BlockBefore

Gwen Frostic Studio

Listed on the National Register of Historic Places in 2021.

From the record

One of 9 National Register listings published here for Benzie County · listed in 2021 · category: Building.

Sources: the National Register database, National Park Service

The listing

  • Listed as. Frostic, Gwen, Studio - the National Register files a house under its owner's surname.
  • Address. 5140 River Rd., Benzonia Township, 49616
  • When was it listed? March 2021
  • Category. building
  • Township. Benzonia township
  • National Register reference number. 100006321 - assigned by the National Park Service when the property was listed.

Fires near this property

10 since 2001

Regional context, not property-specific evidence. The federal wildfire occurrence database lists 10 fires within 5 miles of Gwen Frostic Studio between 2001 and 2020, burning about 18 acres in total. None started naturally. None was recorded as arson. Distance is straight-line from the map coordinates, so a fire counted here may appear on a neighbouring settlement's page as well.

Reported cause Fires
Missing data/not specified/undetermined7
Debris and open burning3

The most recent of them, most recent first, with the day each was reported and the service that recorded it.

DateCause SizeReported by Name on the report
25 August 2019Missing data/not specified/undetermined1.0 acresMichigan Department of Natural ResourcesBENZONIA TOWNSHIP FD 19034 - 2019
13 August 2001Debris and open burning3.0 acresMichigan Department of Natural Resourcesnot named
30 June 2007Debris and open burning1.5 acresMichigan Department of Natural Resourcesnot named
5 May 2004Missing data/not specified/undetermined2.0 acresMichigan Department of Natural Resourcesnot named
27 May 2006Debris and open burning5.0 acresMichigan Department of Natural Resourcesnot named
18 May 2009Missing data/not specified/undetermined1.0 acresMichigan Department of Natural ResourcesBENZIE 02
18 April 2020Missing data/not specified/undetermined1.0 acresMichigan Department of Natural ResourcesFRANKFORT-ELBERTA VFD 0000026 - 2020
15 April 2019Missing data/not specified/undetermined1.0 acresMichigan Department of Natural ResourcesFRANKFORT-ELBERTA VFD 0000036 - 2019

Every fire recorded in Benzie County

Mines and quarries near this property

1 within 5 miles

Regional context, not property-specific evidence. The federal mineral resources record lists 1 working within 5 miles of Gwen Frostic Studio: 1 producer. All of them still produce. What was taken out: Silica. Distance is straight-line from the map coordinates, so a quarry counted here may appear on a neighbouring settlement's page as well.

Where SiteCommodity StatusRecorded
Walter Rohn PropertySilicaProducerSedimentary

Every working recorded in Benzie County

Map coverage status

No historic map-sheet match is published for this property yet. That does not mean no map exists. This record needs a coordinate-quality review before it can be joined to a sheet boundary. Browse the county's mapped places while that work is pending.

Listed places nearby

6 within 8 miles

Other National Register properties close enough to walk or drive between, ordered by distance from this one. Both positions come from the same geocoding pass that matched these properties to their map sheets.

Photograph PropertyDistance Listed
Mills Community House1.8 miles1972
Benzie County Courthouse2.1 miles1996
CITY OF MILWAUKEE5.0 miles1990
Frankfort Land Company House5.1 miles1995
Navigation Structures at Frankfort Harbor5.5 miles1997
Frankfort North Breakwater Light5.7 miles2005

Sources for this property

National Archives recordThe nomination case file for reference 100006321 in Record Group 79.
Benzie CountyAll 9 listed properties in this county.

Provenance

  • Listing record. National Park Service National Register of Historic Places, listed-properties dataset, current to 2026-05-22.
  • Map join. Address geocoded through the United States Census geocoder, then tested against the published boundary of every sheet in the USGS Historical Topographic Map Collection.
  • How this page is made. Listing fields come from federal records; map-sheet coverage is a labelled coordinate-to-boundary calculation, not a source-field claim.
  • Wildfire. Short, Karen C. 2022. Spatial wildfire occurrence data for the United States, 1992-2020 [FPA_FOD_20221014]. 6th Edition. Fort Collins, CO: Forest Service Research Data Archive. https://doi.org/10.2737/RDS-2013-0009.6 Collected with United States Government funding and usable without additional permissions or fees.
  • Mines and quarries. USGS Mineral Resources Data System (MRDS) https://mrdata.usgs.gov/mrds/ A work of the United States government, no copyright under 17 U.S.C. 105.