BlockBefore

John J. and Ellen Lemaster House

Listed on the National Register of Historic Places in 1989.

From the record

One of 36 National Register listings published here for Johnson County · listed in 1989 · category: Building.

Sources: the case file at the National Archives · the National Register database, National Park Service

The listing

  • What is counted as historic. The nomination lists 1 building as contributing to the listing.
  • Listed as. Lemaster, John J. and Ellen, House - the National Register files a house under its owner's surname.
  • Address. .6 mi. NE of Low Gap on Low Gap Fork, Low Gap, 41238
  • When was it listed? January 1989
  • Category. building
  • Also known as. Johnson County MRA
  • Census division. Flatgap
  • National Register reference number. 88003177 - the number the National Park Service assigned this property when it was listed, and the key its nomination file is catalogued under at the National Archives.

Fires near this property

238 since 1997

Regional context, not property-specific evidence. The federal wildfire occurrence database lists 238 fires within 5 miles of John J. and Ellen Lemaster House between 1997 and 2020, burning about 6,112 acres in total. 1 started naturally. 62 were recorded as arson. Distance is straight-line from the map coordinates, so a fire counted here may appear on a neighbouring settlement's page as well.

Reported cause Fires
Debris and open burning88
Arson/incendiarism62
Missing data/not specified/undetermined61
Recreation and ceremony21
Equipment and vehicle use3
Misuse of fire by a minor1
Natural1
Smoking1

The most recent of them, most recent first, with the day each was reported and the service that recorded it.

DateCause SizeReported by Name on the report
6 September 2010Recreation and ceremony5.0 acresKentucky Division of ForestryLOW BRANCH ROAD
25 September 2007Debris and open burning1.0 acresKentucky Division of Forestrynot named
14 September 2008Debris and open burning5.0 acresKentucky Division of Forestrynot named
13 September 2001Arson/incendiarism2.0 acresKentucky Division of Forestrynot named
10 September 2010Recreation and ceremony15 acresKentucky Division of ForestryM SALYERS ROAD II
25 August 2007Missing data/not specified/undetermined1.0 acresKentucky Division of Forestrynot named
24 August 2007Recreation and ceremony1.0 acresKentucky Division of Forestrynot named
29 June 2012Missing data/not specified/undeterminedunder an acreKentucky Division of ForestryRT. 40 SPI

Every fire recorded in Johnson County

Mines and quarries near this property

5 within 5 miles

Regional context, not property-specific evidence. The federal mineral resources record lists 5 workings within 5 miles of John J. and Ellen Lemaster House: 4 prospects, 1 producer. 1 still produces. What was taken out: Clay, Stone, Crushed/Broken, Silica. Distance is straight-line from the map coordinates, so a quarry counted here may appear on a neighbouring settlement's page as well.

Where SiteCommodity StatusRecorded
Mjm MineStone, Crushed/BrokenProducer
Stffordsville Sandstone RoadcutSilicaProspect
Cantrill Branch ShaleClayProspect
Shack Branch ShaleClayProspect
Volga ShaleClayProspect

Every working recorded in Johnson County

Map coverage status

No historic map-sheet match is published for this property yet. That does not mean no map exists. This record needs a coordinate-quality review before it can be joined to a sheet boundary. Browse the county's mapped places while that work is pending.

Listed places nearby

6 within 8 miles

Other National Register properties close enough to walk or drive between, ordered by distance from this one. Both positions come from the same geocoding pass that matched these properties to their map sheets.

Photograph PropertyDistance Listed
David McKenzie Log Cabin1.8 miles1982
Williams House3.7 miles1989
Lloyd Hamilton Mott House3.9 miles1989
Jeff Bond House3.9 miles1989
Oil Springs High School Gymnasium4.1 miles1989
Oil Springs Methodist Church4.1 miles1989

Sources for this property

National Archives recordThe nomination case file for reference 88003177 in Record Group 79.
Johnson CountyAll 36 listed properties in this county.

Provenance

  • Listing record. National Park Service National Register of Historic Places, listed-properties dataset, current to 2026-05-22.
  • Map join. Address geocoded through the United States Census geocoder, then tested against the published boundary of every sheet in the USGS Historical Topographic Map Collection.
  • How this page is made. Listing fields come from federal records; map-sheet coverage is a labelled coordinate-to-boundary calculation, not a source-field claim.
  • Wildfire. Short, Karen C. 2022. Spatial wildfire occurrence data for the United States, 1992-2020 [FPA_FOD_20221014]. 6th Edition. Fort Collins, CO: Forest Service Research Data Archive. https://doi.org/10.2737/RDS-2013-0009.6 Collected with United States Government funding and usable without additional permissions or fees.
  • Mines and quarries. USGS Mineral Resources Data System (MRDS) https://mrdata.usgs.gov/mrds/ A work of the United States government, no copyright under 17 U.S.C. 105.