From the record
One of 13 National Register listings published here for Marion County · listed in 2014 · category: District.
Sources: the National Register database, National Park Service
Listed on the National Register of Historic Places in 2014.
One of 13 National Register listings published here for Marion County · listed in 2014 · category: District.
Sources: the National Register database, National Park Service
Regional context, not property-specific evidence. The federal wildfire occurrence database lists 10 fires within 5 miles of Gravel Switch Historic District between 1999 and 2015, burning about 184 acres in total. None started naturally. 1 was recorded as arson. Distance is straight-line from the map coordinates, so a fire counted here may appear on a neighbouring settlement's page as well.
| Reported cause | Fires |
|---|---|
| Missing data/not specified/undetermined | 4 |
| Equipment and vehicle use | 2 |
| Recreation and ceremony | 2 |
| Arson/incendiarism | 1 |
| Debris and open burning | 1 |
The most recent of them, most recent first, with the day each was reported and the service that recorded it.
| Date | Cause | Size | Reported by | Name on the report |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 12 April 2006 | Missing data/not specified/undetermined | 25 acres | Kentucky Division of Forestry | not named |
| 8 March 2000 | Arson/incendiarism | 4.0 acres | Kentucky Division of Forestry | not named |
| 16 March 2003 | Missing data/not specified/undetermined | 80 acres | Kentucky Division of Forestry | not named |
| 7 February 2015 | Missing data/not specified/undetermined | 5.5 acres | Kentucky Division of Forestry | HOURIGAN LANE FIRE |
| 16 February 1999 | Equipment and vehicle use | 2.0 acres | Kentucky Division of Forestry | not named |
| 12 November 2005 | Missing data/not specified/undetermined | 53 acres | Kentucky Division of Forestry | not named |
| 30 October 2000 | Equipment and vehicle use | 5.0 acres | Kentucky Division of Forestry | not named |
| 11 October 2011 | Recreation and ceremony | 1.0 acres | Kentucky Division of Forestry | AES FIRE |
Regional context, not property-specific evidence. The National Weather Service names Gravel Switch, the town this property stands in, in 11 storm reports between 2002 and 2025: 5 thunderstorm wind, 4 hail, 1 flood, 1 debris flow. No death or injury is recorded in these reports. Each account below is quoted exactly as the forecast office filed it, from the NOAA Storm Events Database, and each date opens the federal record of that event.
| When | Event | Place named | Harm | What the report says |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| May 2002 | Thunderstorm Wind | Gravel Switch | $50,000 | Roofs were blown off a barn and a home. |
| June 2013 | Thunderstorm Wind | Gravel Switch | $1,000 | The Marion County emergency manager reported that the siding was ripped off one side of a residence located around 10 miles east of Lebanon. Several large limbs were also snapped. |
| May 2025 | Thunderstorm Wind | Gravel Switch | - | Multiple trees were blown down in the Gravel Switch area. |
| April 2025 | Debris Flow | Gravel Switch | - | There was a mudslide near the 7500 block of State Road 337. |
| June 2018 | Flood | Gravel Switch | - | There was water over the intersection of Highway 337 and Highway 243. |
| October 2016 | Hail | Gravel Switch | - | The public reported quarter sized hail. |
| March 2011 | Hail | Gravel Switch | - | Quarter sized hail was covering the ground. |
| May 2003 | Thunderstorm Wind | Gravel Switch | - | Trees and power lines were downed. |
| March 2012 | Hail | Gravel Switch | - | no account filed |
| March 2012 | Hail | Gravel Switch | - | no account filed |
| May 2005 | Thunderstorm Wind | Gravel Switch | - | no account filed |
No historic map-sheet match is published for this property yet. That does not mean no map exists. This record needs a coordinate-quality review before it can be joined to a sheet boundary. Browse the county's mapped places while that work is pending.
Other National Register properties close enough to walk or drive between, ordered by distance from this one. Both positions come from the same geocoding pass that matched these properties to their map sheets.
| Photograph | Property | Distance | Listed |
|---|---|---|---|
| Clel Purdom House | 3.9 miles | 2016 |
| National Archives record | The nomination case file for reference 12001201 in Record Group 79. |
| Marion County | All 13 listed properties in this county. |