From the record
One of 89 National Register listings published here for Hardin County · listed in 2003 · category: Building.
Sources: the case file at the National Archives · the National Register database, National Park Service
Listed on the National Register of Historic Places in 2003.
One of 89 National Register listings published here for Hardin County · listed in 2003 · category: Building.
Sources: the case file at the National Archives · the National Register database, National Park Service
Regional context, not property-specific evidence. The federal wildfire occurrence database lists 21 fires within 5 miles of George Woodard House between 1999 and 2017, burning about 133 acres in total. None started naturally. 1 was recorded as arson. Distance is straight-line from the map coordinates, so a fire counted here may appear on a neighbouring settlement's page as well.
| Reported cause | Fires |
|---|---|
| Missing data/not specified/undetermined | 7 |
| Recreation and ceremony | 5 |
| Debris and open burning | 5 |
| Railroad operations and maintenance | 2 |
| Smoking | 1 |
| Arson/incendiarism | 1 |
The most recent of them, most recent first, with the day each was reported and the service that recorded it.
| Date | Cause | Size | Reported by | Name on the report |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 6 September 2010 | Recreation and ceremony | 1.0 acres | Kentucky Division of Forestry | SOUTH DIXIE |
| 6 September 2010 | Railroad operations and maintenance | 5.0 acres | Kentucky Division of Forestry | MOBLEY |
| 30 September 2007 | Recreation and ceremony | 1.0 acres | Kentucky Division of Forestry | not named |
| 28 August 1999 | Railroad operations and maintenance | 1.0 acres | Kentucky Division of Forestry | not named |
| 8 April 2002 | Recreation and ceremony | 1.0 acres | Kentucky Division of Forestry | not named |
| 5 April 2005 | Missing data/not specified/undetermined | 1.5 acres | Kentucky Division of Forestry | not named |
| 5 April 2005 | Missing data/not specified/undetermined | 1.5 acres | Kentucky Division of Forestry | not named |
| 16 April 2010 | Recreation and ceremony | 2.0 acres | Kentucky Division of Forestry | not named |
Regional context, not property-specific evidence. The federal mineral resources record lists 1 working within 5 miles of George Woodard House: 1 producer. All of them still produce. What was taken out: Stone, Crushed/Broken. Distance is straight-line from the map coordinates, so a quarry counted here may appear on a neighbouring settlement's page as well.
| Where | Site | Commodity | Status | Recorded |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Cen-Ken Stone Plant No. 2 | Stone, Crushed/Broken | Producer |
Regional context, not property-specific evidence. The National Weather Service names Elizabethtown, the town this property stands in, in 1 storm report in 1974: 1 tornado. The reports record 2 deaths and 57 injuries. Each account below is quoted exactly as the forecast office filed it, from the NOAA Storm Events Database, and each date opens the federal record of that event.
| When | Event | Place named | Harm | What the report says |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| April 1974 | Tornado (F4) | Elizabethtown | 2 killed, 57 hurt, $250,000 | no account filed |
No historic map-sheet match is published for this property yet. That does not mean no map exists. This record needs a coordinate-quality review before it can be joined to a sheet boundary. Browse the county's mapped places while that work is pending.
Other National Register properties close enough to walk or drive between, ordered by distance from this one. Both positions come from the same geocoding pass that matched these properties to their map sheets.
| Photograph | Property | Distance | Listed |
|---|---|---|---|
| Montgomery Avenue Historic District | 0.2 miles | 1988 | |
![]() | William Montgomery House | 0.2 miles | 1988 |
![]() | W. T. Kerrick House | 0.2 miles | 1988 |
| Philip Arnold House | 0.3 miles | 1988 | |
![]() | David L. May House | 0.4 miles | 1988 |
![]() | William Wilson House | 0.4 miles | 1988 |
| National Archives record | The nomination case file for reference 02001467 in Record Group 79. |
| Hardin County | All 89 listed properties in this county. |