From the record
One of 89 National Register listings published here for Hardin County · listed in 1988 · category: Building.
Sources: the case file at the National Archives · the National Register database, National Park Service
Listed on the National Register of Historic Places in 1988.
One of 89 National Register listings published here for Hardin County · listed in 1988 · category: Building.
Sources: the case file at the National Archives · the National Register database, National Park Service
Regional context, not property-specific evidence. The federal wildfire occurrence database lists 14 fires within 5 miles of Hagan House between 2001 and 2017, burning about 330 acres in total. None started naturally. None was recorded as arson. Distance is straight-line from the map coordinates, so a fire counted here may appear on a neighbouring settlement's page as well.
| Reported cause | Fires |
|---|---|
| Recreation and ceremony | 4 |
| Missing data/not specified/undetermined | 4 |
| Railroad operations and maintenance | 2 |
| Debris and open burning | 2 |
| Equipment and vehicle use | 1 |
| Smoking | 1 |
The most recent of them, most recent first, with the day each was reported and the service that recorded it.
| Date | Cause | Size | Reported by | Name on the report |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 6 September 2010 | Recreation and ceremony | 1.0 acres | Kentucky Division of Forestry | SOUTH DIXIE |
| 28 September 2008 | Railroad operations and maintenance | 94 acres | Kentucky Division of Forestry | not named |
| 20 September 2007 | Railroad operations and maintenance | 117 acres | Kentucky Division of Forestry | not named |
| 8 April 2002 | Recreation and ceremony | 1.0 acres | Kentucky Division of Forestry | not named |
| 5 April 2005 | Missing data/not specified/undetermined | 1.5 acres | Kentucky Division of Forestry | not named |
| 13 April 2014 | Debris and open burning | 95 acres | Kentucky Division of Forestry | WEST RHUDES CREEK |
| 12 April 2006 | Missing data/not specified/undetermined | 1.0 acres | Kentucky Division of Forestry | not named |
| 24 March 2009 | Smoking | 1.0 acres | Kentucky Division of Forestry | not named |
Regional context, not property-specific evidence. The federal mineral resources record lists 2 workings within 5 miles of Hagan House: 1 producer, 1 prospect. 1 still produces. What was taken out: Stone, Crushed/Broken, Clay. Distance is straight-line from the map coordinates, so a quarry counted here may appear on a neighbouring settlement's page as well.
| Where | Site | Commodity | Status | Recorded |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Cen-Ken Stone Plant No. 2 | Stone, Crushed/Broken | Producer | ||
| Highway Clay Bed | Clay | Prospect |
Regional context, not property-specific evidence. The National Weather Service names Elizabethtown, the town this property stands in, in 1 storm report in 1974: 1 tornado. The reports record 2 deaths and 57 injuries. Each account below is quoted exactly as the forecast office filed it, from the NOAA Storm Events Database, and each date opens the federal record of that event.
| When | Event | Place named | Harm | What the report says |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| April 1974 | Tornado (F4) | Elizabethtown | 2 killed, 57 hurt, $250,000 | no account filed |
No historic map-sheet match is published for this property yet. That does not mean no map exists. This record needs a coordinate-quality review before it can be joined to a sheet boundary. Browse the county's mapped places while that work is pending.
Other National Register properties close enough to walk or drive between, ordered by distance from this one. Both positions come from the same geocoding pass that matched these properties to their map sheets.
| Photograph | Property | Distance | Listed |
|---|---|---|---|
| Stark House | under 500 feet | 1988 | |
![]() | First Presbyterian Church | 1.4 miles | 1988 |
| Hazel Hill | 1.9 miles | 1988 | |
| Maplehurst | 2.4 miles | 1988 | |
| George W. Smith House | 2.5 miles | 1988 | |
| Elizabethtown City Cemetery | 2.9 miles | 1997 |
| National Archives record | The nomination case file for reference 88001760 in Record Group 79. |
| Hardin County | All 89 listed properties in this county. |