BlockBefore
Photograph of John W. Day House
Photograph by Notorious4life, Public domain. Via Wikimedia Commons.

John W. Day House

Listed on the National Register of Historic Places in 1987.

From the record

“Day House, also known as the Day-Dittman House, is a private residential structure located at 4985 Dryden Road in Dryden Township in southern Lapeer County, Michigan, United States. It was designated as a Michigan State Historic Site on September 26, 1987, and soon after added to the National Register of Historic Places on December 17, 1987.”

Wikipedia article John W. Day House, CC BY-SA 4.0.

One of 23 National Register listings published here for Lapeer County · listed in 1987 · category: Building.

Sources: the Wikipedia article · the case file at the National Archives · the National Register database, National Park Service

The listing

  • What is counted as historic. The nomination lists 1 building as contributing to the listing.
  • Listed as. Day, John W., House - the National Register files a house under its owner's surname.
  • Address. 4985 Dryden Rd., Dryden, 48428
  • When was it listed? December 1987
  • Category. building
  • Township. Dryden township
  • Architectural style. Greek Revival architecture
  • National Register reference number. 87002153 - the number the National Park Service assigned this property when it was listed, and the key its nomination file is catalogued under at the National Archives.

Fires near this property

6 since 2018

Regional context, not property-specific evidence. The federal wildfire occurrence database lists 6 fires within 5 miles of John W. Day House between 2018 and 2020, burning about 7 acres in total. None started naturally. None was recorded as arson. Distance is straight-line from the map coordinates, so a fire counted here may appear on a neighbouring settlement's page as well.

Reported cause Fires
Equipment and vehicle use5
Missing data/not specified/undetermined1

The most recent of them, most recent first, with the day each was reported and the service that recorded it.

DateCause SizeReported by Name on the report
29 April 2018Equipment and vehicle use1.0 acresMichigan Department of Natural ResourcesMETAMORA TOWNSHIP FIRE/RESCUE 0000119 - 2018
27 April 2018Equipment and vehicle use1.0 acresMichigan Department of Natural ResourcesDRYDEN TOWNSHIP FD 0018026 - 2018
24 April 2018Equipment and vehicle use1.0 acresMichigan Department of Natural ResourcesATTICA TOWNSHIP FD 0000019 - 2018
13 April 2019Equipment and vehicle use1.0 acresMichigan Department of Natural ResourcesADDISON TOWNSHIP FD 0000154 - 2019
13 April 2019Equipment and vehicle use2.0 acresMichigan Department of Natural ResourcesDRYDEN TOWNSHIP FD 0019030 - 2019
9 March 2020Missing data/not specified/undetermined1.0 acresMichigan Department of Natural ResourcesALMONT FD 22 - 2020

Every fire recorded in Lapeer County

Mines and quarries near this property

4 within 5 miles

Regional context, not property-specific evidence. The federal mineral resources record lists 4 workings within 5 miles of John W. Day House: 4 producers. All of them still produce. What was taken out: Sand and Gravel, Construction. Distance is straight-line from the map coordinates, so a quarry counted here may appear on a neighbouring settlement's page as well.

Where SiteCommodity StatusRecorded
Lapeer County Road Comm. PitSand and Gravel, ConstructionProducer
Paton PitSand and Gravel, ConstructionProducer
Peake Pit & MillSand and Gravel, ConstructionProducer
St Clair County Road Comm. PitSand and Gravel, ConstructionProducer

Every working recorded in Lapeer County

Storms near this property

13 since 2000

Regional context, not property-specific evidence. The National Weather Service names Dryden, the town this property stands in, in 13 storm reports between 2000 and 2025: 12 thunderstorm wind, 1 lightning. No death or injury is recorded in these reports. Each account below is quoted exactly as the forecast office filed it, from the NOAA Storm Events Database, and each date opens the federal record of that event.

WhenEvent Place namedHarm What the report says
July 2000LightningDryden$650,000Lightning struck a staircase manufacturing company. The building was destroyed in the resulting fire, and a neighboring flooring company was damaged.
August 2000Thunderstorm WindDryden$50,000A three story, historic barn (dating from the 1920s) was destroyed in Dryden Township. Six sheep inside were killed.
June 2020Thunderstorm WindDryden$3,000Power lines reported blown down.
April 2009Thunderstorm WindDryden$3,000Several trees and wires reported down.
May 2025Thunderstorm WindDryden-Trees sheared and wires reported down.
July 2022Thunderstorm WindDryden-Trees and wires reported down.
October 2017Thunderstorm WindDryden-A tree was reported blown down.
August 2013Thunderstorm WindDryden-Trees reported down.
July 2012Thunderstorm WindDryden-Power lines reported down.
June 2005Thunderstorm WindDryden-A trained spotter estimated a 70 mph thunderstorm wind gust, which brought down large tree limbs.
June 2005Thunderstorm WindDryden-Small tree limbs were blown down. Siding was also ripped off a house.
July 2003Thunderstorm WindDryden-A trained spotter reported trees blown down.
July 2002Thunderstorm WindDryden-Law enforcement reported several large trees blown down.

Every storm recorded in Lapeer County

Map coverage status

No historic map-sheet match is published for this property yet. That does not mean no map exists. This record needs a coordinate-quality review before it can be joined to a sheet boundary. Browse the county's mapped places while that work is pending.

Listed places nearby

6 within 8 miles

Other National Register properties close enough to walk or drive between, ordered by distance from this one. Both positions come from the same geocoding pass that matched these properties to their map sheets.

Sources for this property

National Archives recordThe nomination case file for reference 87002153 in Record Group 79.
Wikipedia articleCommunity-written account of this property, licensed CC BY-SA.
Lapeer CountyAll 23 listed properties in this county.

Provenance

  • Listing record. National Park Service National Register of Historic Places, listed-properties dataset, current to 2026-05-22.
  • Map join. Address geocoded through the United States Census geocoder, then tested against the published boundary of every sheet in the USGS Historical Topographic Map Collection.
  • How this page is made. Listing fields come from federal records; map-sheet coverage is a labelled coordinate-to-boundary calculation, not a source-field claim.
  • Wildfire. Short, Karen C. 2022. Spatial wildfire occurrence data for the United States, 1992-2020 [FPA_FOD_20221014]. 6th Edition. Fort Collins, CO: Forest Service Research Data Archive. https://doi.org/10.2737/RDS-2013-0009.6 Collected with United States Government funding and usable without additional permissions or fees.
  • Mines and quarries. USGS Mineral Resources Data System (MRDS) https://mrdata.usgs.gov/mrds/ A work of the United States government, no copyright under 17 U.S.C. 105.
  • Storms. NOAA National Centers for Environmental Information, Storm Events Database https://www.ncei.noaa.gov/stormevents/ A work of the United States government, no copyright under 17 U.S.C. 105. Narratives are quoted verbatim from the National Weather Service report and are not edited or summarised.