BlockBefore
Photograph of Clarkston Village Historic District
Photograph by GMTEgirl, CC BY-SA 3.0. Via Wikimedia Commons.

Clarkston Village Historic District

Listed on the National Register of Historic Places in 1980.

From the record

One of 87 National Register listings published here for Oakland County · listed in 1980 · category: District.

Sources: the case file at the National Archives · the National Register database, National Park Service · the Wikipedia article

The listing

  • Address. MI 15, Clarkston Village, 48346
  • When was it listed? May 1980
  • Category. district
  • City. Village of Clarkston city
  • National Register reference number. 80001884 - the number the National Park Service assigned this property when it was listed, and the key its nomination file is catalogued under at the National Archives.

Fires near this property

22 since 2018

Regional context, not property-specific evidence. The federal wildfire occurrence database lists 22 fires within 5 miles of Clarkston Village Historic District between 2018 and 2019, burning about 24 acres in total. 4 started naturally. None was recorded as arson. Distance is straight-line from the map coordinates, so a fire counted here may appear on a neighbouring settlement's page as well.

Reported cause Fires
Equipment and vehicle use8
Missing data/not specified/undetermined5
Natural4
Debris and open burning3
Recreation and ceremony2

The most recent of them, most recent first, with the day each was reported and the service that recorded it.

DateCause SizeReported by Name on the report
21 September 2019Missing data/not specified/undetermined1.0 acresMichigan Department of Natural ResourcesWATERFORD TOWNSHIP FD 0010100 - 2019
20 September 2019Debris and open burning1.0 acresMichigan Department of Natural ResourcesINDEPENDENCE TOWNSHIP FD 0002520 - 2019
20 September 2019Equipment and vehicle use1.0 acresMichigan Department of Natural ResourcesINDEPENDENCE TOWNSHIP FD 0002522 - 2019
26 August 2019Debris and open burning1.0 acresMichigan Department of Natural ResourcesINDEPENDENCE TOWNSHIP FD 0002228 - 2019
3 July 2019Missing data/not specified/undetermined1.0 acresMichigan Department of Natural ResourcesWATERFORD TOWNSHIP FD 0006862 - 2019
27 July 2019Equipment and vehicle use1.0 acresMichigan Department of Natural ResourcesINDEPENDENCE TOWNSHIP FD 0001929 - 2019
15 July 2018Equipment and vehicle use2.0 acresMichigan Department of Natural ResourcesSPRINGFIELD TOWNSHIP FD 0000601 - 2018
8 June 2018Natural1.0 acresMichigan Department of Natural ResourcesBRANDON FD 0000615 - 2018

Every fire recorded in Oakland County

Mines and quarries near this property

7 within 5 miles

Regional context, not property-specific evidence. The federal mineral resources record lists 7 workings within 5 miles of Clarkston Village Historic District: 6 producers, 1 past producer. 6 still produce. What was taken out: Sand and Gravel, Construction, Limestone, General. Distance is straight-line from the map coordinates, so a quarry counted here may appear on a neighbouring settlement's page as well.

Where SiteCommodity StatusRecorded
Sebewaing Limekiln MillLimestone, GeneralPast Producer
Andersonville Road PlantSand and Gravel, ConstructionProducer
Gale Road Plant No. 4Sand and Gravel, ConstructionProducer
Koenig Fuel and Supply Co. PitSand and Gravel, ConstructionProducer
Maceday Lake PitSand and Gravel, ConstructionProducer
Salem PitSand and Gravel, ConstructionProducer
Waterford Sanitary Landfill PitSand and Gravel, ConstructionProducer

Every working recorded in Oakland County

Map coverage status

No historic map-sheet match is published for this property yet. That does not mean no map exists. This record needs a coordinate-quality review before it can be joined to a sheet boundary. Browse the county's mapped places while that work is pending.

Listed places nearby

4 within 8 miles

Other National Register properties close enough to walk or drive between, ordered by distance from this one. Both positions come from the same geocoding pass that matched these properties to their map sheets.

Sources for this property

National Archives recordThe nomination case file for reference 80001884 in Record Group 79.
Wikipedia articleCommunity-written account of this property, licensed CC BY-SA.
Oakland CountyAll 87 listed properties in this county.

Provenance

  • Listing record. National Park Service National Register of Historic Places, listed-properties dataset, current to 2026-05-22.
  • Map join. Address geocoded through the United States Census geocoder, then tested against the published boundary of every sheet in the USGS Historical Topographic Map Collection.
  • How this page is made. Listing fields come from federal records; map-sheet coverage is a labelled coordinate-to-boundary calculation, not a source-field claim.
  • Wildfire. Short, Karen C. 2022. Spatial wildfire occurrence data for the United States, 1992-2020 [FPA_FOD_20221014]. 6th Edition. Fort Collins, CO: Forest Service Research Data Archive. https://doi.org/10.2737/RDS-2013-0009.6 Collected with United States Government funding and usable without additional permissions or fees.
  • Mines and quarries. USGS Mineral Resources Data System (MRDS) https://mrdata.usgs.gov/mrds/ A work of the United States government, no copyright under 17 U.S.C. 105.