Solway, Kentucky
18 topographic sheets cover this place, the earliest surveyed in 1932 and the latest in 1991. It stands in the Summit census division. It lies in ZIP code area 42732. It stands on Kane Branch. The Survey maps it on the Big Clifty quadrangle.
Topographic sheets covering this place
11 surveys from 18 printed sheetsMatched by testing this settlement's coordinate against the published boundary of every sheet in the United States Geological Survey's historical collection. Each opens the scanned sheet at the Survey.
- 1932 USGS Big Clifty quadrangle1:62500, 5 printings
- 1949 USGS Big Clifty quadrangle1:62500
- 1949 USGS Big Clifty quadrangle1:24000
- 1954 USGS Evansville quadrangle1:250000
- 1957 USGS Evansville quadrangle1:250000, 3 printings
- 1960 USGS Big Clifty quadrangle1:24000
- 1961 USGS Evansville quadrangle1:250000, 2 printings
- 1972 USGS Big Clifty quadrangle1:24000
- 1986 USGS Tell City quadrangle1:100000
- 1991 USGS Big Clifty quadrangle1:24000
- 1991 USGS Tell City quadrangle1:100000
Fires near this place
18 since 2002Regional context, not property-specific evidence. The federal wildfire occurrence database lists 18 fires within 5 miles of Solway between 2002 and 2020, burning about 183 acres in total. None started naturally. None was recorded as arson. Distance is straight-line from the map coordinates, so a fire counted here may appear on a neighbouring settlement's page as well.
| Reported cause | Fires |
|---|---|
| Missing data/not specified/undetermined | 8 |
| Recreation and ceremony | 7 |
| Railroad operations and maintenance | 1 |
| Debris and open burning | 1 |
| Equipment and vehicle use | 1 |
The most recent of them, most recent first, with the day each was reported and the service that recorded it.
| Date | Cause | Size | Reported by | Name on the report |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 8 April 2013 | Railroad operations and maintenance | under an acre | Kentucky Division of Forestry | ST PAUL FIRE |
| 25 April 2009 | Recreation and ceremony | 65 acres | Kentucky Division of Forestry | not named |
| 24 April 2009 | Missing data/not specified/undetermined | 3.0 acres | Kentucky Division of Forestry | not named |
| 24 April 2009 | Recreation and ceremony | 1.0 acres | Kentucky Division of Forestry | not named |
| 2 April 2020 | Equipment and vehicle use | 7.0 acres | Kentucky Division of Forestry | TOM DUVALL LANE |
| 12 April 2014 | Recreation and ceremony | 20 acres | Kentucky Division of Forestry | SOUTH GRANDVIEW CHURCH ROAD |
| 1 April 2014 | Recreation and ceremony | 2.5 acres | Kentucky Division of Forestry | LAUREL RIDGE |
| 1 April 2003 | Missing data/not specified/undetermined | 2.0 acres | Kentucky Division of Forestry | not named |
Settlements close enough to share some of these fires:
Storms near this place
1 since 2011Regional context, not property-specific evidence. The National Weather Service names Solway in 1 storm report in 2011: 1 tornado. No death or injury is recorded in these reports. Each account below is quoted exactly as the forecast office filed it, from the NOAA Storm Events Database, and each date opens the federal record of that event.
| When | Event | Place named | Harm | What the report says |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| April 2011 | Tornado (EF0) | Solway | - | An NWS storm survey confirmed an EF-2 tornado with maximum wind speeds between 120 and 125 mph touched down in Grayson county along Danny Sadler Rd. The tornado was weakening as it crossed into Hardin county. Here is was rated an EF-0 with estimated winds of 80 mph. Multiple trees were snapped or uprooted. The tornado lifted just west of Burkhead Ln. |
Nearest settlements
The eight closest, with where each one stands in the county. Distances are straight-line, computed from the Geographic Names Information System coordinates.
| Map | Place | Distance | Sheets |
|---|---|---|---|
| Pierce Mill | 1.8 miles | 18 | |
| Limp | 2.3 miles | 18 | |
| Hardin Springs | 4.3 miles | 10 | |
| Vertrees | 5.7 miles | 18 | |
| Summit | 6.2 miles | 18 | |
| Howe Valley | 6.5 miles | 17 | |
| Eastview | 6.8 miles | 18 | |
| White Mills Junction | 8.1 miles | 18 |
Provenance
This settlement is recorded in the Geographic Names Information System as feature 509091. The sheet list is computed by point-in-boundary test against the United States Geological Survey's historical topographic inventory. Both are works of the United States government and carry no copyright under 17 U.S.C. 105.
Wildfire. Short, Karen C. 2022. Spatial wildfire occurrence data for the United States, 1992-2020 [FPA_FOD_20221014]. 6th Edition. Fort Collins, CO: Forest Service Research Data Archive. https://doi.org/10.2737/RDS-2013-0009.6 Collected with United States Government funding and usable without additional permissions or fees.
Storms. NOAA National Centers for Environmental Information, Storm Events Database https://www.ncei.noaa.gov/stormevents/ A work of the United States government, no copyright under 17 U.S.C. 105. Narratives are quoted verbatim from the National Weather Service report and are not edited or summarised.










