BlockBefore
Photograph of Porter Hollow Embankment and Culvert
Photograph by Charlie Lemmink, CC BY-SA 3.0. Via Wikimedia Commons.

Porter Hollow Embankment and Culvert

Built in 1885. Listed on the National Register of Historic Places in 2001.

From the record

“The Porter Hollow Embankment and Culvert, also known as the Grand Rapids and Indiana Railroad Culvert, is a stone bridge and trestle over the Stegman Creek along the White Pine Trail in Algoma Township, Michigan.”

Wikipedia article Porter Hollow Embankment and Culvert, CC BY-SA 4.0.

One of 57 National Register listings published here for Kent County · listed in 2001 · category: Structure · built in 1885.

Sources: the Wikipedia article · the case file at the National Archives · the National Register database, National Park Service

The listing

  • What is counted as historic. The nomination lists 1 structure as contributing to the listing.
  • Address. White Pine Strail at Stegman Creek, W of Summit Ave., Algoma Township, 49341
  • When was it listed? September 2001
  • Category. structure
  • Township. Algoma township
  • When was it built? 1885
  • National Register reference number. 01001018 - the number the National Park Service assigned this property when it was listed, and the key its nomination file is catalogued under at the National Archives.

Fires near this property

40 since 2003

Regional context, not property-specific evidence. The federal wildfire occurrence database lists 40 fires within 5 miles of Porter Hollow Embankment and Culvert between 2003 and 2020, burning about 47 acres in total. 6 started naturally. None was recorded as arson. Distance is straight-line from the map coordinates, so a fire counted here may appear on a neighbouring settlement's page as well.

Reported cause Fires
Equipment and vehicle use21
Missing data/not specified/undetermined8
Natural6
Debris and open burning2
Recreation and ceremony2
Smoking1

The most recent of them, most recent first, with the day each was reported and the service that recorded it.

DateCause SizeReported by Name on the report
17 September 2020Equipment and vehicle use1.0 acresMichigan Department of Natural ResourcesALGOMA TOWNSHIP FD 551 - 2020
16 September 2019Missing data/not specified/undetermined1.0 acresMichigan Department of Natural ResourcesSPENCER TOWNSHIP FD 0000317 - 2019
5 August 2018Equipment and vehicle use1.0 acresMichigan Department of Natural ResourcesALGOMA TOWNSHIP FD 8080501 - 2018
26 August 2020Natural1.0 acresMichigan Department of Natural ResourcesALGOMA TOWNSHIP FD 488 - 2020
25 August 2020Natural1.0 acresMichigan Department of Natural ResourcesALGOMA TOWNSHIP FD 485 - 2020
21 August 2020Equipment and vehicle use1.0 acresMichigan Department of Natural ResourcesALGOMA TOWNSHIP FD 471 - 2020
1 August 2020Smoking1.0 acresMichigan Department of Natural ResourcesALGOMA TOWNSHIP FD 435 - 2020
8 July 2020Equipment and vehicle use1.0 acresMichigan Department of Natural ResourcesALGOMA TOWNSHIP FD 377 - 2020

Every fire recorded in Kent County

Mines and quarries near this property

1 within 5 miles

Regional context, not property-specific evidence. The federal mineral resources record lists 1 working within 5 miles of Porter Hollow Embankment and Culvert: 1 producer. All of them still produce. What was taken out: Sand and Gravel, Construction. Distance is straight-line from the map coordinates, so a quarry counted here may appear on a neighbouring settlement's page as well.

Where SiteCommodity StatusRecorded
Pickett and Schreur Inc. PitSand and Gravel, ConstructionProducer

Every working recorded in Kent County

Map coverage status

No historic map-sheet match is published for this property yet. That does not mean no map exists. This record needs a coordinate-quality review before it can be joined to a sheet boundary. Browse the county's mapped places while that work is pending.

Sources for this property

National Archives recordThe nomination case file for reference 01001018 in Record Group 79.
Wikipedia articleCommunity-written account of this property, licensed CC BY-SA.
Kent CountyAll 57 listed properties in this county.

Provenance

  • Listing record. National Park Service National Register of Historic Places, listed-properties dataset, current to 2026-05-22.
  • Map join. Address geocoded through the United States Census geocoder, then tested against the published boundary of every sheet in the USGS Historical Topographic Map Collection.
  • How this page is made. Listing fields come from federal records; map-sheet coverage is a labelled coordinate-to-boundary calculation, not a source-field claim.
  • Wildfire. Short, Karen C. 2022. Spatial wildfire occurrence data for the United States, 1992-2020 [FPA_FOD_20221014]. 6th Edition. Fort Collins, CO: Forest Service Research Data Archive. https://doi.org/10.2737/RDS-2013-0009.6 Collected with United States Government funding and usable without additional permissions or fees.
  • Mines and quarries. USGS Mineral Resources Data System (MRDS) https://mrdata.usgs.gov/mrds/ A work of the United States government, no copyright under 17 U.S.C. 105.