From the record
One of 4 National Register listings published here for Letcher County · listed in 2001 · category: Building.
Sources: the case file at the National Archives · the National Register database, National Park Service
Listed on the National Register of Historic Places in 2001.
One of 4 National Register listings published here for Letcher County · listed in 2001 · category: Building.
Sources: the case file at the National Archives · the National Register database, National Park Service
Regional context, not property-specific evidence. The federal wildfire occurrence database lists 223 fires within 5 miles of C.B. Caudill Store between 1997 and 2020, burning about 7,812 acres in total. None started naturally. 30 were recorded as arson. Distance is straight-line from the map coordinates, so a fire counted here may appear on a neighbouring settlement's page as well.
| Reported cause | Fires |
|---|---|
| Debris and open burning | 109 |
| Missing data/not specified/undetermined | 58 |
| Arson/incendiarism | 30 |
| Recreation and ceremony | 19 |
| Railroad operations and maintenance | 3 |
| Misuse of fire by a minor | 2 |
| Equipment and vehicle use | 2 |
The most recent of them, most recent first, with the day each was reported and the service that recorded it.
| Date | Cause | Size | Reported by | Name on the report |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 9 September 2007 | Debris and open burning | 80 acres | Kentucky Division of Forestry | not named |
| 8 September 2019 | Arson/incendiarism | 1.0 acres | Kentucky Division of Forestry | CARBON GLOW |
| 4 September 2008 | Debris and open burning | 5.0 acres | Kentucky Division of Forestry | not named |
| 28 September 2007 | Debris and open burning | 5.0 acres | Kentucky Division of Forestry | not named |
| 28 September 2007 | Debris and open burning | 90 acres | Kentucky Division of Forestry | not named |
| 28 September 2007 | Debris and open burning | 9.0 acres | Kentucky Division of Forestry | not named |
| 26 September 2005 | Missing data/not specified/undetermined | 1.0 acres | Kentucky Division of Forestry | not named |
| 23 September 2019 | Arson/incendiarism | 2.0 acres | Kentucky Division of Forestry | ELK CREEK |
Regional context, not property-specific evidence. The National Weather Service names Blackey, the town this property stands in, in 10 storm reports between 1996 and 2019: 4 flash flood, 3 thunderstorm wind, 2 flood, 1 hail. No death or injury is recorded in these reports. Each account below is quoted exactly as the forecast office filed it, from the NOAA Storm Events Database, and each date opens the federal record of that event.
| When | Event | Place named | Harm | What the report says |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| March 1997 | Flash Flood | Blackey | $3,000 | no account filed |
| March 2015 | Flood | Blackey | $1,000 | The north fork of the Kentucky River was rising at a rate of 1 foot per hour. The river had left its banks and was entering the basements of houses in the area. |
| July 2019 | Flash Flood | Blackey | - | Fire Department officials observed deep and swift moving flood waters along portions of Kentucky Highway 7 in Blackey. |
| July 2014 | Thunderstorm Wind | Blackey | - | Trees were blown down on Hwy's 7 and 1103 near Blackey. |
| June 2013 | Thunderstorm Wind | Blackey | - | Trees were blown down along a driveway in Blackey. |
| December 2008 | Flood | Blackey | - | Portions of Highway 7 South near Blackey was under 6 to 8 inches of standing water. Water levels have started to recede. There was also some water covering low water crossings in Fleming-Neon along Highway 317. |
| June 2006 | Thunderstorm Wind | Blackey | - | Trees down along Elk Creek Road. |
| February 2003 | Flash Flood | Blackey | - | Water over Kentucky Highway 7 at Doty Creek. |
| April 2014 | Hail | Blackey | - | no account filed |
| May 1996 | Flash Flood | Blackey | - | no account filed |
No historic map-sheet match is published for this property yet. That does not mean no map exists. This record needs a coordinate-quality review before it can be joined to a sheet boundary. Browse the county's mapped places while that work is pending.
| National Archives record | The nomination case file for reference 00001597 in Record Group 79. |
| Letcher County | All 4 listed properties in this county. |