BlockBefore
Photograph of Point Iroquois Light
Photograph by Notorious4life ( Uploads ), CC0 1.0. Via Wikimedia Commons.

Point Iroquois Light Station

Built in 1856. Listed on the National Register of Historic Places in 1975.

From the record

“Point Iroquois Light is a lighthouse on a Chippewa County bluff in the U.S. state of Michigan. Point Iroquois and its light mark the division line between Whitefish Bay and the western end of the St.”

Wikipedia article Point Iroquois Light, CC BY-SA 4.0.

One of 26 National Register listings published here for Chippewa County · listed in 1975 · category: Building · built in 1856.

Sources: the Wikipedia article · the case file at the National Archives · the National Register database, National Park Service

The listing

  • What is counted as historic. The nomination lists 1 building as contributing to the listing.
  • Address. 6 mi. NW of Brimley in the Hiawatha National Forest, Brimley, 49715
  • When was it listed? May 1975
  • Category. building
  • Township. Bay Mills township
  • When was it built? 1856
  • National Register reference number. 75000940 - the number the National Park Service assigned this property when it was listed, and the key its nomination file is catalogued under at the National Archives.

Fires near this property

23 since 1992

Regional context, not property-specific evidence. The federal wildfire occurrence database lists 23 fires within 5 miles of Point Iroquois Light Station between 1992 and 2020, burning about 27 acres in total. None started naturally. 1 was recorded as arson. Distance is straight-line from the map coordinates, so a fire counted here may appear on a neighbouring settlement's page as well.

Reported cause Fires
Debris and open burning5
Missing data/not specified/undetermined5
Recreation and ceremony3
Power generation/transmission/distribution3
Misuse of fire by a minor2
Equipment and vehicle use2
Arson/incendiarism1
Fireworks1
Smoking1

The most recent of them, most recent first, with the day each was reported and the service that recorded it.

DateCause SizeReported by Name on the report
6 July 2020Power generation/transmission/distributionunder an acreHiawatha National ForestSUPERIOR
23 July 2005Debris and open burningunder an acreMichigan AgencyYARD
22 July 2005Fireworksunder an acreMichigan AgencyLEVI
19 July 2005Missing data/not specified/undeterminedunder an acreMichigan AgencyROADSIDE
18 July 2005Debris and open burning1.0 acresMichigan Agency11891
10 July 2012Power generation/transmission/distributionunder an acreHiawatha National ForestIROQUOIS
4 June 2020Recreation and ceremonyunder an acreMichigan AgencyGUMSHOE
15 June 2009Recreation and ceremonyunder an acreHiawatha National ForestMISSION HILL FIRE #2

Every fire recorded in Chippewa County

Storms near this property

6 since 1995

Regional context, not property-specific evidence. The National Weather Service names Brimley, the town this property stands in, in 6 storm reports between 1995 and 2024: 5 hail, 1 thunderstorm wind. No death or injury is recorded in these reports. Each account below is quoted exactly as the forecast office filed it, from the NOAA Storm Events Database, and each date opens the federal record of that event.

WhenEvent Place namedHarm What the report says
June 2024HailBrimley-Report from Facebook of up to quarter size hail east of Brimley, MI.
July 2023HailBrimley-Fire chief reported quarter sized hail at 6 Mile Road and East Birch Point Trail. Time estimated by radar.
July 2018HailBrimley-Hail covered the ground.
July 1999Thunderstorm WindBrimley-Trees and power lines down.
July 1995HailBrimley-Large hail reported by storm spotter.
July 2000HailBrimley-no account filed

Every storm recorded in Chippewa County

Map coverage status

No historic map-sheet match is published for this property yet. That does not mean no map exists. This record needs a coordinate-quality review before it can be joined to a sheet boundary. Browse the county's mapped places while that work is pending.

Sources for this property

National Archives recordThe nomination case file for reference 75000940 in Record Group 79.
Wikipedia articleCommunity-written account of this property, licensed CC BY-SA.
Chippewa CountyAll 26 listed properties in this county.

Provenance

  • Listing record. National Park Service National Register of Historic Places, listed-properties dataset, current to 2026-05-22.
  • Map join. Address geocoded through the United States Census geocoder, then tested against the published boundary of every sheet in the USGS Historical Topographic Map Collection.
  • How this page is made. Listing fields come from federal records; map-sheet coverage is a labelled coordinate-to-boundary calculation, not a source-field claim.
  • Wildfire. Short, Karen C. 2022. Spatial wildfire occurrence data for the United States, 1992-2020 [FPA_FOD_20221014]. 6th Edition. Fort Collins, CO: Forest Service Research Data Archive. https://doi.org/10.2737/RDS-2013-0009.6 Collected with United States Government funding and usable without additional permissions or fees.
  • Storms. NOAA National Centers for Environmental Information, Storm Events Database https://www.ncei.noaa.gov/stormevents/ A work of the United States government, no copyright under 17 U.S.C. 105. Narratives are quoted verbatim from the National Weather Service report and are not edited or summarised.