BlockBefore
Photograph of St. James Episcopal Church
Photograph by Andrew Jameson, CC BY-SA 3.0. Via Wikimedia Commons.

St. James Episcopal Church

Listed on the National Register of Historic Places in 1971.

From the record

“James Episcopal Church is a church located at 25150 East River Road in Grosse Ile, Michigan, United States. It was listed on the National Register of Historic Places designated a Michigan State Historic Site in 1971.”

Wikipedia article St. James Episcopal Church (Grosse Ile, Michigan), CC BY-SA 4.0.

One of 396 National Register listings published here for Wayne County · listed in 1971 · category: Building.

Sources: the Wikipedia article · the case file at the National Archives · the National Register database, National Park Service · the Wikipedia article

The listing

  • What is counted as historic. The nomination lists 1 building as contributing to the listing.
  • Address. 25150 E. River Rd., Grosse Ile, 48138
  • When was it listed? November 1971
  • Category. building
  • Township. Grosse Ile township
  • Architectural style. Carpenter Gothic
  • Architect. Gordon W. Lloyd
  • National Register reference number. 71000434 - the number the National Park Service assigned this property when it was listed, and the key its nomination file is catalogued under at the National Archives.

Fires near this property

17 since 2018

Regional context, not property-specific evidence. The federal wildfire occurrence database lists 17 fires within 5 miles of St. James Episcopal Church between 2018 and 2020, burning about 16 acres in total. 1 started naturally. None was recorded as arson. Distance is straight-line from the map coordinates, so a fire counted here may appear on a neighbouring settlement's page as well.

Reported cause Fires
Equipment and vehicle use10
Missing data/not specified/undetermined4
Debris and open burning2
Natural1

The most recent of them, most recent first, with the day each was reported and the service that recorded it.

DateCause SizeReported by Name on the report
7 September 2019Equipment and vehicle use1.0 acresMichigan Department of Natural ResourcesWYANDOTTE FD 0000619 - 2019
4 September 2019Debris and open burning1.0 acresMichigan Department of Natural ResourcesSOUTHGATE FD 1903240 - 2019
9 August 2019Equipment and vehicle use1.0 acresMichigan Department of Natural ResourcesWOODHAVEN FD 0000143 - 2019
6 August 2019Equipment and vehicle use1.0 acresMichigan Department of Natural ResourcesWOODHAVEN FD 0000140 - 2019
13 August 2019Equipment and vehicle use1.0 acresMichigan Department of Natural ResourcesWYANDOTTE FD 0000568 - 2019
10 August 2019Missing data/not specified/undetermined1.0 acresMichigan Department of Natural ResourcesSOUTHGATE FD 1902950 - 2019
28 July 2018Equipment and vehicle use1.0 acresMichigan Department of Natural ResourcesSOUTHGATE FD 0002537 - 2018
13 July 2018Equipment and vehicle use1.0 acresMichigan Department of Natural ResourcesWOODHAVEN FD 0000121 - 2018

Every fire recorded in Wayne County

Mines and quarries near this property

3 within 5 miles

Regional context, not property-specific evidence. The federal mineral resources record lists 3 workings within 5 miles of St. James Episcopal Church: 2 producers, 1 past producer. 2 still produce. What was taken out: Iron, Stone, Stone, Crushed/Broken. Distance is straight-line from the map coordinates, so a quarry counted here may appear on a neighbouring settlement's page as well.

Where SiteCommodity StatusRecorded
Mclouth Steel Trenton Rolling MillIronProducer
Sibley Quarry and MillStone, Crushed/BrokenPast Producer
Wyandotte Cement Plt.StoneProducer

Every working recorded in Wayne County

Map coverage status

No historic map-sheet match is published for this property yet. That does not mean no map exists. This record needs a coordinate-quality review before it can be joined to a sheet boundary. Browse the county's mapped places while that work is pending.

Listed places nearby

6 within 8 miles

Other National Register properties close enough to walk or drive between, ordered by distance from this one. Both positions come from the same geocoding pass that matched these properties to their map sheets.

Sources for this property

National Archives recordThe nomination case file for reference 71000434 in Record Group 79.
Wikipedia articleCommunity-written account of this property, licensed CC BY-SA.
Wayne CountyAll 396 listed properties in this county.

Provenance

  • Listing record. National Park Service National Register of Historic Places, listed-properties dataset, current to 2026-05-22.
  • Map join. Address geocoded through the United States Census geocoder, then tested against the published boundary of every sheet in the USGS Historical Topographic Map Collection.
  • How this page is made. Listing fields come from federal records; map-sheet coverage is a labelled coordinate-to-boundary calculation, not a source-field claim.
  • Wildfire. Short, Karen C. 2022. Spatial wildfire occurrence data for the United States, 1992-2020 [FPA_FOD_20221014]. 6th Edition. Fort Collins, CO: Forest Service Research Data Archive. https://doi.org/10.2737/RDS-2013-0009.6 Collected with United States Government funding and usable without additional permissions or fees.
  • Mines and quarries. USGS Mineral Resources Data System (MRDS) https://mrdata.usgs.gov/mrds/ A work of the United States government, no copyright under 17 U.S.C. 105.