BlockBefore

Simon French House

Listed on the National Register of Historic Places in 1979.

From the record

One of 51 National Register listings published here for Christian County · listed in 1979 · category: Building.

Sources: the case file at the National Archives · the National Register database, National Park Service

The listing

  • What is counted as historic. The nomination lists 1 building as contributing to the listing.
  • Listed as. French, Simon, House - the National Register files a house under its owner's surname.
  • Address. Carter Rd., S of Barkers Mill, Hensleytown, 42262
  • When was it listed? April 1979
  • Category. building
  • Also known as. Christian County MRA
  • Census division. Oak Grove-Pembroke
  • National Register reference number. 79003622 - the number the National Park Service assigned this property when it was listed, and the key its nomination file is catalogued under at the National Archives.

Fires near this property

6 since 1999

Regional context, not property-specific evidence. The federal wildfire occurrence database lists 6 fires within 5 miles of Simon French House between 1999 and 2010, burning about 96 acres in total. None started naturally. None was recorded as arson. Distance is straight-line from the map coordinates, so a fire counted here may appear on a neighbouring settlement's page as well.

Reported cause Fires
Railroad operations and maintenance2
Debris and open burning1
Other causes1
Missing data/not specified/undetermined1
Smoking1

The most recent of them, most recent first, with the day each was reported and the service that recorded it.

DateCause SizeReported by Name on the report
20 September 2007Other causesunder an acreTennessee Division of ForestryDURRETT FIRE
20 August 2007Smoking2.0 acresKentucky Division of Forestrynot named
20 August 2007Railroad operations and maintenance15 acresKentucky Division of Forestrynot named
17 March 1999Debris and open burning10 acresTennessee Division of Forestrynot named
5 October 2010Railroad operations and maintenance18 acresKentucky Division of ForestryMURRY
17 October 2005Missing data/not specified/undetermined50 acresKentucky Division of Forestrynot named

Every fire recorded in Christian County

Storms near this property

4 since 2009

Regional context, not property-specific evidence. The National Weather Service names Hensleytown, the town this property stands in, in 4 storm reports between 2009 and 2019: 3 thunderstorm wind, 1 hail. No death or injury is recorded in these reports. Each account below is quoted exactly as the forecast office filed it, from the NOAA Storm Events Database, and each date opens the federal record of that event.

WhenEvent Place namedHarm What the report says
October 2019Thunderstorm WindHensleytown$30,000Tractor trailers and an RV were overturned on Interstate 24 near the interchange with Kentucky 115.
March 2009Thunderstorm WindHensleytown$5,000A semi truck was overturned on Interstate 24 near mile marker 88.
May 2012Thunderstorm WindHensleytown-A wind gust to 72 mph was measured at exit 89 on Interstate 24.
May 2012HailHensleytown-The hail was reported on Interstate 24 at mile marker 89, which is at the junction of Highway 115.

Every storm recorded in Christian County

Map coverage status

No historic map-sheet match is published for this property yet. That does not mean no map exists. This record needs a coordinate-quality review before it can be joined to a sheet boundary. Browse the county's mapped places while that work is pending.

Listed places nearby

4 within 8 miles

Other National Register properties close enough to walk or drive between, ordered by distance from this one. Both positions come from the same geocoding pass that matched these properties to their map sheets.

Photograph PropertyDistance Listed
Cedar Grove1.0 miles1977
Glen Burnie2.8 miles1979
St. Elmo School4.3 miles2023
Maplewood6.1 miles1979

Sources for this property

National Archives recordThe nomination case file for reference 79003622 in Record Group 79.
Christian CountyAll 51 listed properties in this county.

Provenance

  • Listing record. National Park Service National Register of Historic Places, listed-properties dataset, current to 2026-05-22.
  • Map join. Address geocoded through the United States Census geocoder, then tested against the published boundary of every sheet in the USGS Historical Topographic Map Collection.
  • How this page is made. Listing fields come from federal records; map-sheet coverage is a labelled coordinate-to-boundary calculation, not a source-field claim.
  • Wildfire. Short, Karen C. 2022. Spatial wildfire occurrence data for the United States, 1992-2020 [FPA_FOD_20221014]. 6th Edition. Fort Collins, CO: Forest Service Research Data Archive. https://doi.org/10.2737/RDS-2013-0009.6 Collected with United States Government funding and usable without additional permissions or fees.
  • Storms. NOAA National Centers for Environmental Information, Storm Events Database https://www.ncei.noaa.gov/stormevents/ A work of the United States government, no copyright under 17 U.S.C. 105. Narratives are quoted verbatim from the National Weather Service report and are not edited or summarised.