BlockBefore
Photograph of Nottawa Stone School
Photograph by Charles W. Chapman, CC BY-SA 3.0. Via Wikimedia Commons.

Nottawa Stone School

Built in 1870. Listed on the National Register of Historic Places in 1972.

From the record

“The Nottawa Stone School is a schoolhouse located at 26456 M-86 near Nottawa, Michigan. It was listed on the National Register of Historic Places in 1972.”

Wikipedia article Nottawa Stone School, CC BY-SA 4.0.

One of 17 National Register listings published here for St. Joseph County · listed in 1972 · category: Building · built in 1870.

Sources: the Wikipedia article · the case file at the National Archives · the National Register database, National Park Service

The listing

  • What is counted as historic. The nomination lists 1 building as contributing to the listing.
  • Address. E of Nottawa at Jct. of Sturgis and Filmore Rds., Nottawa, 49030
  • When was it listed? January 1972
  • Category. building
  • Township. Nottawa township
  • When was it built? 1870
  • National Register reference number. 72001309 - the number the National Park Service assigned this property when it was listed, and the key its nomination file is catalogued under at the National Archives.

Fires near this property

3 since 2019

Regional context, not property-specific evidence. The federal wildfire occurrence database lists 3 fires within 5 miles of Nottawa Stone School between 2019 and 2020, burning about 3 acres in total. None started naturally. None was recorded as arson. Distance is straight-line from the map coordinates, so a fire counted here may appear on a neighbouring settlement's page as well.

Reported cause Fires
Equipment and vehicle use2
Missing data/not specified/undetermined1

The most recent of them, most recent first, with the day each was reported and the service that recorded it.

DateCause SizeReported by Name on the report
25 August 2019Equipment and vehicle use1.0 acresMichigan Department of Natural ResourcesTRI-TOWNSHIP FD 000264 - 2019
13 March 2020Equipment and vehicle use1.0 acresMichigan Department of Natural ResourcesCOLON FIRE/RESCUE 052 - 2020
30 November 2019Missing data/not specified/undetermined1.0 acresMichigan Department of Natural ResourcesTRI-TOWNSHIP FD 000398 - 2019

Every fire recorded in St. Joseph County

Storms near this property

2 since 2011

Regional context, not property-specific evidence. The National Weather Service names Nottawa, the town this property stands in, in 2 storm reports between 2011 and 2015: 2 thunderstorm wind. No death or injury is recorded in these reports. Each account below is quoted exactly as the forecast office filed it, from the NOAA Storm Events Database, and each date opens the federal record of that event.

WhenEvent Place namedHarm What the report says
July 2015Thunderstorm WindNottawa-Large tree down on M-86 and Nottawa Road.
August 2011Thunderstorm WindNottawa-A trained spotter reported multiple eight inch diameter tree limbs down at Nottawa Road and M-86.

Every storm recorded in St. Joseph County

Map coverage status

No historic map-sheet match is published for this property yet. That does not mean no map exists. This record needs a coordinate-quality review before it can be joined to a sheet boundary. Browse the county's mapped places while that work is pending.

Listed places nearby

6 within 8 miles

Other National Register properties close enough to walk or drive between, ordered by distance from this one. Both positions come from the same geocoding pass that matched these properties to their map sheets.

Photograph PropertyDistance Listed
M-86-Prarie River Bridge2.1 miles2000
St. Joseph County Courthouse4.5 miles1993
Clapp, Leverett A. and Amanda (Hampson), House4.6 miles2009
Farrand Hall5.4 miles1972
Marantette Bridge5.6 miles2001
Marantette House5.6 miles1973

Sources for this property

National Archives recordThe nomination case file for reference 72001309 in Record Group 79.
Wikipedia articleCommunity-written account of this property, licensed CC BY-SA.
St. Joseph CountyAll 17 listed properties in this county.

Provenance

  • Listing record. National Park Service National Register of Historic Places, listed-properties dataset, current to 2026-05-22.
  • Map join. Address geocoded through the United States Census geocoder, then tested against the published boundary of every sheet in the USGS Historical Topographic Map Collection.
  • How this page is made. Listing fields come from federal records; map-sheet coverage is a labelled coordinate-to-boundary calculation, not a source-field claim.
  • Wildfire. Short, Karen C. 2022. Spatial wildfire occurrence data for the United States, 1992-2020 [FPA_FOD_20221014]. 6th Edition. Fort Collins, CO: Forest Service Research Data Archive. https://doi.org/10.2737/RDS-2013-0009.6 Collected with United States Government funding and usable without additional permissions or fees.
  • Storms. NOAA National Centers for Environmental Information, Storm Events Database https://www.ncei.noaa.gov/stormevents/ A work of the United States government, no copyright under 17 U.S.C. 105. Narratives are quoted verbatim from the National Weather Service report and are not edited or summarised.