BlockBefore

Capri Drive-In Theater

Listed on the National Register of Historic Places in 2024.

From the record

One of 17 National Register listings published here for Branch County · listed in 2024 · category: District.

Sources: the National Register database, National Park Service

The listing

  • Address. 119 West Chicago Road, Batavia Township, 49036
  • When was it listed? March 2024
  • Category. district
  • Township. Batavia township
  • National Register reference number. 100010158 - assigned by the National Park Service when the property was listed.

Fires near this property

12 since 2018

Regional context, not property-specific evidence. The federal wildfire occurrence database lists 12 fires within 5 miles of Capri Drive-In Theater between 2018 and 2020, burning about 33 acres in total. 3 started naturally. None was recorded as arson. Distance is straight-line from the map coordinates, so a fire counted here may appear on a neighbouring settlement's page as well.

Reported cause Fires
Equipment and vehicle use5
Missing data/not specified/undetermined3
Natural3
Smoking1

The most recent of them, most recent first, with the day each was reported and the service that recorded it.

DateCause SizeReported by Name on the report
5 August 2018Equipment and vehicle use1.0 acresMichigan Department of Natural ResourcesLAKELAND VFD 0018131 - 2018
27 August 2020Equipment and vehicle use1.0 acresMichigan Department of Natural ResourcesCOLDWATER FD 868 - 2020
19 July 2018Smoking1.0 acresMichigan Department of Natural ResourcesCOLDWATER FD 0000781 - 2018
13 July 2018Missing data/not specified/undetermined1.0 acresMichigan Department of Natural ResourcesCOLDWATER FD 0000750 - 2018
6 May 2019Natural22 acresMichigan Department of Natural ResourcesCOLDWATER FD 487 - 2019
6 April 2019Missing data/not specified/undetermined1.0 acresMichigan Department of Natural ResourcesCOLDWATER FD 375 - 2019
27 April 2018Missing data/not specified/undetermined1.0 acresMichigan Department of Natural ResourcesLAKELAND VFD 0018071 - 2018
16 March 2018Natural1.0 acresMichigan Department of Natural ResourcesCOLDWATER FD 0000265 - 2018

Every fire recorded in Branch County

Mines and quarries near this property

6 within 5 miles

Regional context, not property-specific evidence. The federal mineral resources record lists 6 workings within 5 miles of Capri Drive-In Theater: 4 producers, 1 past producer, 1 unknown. 4 still produce. What was taken out: Sand and Gravel, Construction, Molybdenum, Tungsten, Copper, Nickel. Distance is straight-line from the map coordinates, so a quarry counted here may appear on a neighbouring settlement's page as well.

Where SiteCommodity StatusRecorded
Amax Specialty Metals-Coldwater, MiMolybdenum, Tungsten, Copper, NickelProducer
47 Garfield PitSand and Gravel, ConstructionProducer
Branch County PitSand and Gravel, ConstructionProducer
Certified Sand and GravelSand and Gravel, ConstructionProducer
Thompson PitSand and Gravel, ConstructionUnknown
Waterbury No 1 Pit & MillSand and Gravel, ConstructionPast Producer

Every working recorded in Branch County

Map coverage status

No historic map-sheet match is published for this property yet. That does not mean no map exists. This record needs a coordinate-quality review before it can be joined to a sheet boundary. Browse the county's mapped places while that work is pending.

Listed places nearby

6 within 8 miles

Other National Register properties close enough to walk or drive between, ordered by distance from this one. Both positions come from the same geocoding pass that matched these properties to their map sheets.

Photograph PropertyDistance Listed
Benedict Doll House1.7 miles1990
US-12-Coldwater River Bridge1.7 miles1999
West Pearl Street Historic District2.7 miles1990
South Monroe Street Historic District2.9 miles1990
Tibbits Opera House2.9 miles2019
Coldwater Downtown Historic District2.9 miles1990

Sources for this property

National Archives recordThe nomination case file for reference 100010158 in Record Group 79.
Branch CountyAll 17 listed properties in this county.

Provenance

  • Listing record. National Park Service National Register of Historic Places, listed-properties dataset, current to 2026-05-22.
  • Map join. Address geocoded through the United States Census geocoder, then tested against the published boundary of every sheet in the USGS Historical Topographic Map Collection.
  • How this page is made. Listing fields come from federal records; map-sheet coverage is a labelled coordinate-to-boundary calculation, not a source-field claim.
  • Wildfire. Short, Karen C. 2022. Spatial wildfire occurrence data for the United States, 1992-2020 [FPA_FOD_20221014]. 6th Edition. Fort Collins, CO: Forest Service Research Data Archive. https://doi.org/10.2737/RDS-2013-0009.6 Collected with United States Government funding and usable without additional permissions or fees.
  • Mines and quarries. USGS Mineral Resources Data System (MRDS) https://mrdata.usgs.gov/mrds/ A work of the United States government, no copyright under 17 U.S.C. 105.