BlockBefore
Photograph of Joseph Holt House and Chapel
Photograph by Hunter Hawley, CC BY-SA 4.0. Via Wikimedia Commons.

Joseph Holt House and Chapel

Listed on the National Register of Historic Places in 1976.

From the record

“The Joseph Holt House and Chapel, located in Breckinridge County, Kentucky southwest of Addison on Kentucky Route 144, was listed on the National Register of Historic Places in 1976.”

Wikipedia article Joseph Holt House and Chapel, CC BY-SA 4.0.

One of 7 National Register listings published here for Breckinridge County · listed in 1976 · category: Building.

Sources: the Wikipedia article · the case file at the National Archives · the National Register database, National Park Service

The listing

  • Listed as. Holt, Joseph, House and Chapel - the National Register files a house under its owner's surname.
  • Address. SW of Addison on KY 144, Addison, 40143
  • When was it listed? July 1976
  • Category. building
  • Census division. Cloverport
  • National Register reference number. 76000853 - the number the National Park Service assigned this property when it was listed, and the key its nomination file is catalogued under at the National Archives.

Fires near this property

19 since 1999

Regional context, not property-specific evidence. The federal wildfire occurrence database lists 19 fires within 5 miles of Joseph Holt House and Chapel between 1999 and 2014, burning about 66 acres in total. None started naturally. None was recorded as arson. Distance is straight-line from the map coordinates, so a fire counted here may appear on a neighbouring settlement's page as well.

Reported cause Fires
Debris and open burning9
Missing data/not specified/undetermined5
Recreation and ceremony2
Smoking1
Equipment and vehicle use1
Power generation/transmission/distribution1

The most recent of them, most recent first, with the day each was reported and the service that recorded it.

DateCause SizeReported by Name on the report
22 September 2004Equipment and vehicle use4.0 acresHoosier National ForestBAILER FIRE
1 July 2012Missing data/not specified/undeterminedunder an acreHoosier National ForestWALTRIP
7 May 2001Debris and open burning1.0 acresHoosier National ForestCOMMER
16 April 2000Debris and open burning1.0 acresHoosier National ForestROCKY
12 April 2001Debris and open burning5.0 acresHoosier National ForestSUPERFOOT'S NEIGHBOR
6 March 2012Power generation/transmission/distribution2.1 acresHoosier National ForestROME
14 March 2014Debris and open burning3.0 acresHoosier National ForestTOBINSPORT
11 March 2003Debris and open burning2.0 acresHoosier National ForestPIRTLE

Every fire recorded in Breckinridge County

Mines and quarries near this property

1 within 5 miles

Regional context, not property-specific evidence. The federal mineral resources record lists 1 working within 5 miles of Joseph Holt House and Chapel: 1 prospect. None of them still produces. What was taken out: Clay. Distance is straight-line from the map coordinates, so a quarry counted here may appear on a neighbouring settlement's page as well.

Where SiteCommodity StatusRecorded
Roadcut ShaleClayProspect

Every working recorded in Breckinridge County

Map coverage status

No historic map-sheet match is published for this property yet. That does not mean no map exists. This record needs a coordinate-quality review before it can be joined to a sheet boundary. Browse the county's mapped places while that work is pending.

Listed places nearby

4 within 8 miles

Other National Register properties close enough to walk or drive between, ordered by distance from this one. Both positions come from the same geocoding pass that matched these properties to their map sheets.

Photograph PropertyDistance Listed
Skillman House5.4 miles1983
Fisher Homestead5.6 miles1983
Cloverport Historic District5.9 miles1983
Oglesby-Conrad6.7 miles1983

Sources for this property

National Archives recordThe nomination case file for reference 76000853 in Record Group 79.
Wikipedia articleCommunity-written account of this property, licensed CC BY-SA.
Breckinridge CountyAll 7 listed properties in this county.

Provenance

  • Listing record. National Park Service National Register of Historic Places, listed-properties dataset, current to 2026-05-22.
  • Map join. Address geocoded through the United States Census geocoder, then tested against the published boundary of every sheet in the USGS Historical Topographic Map Collection.
  • How this page is made. Listing fields come from federal records; map-sheet coverage is a labelled coordinate-to-boundary calculation, not a source-field claim.
  • Wildfire. Short, Karen C. 2022. Spatial wildfire occurrence data for the United States, 1992-2020 [FPA_FOD_20221014]. 6th Edition. Fort Collins, CO: Forest Service Research Data Archive. https://doi.org/10.2737/RDS-2013-0009.6 Collected with United States Government funding and usable without additional permissions or fees.
  • Mines and quarries. USGS Mineral Resources Data System (MRDS) https://mrdata.usgs.gov/mrds/ A work of the United States government, no copyright under 17 U.S.C. 105.