BlockBefore

Howard Brothers' Store

Listed on the National Register of Historic Places in 1986.

From the record

One of 44 National Register listings published here for Nelson County · listed in 1986 · category: Building.

Sources: the case file at the National Archives · the National Register database, National Park Service

The listing

  • What is counted as historic. The nomination lists 1 building as contributing to the listing.
  • Address. General Delivery, Howardstown, 40051
  • When was it listed? October 1986
  • Category. building
  • Census division. New Haven
  • National Register reference number. 86002861 - the number the National Park Service assigned this property when it was listed, and the key its nomination file is catalogued under at the National Archives.

Fires near this property

16 since 1998

Regional context, not property-specific evidence. The federal wildfire occurrence database lists 16 fires within 5 miles of Howard Brothers' Store between 1998 and 2017, burning about 103 acres in total. None started naturally. 1 was recorded as arson. Distance is straight-line from the map coordinates, so a fire counted here may appear on a neighbouring settlement's page as well.

Reported cause Fires
Missing data/not specified/undetermined5
Debris and open burning5
Recreation and ceremony3
Railroad operations and maintenance2
Arson/incendiarism1

The most recent of them, most recent first, with the day each was reported and the service that recorded it.

DateCause SizeReported by Name on the report
21 April 2007Missing data/not specified/undetermined14 acresAbraham Lincoln Birthplace National Historic SiteKNOB CREEK
13 April 2014Recreation and ceremony5.0 acresKentucky Division of ForestryHURST FIRE
13 April 1998Missing data/not specified/undetermined15 acresKentucky Division of Forestrynot named
1 April 2000Debris and open burning2.0 acresKentucky Division of Forestrynot named
8 March 2002Recreation and ceremony2.0 acresKentucky Division of Forestrynot named
4 March 2009Debris and open burning4.0 acresKentucky Division of Forestrynot named
28 March 1998Recreation and ceremony4.0 acresKentucky Division of Forestrynot named
24 March 2009Railroad operations and maintenance6.0 acresKentucky Division of Forestrynot named

Every fire recorded in Nelson County

Mines and quarries near this property

2 within 5 miles

Regional context, not property-specific evidence. The federal mineral resources record lists 2 workings within 5 miles of Howard Brothers' Store: 2 prospects. None of them still produces. What was taken out: Clay. Distance is straight-line from the map coordinates, so a quarry counted here may appear on a neighbouring settlement's page as well.

Where SiteCommodity StatusRecorded
Highway 84 RoadcutClayProspect
Rolling Fork RoadcutClayProspect

Every working recorded in Nelson County

Storms near this property

3 since 2018

Regional context, not property-specific evidence. The National Weather Service names Howardstown, the town this property stands in, in 3 storm reports between 2018 and 2025: 1 thunderstorm wind, 1 hail, 1 flash flood. No death or injury is recorded in these reports. Each account below is quoted exactly as the forecast office filed it, from the NOAA Storm Events Database, and each date opens the federal record of that event.

WhenEvent Place namedHarm What the report says
April 2025Flash FloodHowardstown-Water was flowing over Howardstown Road near Cane Run.
April 2018Thunderstorm WindHowardstown-State officials reported trees down in the area.
April 2018HailHowardstown-no account filed

Every storm recorded in Nelson County

Map coverage status

No historic map-sheet match is published for this property yet. That does not mean no map exists. This record needs a coordinate-quality review before it can be joined to a sheet boundary. Browse the county's mapped places while that work is pending.

Listed places nearby

5 within 8 miles

Other National Register properties close enough to walk or drive between, ordered by distance from this one. Both positions come from the same geocoding pass that matched these properties to their map sheets.

Sources for this property

National Archives recordThe nomination case file for reference 86002861 in Record Group 79.
Nelson CountyAll 44 listed properties in this county.

Provenance

  • Listing record. National Park Service National Register of Historic Places, listed-properties dataset, current to 2026-05-22.
  • Map join. Address geocoded through the United States Census geocoder, then tested against the published boundary of every sheet in the USGS Historical Topographic Map Collection.
  • How this page is made. Listing fields come from federal records; map-sheet coverage is a labelled coordinate-to-boundary calculation, not a source-field claim.
  • Wildfire. Short, Karen C. 2022. Spatial wildfire occurrence data for the United States, 1992-2020 [FPA_FOD_20221014]. 6th Edition. Fort Collins, CO: Forest Service Research Data Archive. https://doi.org/10.2737/RDS-2013-0009.6 Collected with United States Government funding and usable without additional permissions or fees.
  • Mines and quarries. USGS Mineral Resources Data System (MRDS) https://mrdata.usgs.gov/mrds/ A work of the United States government, no copyright under 17 U.S.C. 105.
  • Storms. NOAA National Centers for Environmental Information, Storm Events Database https://www.ncei.noaa.gov/stormevents/ A work of the United States government, no copyright under 17 U.S.C. 105. Narratives are quoted verbatim from the National Weather Service report and are not edited or summarised.