BlockBefore
Photograph of John W. Blodgett Estate
Photograph by SSTEFFEK, CC BY-SA 3.0. Via Wikimedia Commons.

John W. Blodgett Estate

Listed on the National Register of Historic Places in 1983.

From the record

“Blodgett Estate, also known as Brookby, is an historic landmark at 250 Plymouth Rd, SE, East Grand Rapids, Michigan. It was listed on the National Register of Historic Places in 1983 and designated a Michigan State Historic Site in 1977.”

Wikipedia article John W. Blodgett Estate, CC BY-SA 4.0.

One of 57 National Register listings published here for Kent County · listed in 1983 · category: Building.

Sources: the Wikipedia article · the case file at the National Archives · the National Register database, National Park Service

The listing

  • What is counted as historic. The nomination lists 5 buildingss as contributing to the listing.
  • Listed as. Blodgett, John W., Estate - the National Register files a house under its owner's surname.
  • Address. 250 Plymouth Rd., SE, East Grand Rapids, 49506
  • When was it listed? July 1983
  • Category. building
  • City. East Grand Rapids city
  • Architectural style. Colonial Revival architecture
  • Architect. Walker & Gillette
  • National Register reference number. 83000877 - the number the National Park Service assigned this property when it was listed, and the key its nomination file is catalogued under at the National Archives.

Fires near this property

114 since 2012

Regional context, not property-specific evidence. The federal wildfire occurrence database lists 114 fires within 5 miles of John W. Blodgett Estate between 2012 and 2020, burning about 122 acres in total. 13 started naturally. None was recorded as arson. Distance is straight-line from the map coordinates, so a fire counted here may appear on a neighbouring settlement's page as well.

Reported cause Fires
Equipment and vehicle use55
Missing data/not specified/undetermined35
Natural13
Debris and open burning6
Smoking4
Recreation and ceremony1

The most recent of them, most recent first, with the day each was reported and the service that recorded it.

DateCause SizeReported by Name on the report
8 September 2019Missing data/not specified/undetermined1.0 acresMichigan Department of Natural ResourcesWYOMING FD 194678 - 2019
4 September 2019Debris and open burning1.0 acresMichigan Department of Natural ResourcesGRAND RAPIDS FD 0016378 - 2019
29 September 2018Natural1.0 acresMichigan Department of Natural ResourcesGRAND RAPIDS FD 0016868 - 2018
25 September 2018Natural1.0 acresMichigan Department of Natural ResourcesGRAND RAPIDS FD 0016660 - 2018
20 September 2019Missing data/not specified/undetermined1.0 acresMichigan Department of Natural ResourcesWYOMING FD 194896 - 2019
16 September 2018Equipment and vehicle use1.0 acresMichigan Department of Natural ResourcesGRAND RAPIDS FD 0016112 - 2018
5 August 2018Missing data/not specified/undetermined1.0 acresMichigan Department of Natural ResourcesGRAND RAPIDS FD 0013282 - 2018
31 August 2019Missing data/not specified/undetermined1.0 acresMichigan Department of Natural ResourcesWYOMING FD 194527 - 2019

Every fire recorded in Kent County

Mines and quarries near this property

7 within 5 miles

Regional context, not property-specific evidence. The federal mineral resources record lists 7 workings within 5 miles of John W. Blodgett Estate: 3 past producers, 3 producers, 1 unknown. 3 still produce. What was taken out: Sand and Gravel, Construction, Gypsum-Anhydrite, Fire Clay (Refractory). Distance is straight-line from the map coordinates, so a quarry counted here may appear on a neighbouring settlement's page as well.

Where SiteCommodity StatusRecorded
Ponce De Leon Water Co Clay PitFire Clay (Refractory)Past Producer
Grand Rapids Gypsum Mine #1Gypsum-AnhydritePast Producer
Grand Rapids Gypsum Mine #2Gypsum-AnhydritePast Producer
Bird PitSand and Gravel, ConstructionProducer
Devries PitSand and Gravel, ConstructionUnknown
Great Lakes PitSand and Gravel, ConstructionProducer
Katz PitSand and Gravel, ConstructionProducer

Every working recorded in Kent County

Storms near this property

8 since 1997

Regional context, not property-specific evidence. The National Weather Service names East Grand Rapids, the town this property stands in, in 8 storm reports between 1997 and 2026: 5 thunderstorm wind, 3 hail. No death or injury is recorded in these reports. Each account below is quoted exactly as the forecast office filed it, from the NOAA Storm Events Database, and each date opens the federal record of that event.

WhenEvent Place namedHarm What the report says
August 2003HailEast Grand Rapids$100,000One and three quarters inch diameter hail was reported in Ada and also in Rockford, and three quarters inch diameter hail was reported one mile north of east Grand Rapids.
August 2007Thunderstorm WindEast Grand Rapids$20,000Several large trees were blown down in East Grand Rapids and Ada.
April 1997Thunderstorm WindEast Grand Rapids$15,000no account filed
May 2012Thunderstorm WindEast Grand Rapids$10,000Widespread tree damage for several blocks along Lake and Elmwood drives in eastern Grand Rapids. One large tree was uprooted and fell on the second story of a house. Roof damage on at least four houses.
June 2012Thunderstorm WindEast Grand Rapids$5,000The broadcast media reported an isolated tree was blown down in East Grand Rapids, briefly pinning a person in a car at Cascade Road and Cherry Drive.
April 2026Thunderstorm WindEast Grand Rapids-Estimated wind gust.
March 2026HailEast Grand Rapids-no account filed
March 2026HailEast Grand Rapids-no account filed

Every storm recorded in Kent County

Map coverage status

No historic map-sheet match is published for this property yet. That does not mean no map exists. This record needs a coordinate-quality review before it can be joined to a sheet boundary. Browse the county's mapped places while that work is pending.

Listed places nearby

6 within 8 miles

Other National Register properties close enough to walk or drive between, ordered by distance from this one. Both positions come from the same geocoding pass that matched these properties to their map sheets.

Sources for this property

National Archives recordThe nomination case file for reference 83000877 in Record Group 79.
Wikipedia articleCommunity-written account of this property, licensed CC BY-SA.
Kent CountyAll 57 listed properties in this county.

Provenance

  • Listing record. National Park Service National Register of Historic Places, listed-properties dataset, current to 2026-05-22.
  • Map join. Address geocoded through the United States Census geocoder, then tested against the published boundary of every sheet in the USGS Historical Topographic Map Collection.
  • How this page is made. Listing fields come from federal records; map-sheet coverage is a labelled coordinate-to-boundary calculation, not a source-field claim.
  • Wildfire. Short, Karen C. 2022. Spatial wildfire occurrence data for the United States, 1992-2020 [FPA_FOD_20221014]. 6th Edition. Fort Collins, CO: Forest Service Research Data Archive. https://doi.org/10.2737/RDS-2013-0009.6 Collected with United States Government funding and usable without additional permissions or fees.
  • Mines and quarries. USGS Mineral Resources Data System (MRDS) https://mrdata.usgs.gov/mrds/ A work of the United States government, no copyright under 17 U.S.C. 105.
  • Storms. NOAA National Centers for Environmental Information, Storm Events Database https://www.ncei.noaa.gov/stormevents/ A work of the United States government, no copyright under 17 U.S.C. 105. Narratives are quoted verbatim from the National Weather Service report and are not edited or summarised.