BlockBefore
Photograph of William B. and Mary Chase Stratton House
Photograph by Appraiser, CC BY-SA 3.0. Via Wikimedia Commons.

William B. and Mary Chase Stratton House

Listed on the National Register of Historic Places in 1984.

From the record

“The William B. and Mary Chase Stratton House is a private house located at 938 Three Mile Dr. in Grosse Pointe Park, Michigan. It was listed on the National Register of Historic Places in 1984.”

Wikipedia article William B. and Mary Chase Stratton House, CC BY-SA 4.0.

One of 396 National Register listings published here for Wayne County · listed in 1984 · category: Building.

Sources: the Wikipedia article · the case file at the National Archives · the National Register database, National Park Service

The listing

  • What is counted as historic. The nomination lists 1 building as contributing to the listing.
  • Listed as. Stratton, William B. and Mary Chase, House - the National Register files a house under its owner's surname.
  • Address. 938 Three Mile Dr., Grosse Pointe Park, 48230
  • When was it listed? May 1984
  • Category. building
  • City. Grosse Pointe Park city
  • Architect. William Buck Stratton
  • National Register reference number. 84001867 - the number the National Park Service assigned this property when it was listed, and the key its nomination file is catalogued under at the National Archives.

Fires near this property

61 since 2018

Regional context, not property-specific evidence. The federal wildfire occurrence database lists 61 fires within 5 miles of William B. and Mary Chase Stratton House between 2018 and 2020, burning about 60 acres in total. 6 started naturally. None was recorded as arson. Distance is straight-line from the map coordinates, so a fire counted here may appear on a neighbouring settlement's page as well.

Reported cause Fires
Debris and open burning29
Equipment and vehicle use14
Missing data/not specified/undetermined8
Natural6
Recreation and ceremony3
Smoking1

The most recent of them, most recent first, with the day each was reported and the service that recorded it.

DateCause SizeReported by Name on the report
27 September 2019Debris and open burning1.0 acresMichigan Department of Natural ResourcesDETROIT FD 0034676 - 2019
23 September 2019Debris and open burning1.0 acresMichigan Department of Natural ResourcesDETROIT FD 0034284 - 2019
22 September 2019Debris and open burning1.0 acresMichigan Department of Natural ResourcesDETROIT FD 0034155 - 2019
6 August 2019Debris and open burning1.0 acresMichigan Department of Natural ResourcesDETROIT FD 0027937 - 2019
6 August 2019Missing data/not specified/undetermined1.0 acresMichigan Department of Natural ResourcesDETROIT FD 0028032 - 2019
6 August 2019Debris and open burning1.0 acresMichigan Department of Natural ResourcesDETROIT FD 0027928 - 2019
4 August 2019Natural1.0 acresMichigan Department of Natural ResourcesDETROIT FD 0027607 - 2019
30 August 2019Debris and open burning1.0 acresMichigan Department of Natural ResourcesDETROIT FD 0030888 - 2019

Every fire recorded in Wayne County

Map coverage status

No historic map-sheet match is published for this property yet. That does not mean no map exists. This record needs a coordinate-quality review before it can be joined to a sheet boundary. Browse the county's mapped places while that work is pending.

Listed places nearby

6 within 8 miles

Other National Register properties close enough to walk or drive between, ordered by distance from this one. Both positions come from the same geocoding pass that matched these properties to their map sheets.

Photograph PropertyDistance Listed
William and Margot Kessler House0.5 miles2013
Cadieux School0.7 miles2023
Grace Ingersoll McGraw House0.9 miles2023
Jeffferson-Chalmers Historic Business District1.1 miles2004
Beverly Road Historic District1.3 miles1995
Grosse Pointe High School1.4 miles1993

Sources for this property

National Archives recordThe nomination case file for reference 84001867 in Record Group 79.
Wikipedia articleCommunity-written account of this property, licensed CC BY-SA.
Wayne CountyAll 396 listed properties in this county.

Provenance

  • Listing record. National Park Service National Register of Historic Places, listed-properties dataset, current to 2026-05-22.
  • Map join. Address geocoded through the United States Census geocoder, then tested against the published boundary of every sheet in the USGS Historical Topographic Map Collection.
  • How this page is made. Listing fields come from federal records; map-sheet coverage is a labelled coordinate-to-boundary calculation, not a source-field claim.
  • Wildfire. Short, Karen C. 2022. Spatial wildfire occurrence data for the United States, 1992-2020 [FPA_FOD_20221014]. 6th Edition. Fort Collins, CO: Forest Service Research Data Archive. https://doi.org/10.2737/RDS-2013-0009.6 Collected with United States Government funding and usable without additional permissions or fees.