historic Places, listed-properties dataset, current to 2026-05-22.
  • Map join. Address geocoded through the United States Census geocoder, then tested against the published boundary of every sheet in the USGS Historical Topographic Map Collection.
  • How this page is made. Listing fields come from federal records; map-sheet coverage is a labelled coordinate-to-boundary calculation, not a source-field claim.
  • Wildfire. Short, Karen C. 2022. Spatial wildfire occurrence data for the United States, 1992-2020 [FPA_FOD_20221014]. 6th Edition. Fort Collins, CO: Forest Service Research Data Archive. https://doi.org/10.2737/RDS-2013-0009.6 Collected with United States Government funding and usable without additional permissions or fees.
  • Mines and quarries. USGS Mineral Resources Data System (MRDS) https://mrdata.usgs.gov/mrds/ A work of the United States government, no copyright under 17 U.S.C. 105.