BlockBefore

Guthrie-May House

Listed on the National Register of Historic Places in 1999.

From the record

One of 99 National Register listings published here for Boyle County · listed in 1999 · category: Building.

Sources: the case file at the National Archives · the National Register database, National Park Service

The listing

  • What is counted as historic. The nomination lists 1 building as contributing to the listing.
  • Listed as. Guthrie--May House - the National Register files a house under its owner's surname.
  • Address. N of jct. of KY 37 and KY 243, Gravel Switch, 40328
  • When was it listed? May 1999
  • Category. building
  • Also known as. Boyle MPS
  • Census division. Perryville
  • National Register reference number. 98000336 - the number the National Park Service assigned this property when it was listed, and the key its nomination file is catalogued under at the National Archives.

Fires near this property

11 since 1999

Regional context, not property-specific evidence. The federal wildfire occurrence database lists 11 fires within 5 miles of Guthrie-May House between 1999 and 2019, burning about 172 acres in total. None started naturally. None was recorded as arson. Distance is straight-line from the map coordinates, so a fire counted here may appear on a neighbouring settlement's page as well.

Reported cause Fires
Equipment and vehicle use4
Debris and open burning3
Recreation and ceremony2
Missing data/not specified/undetermined2

The most recent of them, most recent first, with the day each was reported and the service that recorded it.

DateCause SizeReported by Name on the report
2 April 2014Debris and open burning52 acresKentucky Division of ForestryMINORS BRANCH
12 April 2006Missing data/not specified/undetermined25 acresKentucky Division of Forestrynot named
6 March 2007Debris and open burning1.0 acresKentucky Division of Forestrynot named
6 March 2002Equipment and vehicle use15 acresKentucky Division of Forestrynot named
14 March 2019Equipment and vehicle use8.0 acresKentucky Division of ForestryELK CAVE
16 February 1999Equipment and vehicle use2.0 acresKentucky Division of Forestrynot named
12 November 2005Missing data/not specified/undetermined53 acresKentucky Division of Forestrynot named
30 October 2000Equipment and vehicle use5.0 acresKentucky Division of Forestrynot named

Every fire recorded in Boyle County

Map coverage status

No historic map-sheet match is published for this property yet. That does not mean no map exists. This record needs a coordinate-quality review before it can be joined to a sheet boundary. Browse the county's mapped places while that work is pending.

Listed places nearby

6 within 8 miles

Other National Register properties close enough to walk or drive between, ordered by distance from this one. Both positions come from the same geocoding pass that matched these properties to their map sheets.

Photograph PropertyDistance Listed
Penn's Store0.4 miles1998
Isaacs House and Farmstead0.8 miles1999
Forkland School and Gymnasium2.1 miles1998
Purdom-Lewis-Hutchison House2.3 miles1997
Aliceton Camp Meeting Ground2.5 miles1998
Mitchellsburg Louisville and Nashville Railroad Culvert5.1 miles1998

Sources for this property

National Archives recordThe nomination case file for reference 98000336 in Record Group 79.
Boyle CountyAll 99 listed properties in this county.

Provenance

  • Listing record. National Park Service National Register of Historic Places, listed-properties dataset, current to 2026-05-22.
  • Map join. Address geocoded through the United States Census geocoder, then tested against the published boundary of every sheet in the USGS Historical Topographic Map Collection.
  • How this page is made. Listing fields come from federal records; map-sheet coverage is a labelled coordinate-to-boundary calculation, not a source-field claim.
  • Wildfire. Short, Karen C. 2022. Spatial wildfire occurrence data for the United States, 1992-2020 [FPA_FOD_20221014]. 6th Edition. Fort Collins, CO: Forest Service Research Data Archive. https://doi.org/10.2737/RDS-2013-0009.6 Collected with United States Government funding and usable without additional permissions or fees.