BlockBefore
Photograph of Max and Esther De Pree House
Photograph by Jim Roberts, CC BY-SA 4.0. Via Wikimedia Commons.

Max and Esther De Pree House

Listed on the National Register of Historic Places in 2017.

From the record

“The Max and Esther De Pree House is a private house located at 279 South Division Street in Zeeland, Michigan. It was listed on the National Register of Historic Places in 2017.”

Wikipedia article Max and Esther De Pree House, CC BY-SA 4.0.

One of 29 National Register listings published here for Ottawa County · listed in 2017 · category: Building.

Sources: the Wikipedia article · the National Register database, National Park Service

The listing

  • What is counted as historic. The nomination lists 3 buildingss, 1 structure as contributing to the listing.
  • Listed as. De Pree, Max and Esther, House - the National Register files a house under its owner's surname.
  • Address. 279 S. Division St., Zeeland, 49464
  • When was it listed? April 2017
  • Category. building
  • City. Zeeland city
  • Architectural style. modern architecture
  • Architect. Charles Eames
  • National Register reference number. 100000886 - assigned by the National Park Service when the property was listed.

Fires near this property

16 since 2012

Regional context, not property-specific evidence. The federal wildfire occurrence database lists 16 fires within 5 miles of Max and Esther De Pree House between 2012 and 2020, burning about 22 acres in total. 2 started naturally. None was recorded as arson. Distance is straight-line from the map coordinates, so a fire counted here may appear on a neighbouring settlement's page as well.

Reported cause Fires
Missing data/not specified/undetermined11
Equipment and vehicle use2
Natural2
Debris and open burning1

The most recent of them, most recent first, with the day each was reported and the service that recorded it.

DateCause SizeReported by Name on the report
9 September 2019Missing data/not specified/undetermined1.0 acresMichigan Department of Natural ResourcesHOLLAND TOWNSHIP FD 19636 - 2019
7 August 2019Missing data/not specified/undetermined1.0 acresMichigan Department of Natural ResourcesJAMESTOWN TOWNSHIP FD 19381 - 2019
23 August 2012Debris and open burning8.2 acresMichigan Department of Natural ResourcesOTTAWA 02
10 August 2020Equipment and vehicle useunder an acreMichigan Department of Natural ResourcesHOLLAND TOWNSHIP FD 20528 - 2020
9 July 2018Missing data/not specified/undetermined1.0 acresMichigan Department of Natural ResourcesHOLLAND FD 0002036 - 2018
6 July 2018Equipment and vehicle use1.0 acresMichigan Department of Natural ResourcesHOLLAND FD 0002003 - 2018
17 July 2019Missing data/not specified/undetermined1.0 acresMichigan Department of Natural ResourcesZEELAND TOWNSHIP FD 19465 - 2019
15 June 2019Missing data/not specified/undetermined1.0 acresMichigan Department of Natural ResourcesZEELAND TOWNSHIP FD 19411 - 2019

Every fire recorded in Ottawa County

Mines and quarries near this property

2 within 5 miles

Regional context, not property-specific evidence. The federal mineral resources record lists 2 workings within 5 miles of Max and Esther De Pree House: 1 producer, 1 past producer. 1 still produces. What was taken out: Sand and Gravel, Construction, Fire Clay (Refractory). Distance is straight-line from the map coordinates, so a quarry counted here may appear on a neighbouring settlement's page as well.

Where SiteCommodity StatusRecorded
Ottawa County Road Commission PitSand and Gravel, ConstructionProducer
Zeeland Brick Co.Clay PitFire Clay (Refractory)Past Producer

Every working recorded in Ottawa County

Storms near this property

14 since 1994

Regional context, not property-specific evidence. The National Weather Service names Zeeland, the town this property stands in, in 14 storm reports between 1994 and 2020: 8 thunderstorm wind, 6 hail. No death or injury is recorded in these reports. Each account below is quoted exactly as the forecast office filed it, from the NOAA Storm Events Database, and each date opens the federal record of that event.

WhenEvent Place namedHarm What the report says
May 2004HailZeeland$50,000One and three quarters inch diameter hail was reported by the public one mile east of Zeeland.
June 2001Thunderstorm WindZeeland$25,000no account filed
July 1999Thunderstorm WindZeeland$20,000Numerous trees were downed in Zeeland.
May 2004HailZeeland$15,000Seven eighths inch diameter hail was reported by the public six miles east of Zeeland.
August 2003Thunderstorm WindZeeland$10,000Several trees and power lines were blown down by severe thunderstorm wind gusts in Zeeland.
August 2003HailZeeland$10,000Hail up to three quarters of an inch in diameter was reported four miles north of Zeeland, and hail briefly covered the ground there.
May 1999Thunderstorm WindZeeland$10,000Trees were downed by strong winds in Zeeland.
May 2020Thunderstorm WindZeeland$5,000Several tree limbs were knocked down near Zeeland.
July 2004Thunderstorm WindZeeland$5,000An emergency manager four miles east of Zeeland reported a 60 m.p.h. wind gust.
July 2014HailZeeland-An amateur radio operator reported one inch diameter hail near Zeeland.
June 2012Thunderstorm WindZeeland-A trained spotter near Zeeland estimated a peak wind gust of 65 mph and reported several six to twelve inch diameter trees were blown down. The public reported numerous tree branches blown down in Jenison and a 15 inch diameter branch down on a house.
August 2011Thunderstorm WindZeeland-A tree came down and also took power lines down in Zeeland.
May 1997HailZeeland-Hail covered the ground.
April 1994HailZeeland-no account filed

Every storm recorded in Ottawa County

Map coverage status

No historic map-sheet match is published for this property yet. That does not mean no map exists. This record needs a coordinate-quality review before it can be joined to a sheet boundary. Browse the county's mapped places while that work is pending.

Listed places nearby

6 within 8 miles

Other National Register properties close enough to walk or drive between, ordered by distance from this one. Both positions come from the same geocoding pass that matched these properties to their map sheets.

Sources for this property

National Archives recordThe nomination case file for reference 100000886 in Record Group 79.
Wikipedia articleCommunity-written account of this property, licensed CC BY-SA.
Ottawa CountyAll 29 listed properties in this county.

Provenance

  • Listing record. National Park Service National Register of Historic Places, listed-properties dataset, current to 2026-05-22.
  • Map join. Address geocoded through the United States Census geocoder, then tested against the published boundary of every sheet in the USGS Historical Topographic Map Collection.
  • How this page is made. Listing fields come from federal records; map-sheet coverage is a labelled coordinate-to-boundary calculation, not a source-field claim.
  • Wildfire. Short, Karen C. 2022. Spatial wildfire occurrence data for the United States, 1992-2020 [FPA_FOD_20221014]. 6th Edition. Fort Collins, CO: Forest Service Research Data Archive. https://doi.org/10.2737/RDS-2013-0009.6 Collected with United States Government funding and usable without additional permissions or fees.
  • Mines and quarries. USGS Mineral Resources Data System (MRDS) https://mrdata.usgs.gov/mrds/ A work of the United States government, no copyright under 17 U.S.C. 105.
  • Storms. NOAA National Centers for Environmental Information, Storm Events Database https://www.ncei.noaa.gov/stormevents/ A work of the United States government, no copyright under 17 U.S.C. 105. Narratives are quoted verbatim from the National Weather Service report and are not edited or summarised.