BlockBefore
Photograph of East Main Street Bridge
Photograph by Nyttend, Public domain. Via Wikimedia Commons.

East Main Street Bridge

Built in 1890. Listed on the National Register of Historic Places in 1986.

From the record

“The East Main Street Bridge in Corbin, Kentucky, spanning Lynn Camp Creek between Knox County, Kentucky and Whitley County, Kentucky, was built in 1890. Also known as the Engineers Street Bridge, it was listed on the National Register of Historic Places in 1986.”

Wikipedia article East Main Street Bridge (Corbin, Kentucky), CC BY-SA 4.0.

One of 7 National Register listings published here for Knox County · listed in 1986 · category: Structure · built in 1890.

Sources: the Wikipedia article · the case file at the National Archives · the National Register database, National Park Service · the Wikipedia article

The listing

  • What is counted as historic. The nomination lists 1 structure as contributing to the listing.
  • Address. Engineers St. and Lynn Camp, Corbin, 40701
  • When was it listed? March 1986
  • Category. structure
  • Also known as. Corbin MRA
  • Census division. Corbin
  • When was it built? 1890
  • National Register reference number. 86000605 - the number the National Park Service assigned this property when it was listed, and the key its nomination file is catalogued under at the National Archives.

Fires near this property

91 since 1994

Regional context, not property-specific evidence. The federal wildfire occurrence database lists 91 fires within 5 miles of East Main Street Bridge between 1994 and 2019, burning about 834 acres in total. 1 started naturally. 16 were recorded as arson. Distance is straight-line from the map coordinates, so a fire counted here may appear on a neighbouring settlement's page as well.

Reported cause Fires
Debris and open burning44
Recreation and ceremony19
Arson/incendiarism16
Missing data/not specified/undetermined8
Misuse of fire by a minor2
Natural1
Equipment and vehicle use1

The most recent of them, most recent first, with the day each was reported and the service that recorded it.

DateCause SizeReported by Name on the report
8 September 2007Debris and open burning50 acresKentucky Division of Forestrynot named
7 September 2007Recreation and ceremony20 acresKentucky Division of Forestrynot named
29 August 2007Natural1.0 acresKentucky Division of Forestrynot named
27 August 2001Debris and open burning1.0 acresDaniel Boone National ForestBEGLEY
19 August 2008Arson/incendiarism2.0 acresDaniel Boone National Forest3 SISTERS
13 August 1999Arson/incendiarismunder an acreDaniel Boone National ForestLAUREL BRIDGE
3 July 2012Missing data/not specified/undetermined1.0 acresKentucky Division of ForestrySAWDUST PI
28 June 2012Debris and open burning50 acresKentucky Division of ForestrySCOTTS ROA

Every fire recorded in Knox County

Mines and quarries near this property

2 within 5 miles

Regional context, not property-specific evidence. The federal mineral resources record lists 2 workings within 5 miles of East Main Street Bridge: 1 producer, 1 plant. All of them still produce. What was taken out: Clay. Distance is straight-line from the map coordinates, so a quarry counted here may appear on a neighbouring settlement's page as well.

Where SiteCommodity StatusRecorded
No. 1 MillClayPlant
No. 1 MineClayProducer

Every working recorded in Knox County

Map coverage status

No historic map-sheet match is published for this property yet. That does not mean no map exists. This record needs a coordinate-quality review before it can be joined to a sheet boundary. Browse the county's mapped places while that work is pending.

Listed places nearby

1 within 8 miles

Other National Register properties close enough to walk or drive between, ordered by distance from this one. Both positions come from the same geocoding pass that matched these properties to their map sheets.

Photograph PropertyDistance Listed
Saint Camillus Academyunder 500 feet1986

Sources for this property

National Archives recordThe nomination case file for reference 86000605 in Record Group 79.
Wikipedia articleCommunity-written account of this property, licensed CC BY-SA.
Knox CountyAll 7 listed properties in this county.

Provenance

  • Listing record. National Park Service National Register of Historic Places, listed-properties dataset, current to 2026-05-22.
  • Map join. Address geocoded through the United States Census geocoder, then tested against the published boundary of every sheet in the USGS Historical Topographic Map Collection.
  • How this page is made. Listing fields come from federal records; map-sheet coverage is a labelled coordinate-to-boundary calculation, not a source-field claim.
  • Wildfire. Short, Karen C. 2022. Spatial wildfire occurrence data for the United States, 1992-2020 [FPA_FOD_20221014]. 6th Edition. Fort Collins, CO: Forest Service Research Data Archive. https://doi.org/10.2737/RDS-2013-0009.6 Collected with United States Government funding and usable without additional permissions or fees.
  • Mines and quarries. USGS Mineral Resources Data System (MRDS) https://mrdata.usgs.gov/mrds/ A work of the United States government, no copyright under 17 U.S.C. 105.