BlockBefore
Photograph of Byron Historic Commercial District
Photograph by kennethaw88, CC BY 4.0. Via Wikimedia Commons.

Byron Historic Commercial District

Listed on the National Register of Historic Places in 1984.

From the record

“The Byron Historic Commercial District is a substantially commercial historic district, located in downtown Byron, Michigan, roughly along Saginaw Street from Maple Street to Water Street. The district was listed on the National Register of Historic Places in 1984.”

Wikipedia article Byron Historic Commercial District, CC BY-SA 4.0.

One of 45 National Register listings published here for Shiawassee County · listed in 1984 · category: District.

Sources: the Wikipedia article · the case file at the National Archives · the National Register database, National Park Service

The listing

  • Address. Roughly Saginaw St. from Maple to Water Sts., Byron, 48418
  • When was it listed? September 1984
  • Category. district
  • Township. Burns township
  • National Register reference number. 84001848 - the number the National Park Service assigned this property when it was listed, and the key its nomination file is catalogued under at the National Archives.

Fires near this property

11 since 2018

Regional context, not property-specific evidence. The federal wildfire occurrence database lists 11 fires within 5 miles of Byron Historic Commercial District between 2018 and 2020, burning about 40 acres in total. None started naturally. None was recorded as arson. Distance is straight-line from the map coordinates, so a fire counted here may appear on a neighbouring settlement's page as well.

Reported cause Fires
Equipment and vehicle use6
Missing data/not specified/undetermined5

The most recent of them, most recent first, with the day each was reported and the service that recorded it.

DateCause SizeReported by Name on the report
18 August 2019Missing data/not specified/undetermined1.0 acresMichigan Department of Natural ResourcesVERNON TOWNSHIP FD 0000058 - 2019
30 June 2019Equipment and vehicle use1.0 acresMichigan Department of Natural ResourcesVERNON TOWNSHIP FD 0000043 - 2019
13 June 2018Equipment and vehicle use1.0 acresMichigan Department of Natural ResourcesARGENTINE TWP FIRE\RESCUE 0000209 - 2018
1 May 2018Equipment and vehicle use1.0 acresMichigan Department of Natural ResourcesHOWELL AREA FD 0000467 - 2018
7 April 2019Equipment and vehicle use1.0 acresMichigan Department of Natural ResourcesARGENTINE TWP FIRE\RESCUE 0000122 - 2019
30 April 2018Missing data/not specified/undetermined1.0 acresMichigan Department of Natural ResourcesARGENTINE TWP FIRE\RESCUE 0000152 - 2018
2 April 2019Missing data/not specified/undetermined1.0 acresMichigan Department of Natural ResourcesBURNS TOWNSHIP FD 0000014 - 2019
4 March 2018Equipment and vehicle use1.0 acresMichigan Department of Natural ResourcesVERNON TOWNSHIP FD 0000013 - 2018

Every fire recorded in Shiawassee County

Mines and quarries near this property

2 within 5 miles

Regional context, not property-specific evidence. The federal mineral resources record lists 2 workings within 5 miles of Byron Historic Commercial District: 1 producer, 1 past producer. 1 still produces. What was taken out: Sand and Gravel, Construction, Clay. Distance is straight-line from the map coordinates, so a quarry counted here may appear on a neighbouring settlement's page as well.

Where SiteCommodity StatusRecorded
Fred Mccann Clay PitClayPast Producer
Fuoss Gravel Co. PitSand and Gravel, ConstructionProducer

Every working recorded in Shiawassee County

Storms near this property

17 since 1994

Regional context, not property-specific evidence. The National Weather Service names Byron, the town this property stands in, in 17 storm reports between 1994 and 2024: 16 thunderstorm wind, 1 hail. No death or injury is recorded in these reports. Each account below is quoted exactly as the forecast office filed it, from the NOAA Storm Events Database, and each date opens the federal record of that event.

WhenEvent Place namedHarm What the report says
May 2007Thunderstorm WindByron$25,000TV media reported trees down, with at least one falling through a home.
April 2014Thunderstorm WindByron$10,000Roof peeled of gymnasium.
June 1999Thunderstorm WindByron$4,000no account filed
August 2024Thunderstorm WindByron-At least 4 large trees blown down.
July 2023Thunderstorm WindByron-A large tree fell onto a house in Byron.
August 2022Thunderstorm WindByron-Multiple trees and power lines reported down.
August 2021Thunderstorm WindByron-Trees reported down, including one down on a car.
June 2021Thunderstorm WindByron-Numerous trees were reported blown down across southern Shiawassee county.
August 2019Thunderstorm WindByron-A tree was reported blown down.
May 2011Thunderstorm WindByron-Large trees and tree limbs reported blown down.
May 2011Thunderstorm WindByron-A 3 foot diameter tree was reported down.
June 2011Thunderstorm WindByron-A large tree was reported blown down.
July 2005Thunderstorm WindByron-Large tree limbs were reported blown down.
June 2003Thunderstorm WindByron-Law enforcement reported a large tree blown down.
July 1994Thunderstorm WindByron-Numerous tree limbs and a few power lines were downed.
May 2011HailByron-no account filed
June 1998Thunderstorm WindByron-no account filed

Every storm recorded in Shiawassee County

Map coverage status

No historic map-sheet match is published for this property yet. That does not mean no map exists. This record needs a coordinate-quality review before it can be joined to a sheet boundary. Browse the county's mapped places while that work is pending.

Listed places nearby

3 within 8 miles

Other National Register properties close enough to walk or drive between, ordered by distance from this one. Both positions come from the same geocoding pass that matched these properties to their map sheets.

Photograph PropertyDistance Listed
Grand Trunk Railway Station6.3 miles1971
Durand High School6.8 miles2009
Williams-Cole House7.4 miles1986

Sources for this property

National Archives recordThe nomination case file for reference 84001848 in Record Group 79.
Wikipedia articleCommunity-written account of this property, licensed CC BY-SA.
Shiawassee CountyAll 45 listed properties in this county.

Provenance

  • Listing record. National Park Service National Register of Historic Places, listed-properties dataset, current to 2026-05-22.
  • Map join. Address geocoded through the United States Census geocoder, then tested against the published boundary of every sheet in the USGS Historical Topographic Map Collection.
  • How this page is made. Listing fields come from federal records; map-sheet coverage is a labelled coordinate-to-boundary calculation, not a source-field claim.
  • Wildfire. Short, Karen C. 2022. Spatial wildfire occurrence data for the United States, 1992-2020 [FPA_FOD_20221014]. 6th Edition. Fort Collins, CO: Forest Service Research Data Archive. https://doi.org/10.2737/RDS-2013-0009.6 Collected with United States Government funding and usable without additional permissions or fees.
  • Mines and quarries. USGS Mineral Resources Data System (MRDS) https://mrdata.usgs.gov/mrds/ A work of the United States government, no copyright under 17 U.S.C. 105.
  • Storms. NOAA National Centers for Environmental Information, Storm Events Database https://www.ncei.noaa.gov/stormevents/ A work of the United States government, no copyright under 17 U.S.C. 105. Narratives are quoted verbatim from the National Weather Service report and are not edited or summarised.