BlockBefore
Photograph of Houghton County Traction Company Ahmeek Streetcar Station
Photograph by Andrew Jameson, CC BY-SA 3.0. Via Wikimedia Commons.

Houghton County Traction Company Ahmeek Streetcar Station

Listed on the National Register of Historic Places in 2000.

From the record

“The Houghton County Traction Company Ahmeek Streetcar Station is a rail station located at the corner of US 41/M-26 and Hubbell Street in Ahmeek, Michigan. It was listed on the National Register of Historic Places in 2000.”

Wikipedia article Houghton County Traction Company Ahmeek Streetcar Station, CC BY-SA 4.0.

One of 31 National Register listings published here for Keweenaw County · listed in 2000 · category: Building.

Sources: the Wikipedia article · the case file at the National Archives · the National Register database, National Park Service

The listing

  • What is counted as historic. The nomination lists 1 building as contributing to the listing.
  • Address. US 41/M 26 and Hubbell St., Allouez, 49805
  • When was it listed? March 2000
  • Category. building
  • National Register reference number. 00000221 - the number the National Park Service assigned this property when it was listed, and the key its nomination file is catalogued under at the National Archives.

Fires near this property

15 since 1992

Regional context, not property-specific evidence. The federal wildfire occurrence database lists 15 fires within 5 miles of Houghton County Traction Company Ahmeek Streetcar Station between 1992 and 2020, burning about 16 acres in total. 2 started naturally. 3 were recorded as arson. Distance is straight-line from the map coordinates, so a fire counted here may appear on a neighbouring settlement's page as well.

Reported cause Fires
Equipment and vehicle use4
Arson/incendiarism3
Missing data/not specified/undetermined3
Natural2
Misuse of fire by a minor1
Smoking1
Recreation and ceremony1

The most recent of them, most recent first, with the day each was reported and the service that recorded it.

DateCause SizeReported by Name on the report
7 August 1994Arson/incendiarismunder an acreMichigan Department of Natural Resourcesnot named
24 August 2012Naturalunder an acreMichigan Department of Natural ResourcesGRATIOT RIVER
21 August 2019Missing data/not specified/undetermined1.0 acresMichigan Department of Natural ResourcesCALUMET VILLAGE FD 0081219 - 2019
5 July 2020Missing data/not specified/undetermined1.0 acresMichigan Department of Natural ResourcesAHMEEK FD 0200024 - 2020
5 June 2009Arson/incendiarismunder an acreMichigan Department of Natural ResourcesSLASHER
5 June 1993Smoking1.6 acresMichigan Department of Natural Resourcesnot named
23 June 1995Misuse of fire by a minorunder an acreMichigan Department of Natural Resourcesnot named
14 June 2019Equipment and vehicle use1.0 acresMichigan Department of Natural ResourcesALLOUEZ TOWNSHIP FD 0061419 - 2019

Every fire recorded in Keweenaw County

Mines and quarries near this property

10 of 68 shown

Regional context, not property-specific evidence. The federal mineral resources record lists 68 workings within 5 miles of Houghton County Traction Company Ahmeek Streetcar Station: 56 past producers, 8 prospects, 4 producers. 4 still produce. What was taken out: Copper, Silver, Sand and Gravel, Construction, Copper, Silver. Distance is straight-line from the map coordinates, so a quarry counted here may appear on a neighbouring settlement's page as well.

Where SiteCommodity StatusRecorded
Gratiot Copper MineSilver, CopperPast ProducerCopper
Michigan Nickel DepositsNickel, CopperProspectSulfides
Michigan Nickel DepositsNickel, CopperProspect
MohawkCopper, ArsenicPast Producer1898, 1902
Mohawkite FissureCopper, ArsenicPast Producer1900, 1901
Centennial No.2Copper, SilverPast Producer1863, 1904
IroquoisCopper, SilverPast Producer1942, 1956
WolverineCopper, SilverPast Producer1882, 1898
Haltunen Sand & GravelSand and Gravel, ConstructionProducer
Keweenaw County Pit Number 21Sand and Gravel, ConstructionProducer

Every working recorded in Keweenaw County

Map coverage status

No historic map-sheet match is published for this property yet. That does not mean no map exists. This record needs a coordinate-quality review before it can be joined to a sheet boundary. Browse the county's mapped places while that work is pending.

Listed places nearby

1 within 8 miles

Other National Register properties close enough to walk or drive between, ordered by distance from this one. Both positions come from the same geocoding pass that matched these properties to their map sheets.

Photograph PropertyDistance Listed
Sand Hills Light Station7.5 miles1994

Sources for this property

National Archives recordThe nomination case file for reference 00000221 in Record Group 79.
Wikipedia articleCommunity-written account of this property, licensed CC BY-SA.
Keweenaw CountyAll 31 listed properties in this county.

Provenance

  • Listing record. National Park Service National Register of Historic Places, listed-properties dataset, current to 2026-05-22.
  • Map join. Address geocoded through the United States Census geocoder, then tested against the published boundary of every sheet in the USGS Historical Topographic Map Collection.
  • How this page is made. Listing fields come from federal records; map-sheet coverage is a labelled coordinate-to-boundary calculation, not a source-field claim.
  • Wildfire. Short, Karen C. 2022. Spatial wildfire occurrence data for the United States, 1992-2020 [FPA_FOD_20221014]. 6th Edition. Fort Collins, CO: Forest Service Research Data Archive. https://doi.org/10.2737/RDS-2013-0009.6 Collected with United States Government funding and usable without additional permissions or fees.
  • Mines and quarries. USGS Mineral Resources Data System (MRDS) https://mrdata.usgs.gov/mrds/ A work of the United States government, no copyright under 17 U.S.C. 105.