BlockBefore

Big Sable Point Light Station

Built in 1867. Listed on the National Register of Historic Places in 1983.

From the record

“Big Sable Point Light is a lighthouse on the eastern shore of Lake Michigan in the U.S. state of Michigan. It is located within Ludington State Park just north of the city of Ludington.”

Wikipedia article Big Sable Point Light, CC BY-SA 4.0.

One of 10 National Register listings published here for Mason County · listed in 1983 · category: Building · built in 1867.

Sources: the Wikipedia article · the case file at the National Archives · the National Register database, National Park Service

The listing

  • What is counted as historic. The nomination lists 5 buildingss, 1 structure as contributing to the listing.
  • Still standing. The Park Service records this property as extant.
  • Address. Big Sable Point, Mason, 49411
  • When was it listed? August 1983
  • Category. building
  • Also known as. U.S. Coast Guard Lighthouses and Light Stations on the Great Lakes TR
  • When was it built? 1867
  • National Register reference number. 83004296 - the number the National Park Service assigned this property when it was listed, and the key its nomination file is catalogued under at the National Archives.

Fires near this property

12 since 1998

Regional context, not property-specific evidence. The federal wildfire occurrence database lists 12 fires within 5 miles of Big Sable Point Light Station between 1998 and 2020, burning about 5 acres in total. None started naturally. 2 were recorded as arson. Distance is straight-line from the map coordinates, so a fire counted here may appear on a neighbouring settlement's page as well.

Reported cause Fires
Recreation and ceremony5
Debris and open burning3
Missing data/not specified/undetermined2
Arson/incendiarism2

The most recent of them, most recent first, with the day each was reported and the service that recorded it.

DateCause SizeReported by Name on the report
20 September 2003Debris and open burningunder an acreHuron-Manistee National ForestNURNBURG ROAD
30 July 1998Recreation and ceremonyunder an acreHuron-Manistee National ForestNORDHOUSE DUNES
9 June 2020Recreation and ceremonyunder an acreHuron-Manistee National ForestNORDHOUSE
5 May 2019Missing data/not specified/undetermined1.0 acresMichigan Department of Natural ResourcesHAMLIN TOWNSHIP FD 0000080 - 2019
22 May 2009Recreation and ceremonyunder an acreHuron-Manistee National ForestNURNBERG
6 April 2008Debris and open burningunder an acreHuron-Manistee National ForestDAVIDSON
15 November 2002Arson/incendiarism2.0 acresHuron-Manistee National ForestDUNE
9 October 2005Missing data/not specified/undeterminedunder an acreMichigan Department of Natural Resourcesnot named

Every fire recorded in Mason County

Mines and quarries near this property

2 within 5 miles

Regional context, not property-specific evidence. The federal mineral resources record lists 2 workings within 5 miles of Big Sable Point Light Station: 1 producer, 1 past producer. 1 still produces. What was taken out: Sand and Gravel, Construction, Silica. Distance is straight-line from the map coordinates, so a quarry counted here may appear on a neighbouring settlement's page as well.

Where SiteCommodity StatusRecorded
Ludington PitSand and Gravel, ConstructionProducer
Ludington SiteSilicaPast ProducerSedimentary

Every working recorded in Mason County

Map coverage status

No historic map-sheet match is published for this property yet. That does not mean no map exists. This record needs a coordinate-quality review before it can be joined to a sheet boundary. Browse the county's mapped places while that work is pending.

Listed places nearby

6 within 8 miles

Other National Register properties close enough to walk or drive between, ordered by distance from this one. Both positions come from the same geocoding pass that matched these properties to their map sheets.

Sources for this property

National Archives recordThe nomination case file for reference 83004296 in Record Group 79.
Wikipedia articleCommunity-written account of this property, licensed CC BY-SA.
Mason CountyAll 10 listed properties in this county.

Provenance

  • Listing record. National Park Service National Register of Historic Places, listed-properties dataset, current to 2026-05-22.
  • Map join. Address geocoded through the United States Census geocoder, then tested against the published boundary of every sheet in the USGS Historical Topographic Map Collection.
  • How this page is made. Listing fields come from federal records; map-sheet coverage is a labelled coordinate-to-boundary calculation, not a source-field claim.
  • Wildfire. Short, Karen C. 2022. Spatial wildfire occurrence data for the United States, 1992-2020 [FPA_FOD_20221014]. 6th Edition. Fort Collins, CO: Forest Service Research Data Archive. https://doi.org/10.2737/RDS-2013-0009.6 Collected with United States Government funding and usable without additional permissions or fees.
  • Mines and quarries. USGS Mineral Resources Data System (MRDS) https://mrdata.usgs.gov/mrds/ A work of the United States government, no copyright under 17 U.S.C. 105.