BlockBefore

Morseville Bridge

Listed on the National Register of Historic Places in 1990.

From the record

“The Morseville Bridge is a bridge which formerly carried Burt Road over the Flint River in Taymouth Township, Michigan. It was listed on the National Register of Historic Places in 1990.”

Wikipedia article Morseville Bridge, CC BY-SA 4.0.

One of 37 National Register listings published here for Saginaw County · listed in 1990 · category: Structure.

Sources: the Wikipedia article · the case file at the National Archives · the National Register database, National Park Service

The listing

  • What is counted as historic. The nomination lists 1 structure as contributing to the listing.
  • Address. Burt Rd. at Flint River, Taymouth Township, 48457
  • When was it listed? April 1990
  • Category. structure
  • Township. Taymouth township
  • National Register reference number. 90000573 - the number the National Park Service assigned this property when it was listed, and the key its nomination file is catalogued under at the National Archives.

Fires near this property

16 since 2003

Regional context, not property-specific evidence. The federal wildfire occurrence database lists 16 fires within 5 miles of Morseville Bridge between 2003 and 2020, burning about 48 acres in total. 6 started naturally. None was recorded as arson. Distance is straight-line from the map coordinates, so a fire counted here may appear on a neighbouring settlement's page as well.

Reported cause Fires
Natural6
Equipment and vehicle use5
Missing data/not specified/undetermined4
Recreation and ceremony1

The most recent of them, most recent first, with the day each was reported and the service that recorded it.

DateCause SizeReported by Name on the report
13 August 2018Equipment and vehicle use1.0 acresMichigan Department of Natural ResourcesBIRCH RUN TOWNSHIP FD 316 - 2018
30 June 2020Naturalunder an acreMichigan Department of Natural ResourcesTAYMOUTH FD 0000110 - 2020
5 May 2018Missing data/not specified/undetermined1.0 acresMichigan Department of Natural ResourcesMONTROSE TOWNSHIP FD 0000073 - 2018
4 May 2018Recreation and ceremony1.0 acresMichigan Department of Natural ResourcesALBEE TOWNSHIP FD 1800037 - 2018
10 May 2019Missing data/not specified/undetermined1.0 acresMichigan Department of Natural ResourcesTAYMOUTH FD 103 - 2019
6 April 2020Equipment and vehicle use1.0 acresMichigan Department of Natural ResourcesBIRCH RUN TOWNSHIP FD 152 - 2020
4 April 2019Missing data/not specified/undetermined1.0 acresMichigan Department of Natural ResourcesTAYMOUTH FD 77 - 2019
29 April 2018Natural1.0 acresMichigan Department of Natural ResourcesALBEE TOWNSHIP FD 1800027 - 2018

Every fire recorded in Saginaw County

Mines and quarries near this property

3 within 5 miles

Regional context, not property-specific evidence. The federal mineral resources record lists 3 workings within 5 miles of Morseville Bridge: 2 producers, 1 prospect. 2 still produce. What was taken out: Sand and Gravel, Construction, Fire Clay (Refractory). Distance is straight-line from the map coordinates, so a quarry counted here may appear on a neighbouring settlement's page as well.

Where SiteCommodity StatusRecorded
Albee Clay SampleFire Clay (Refractory)Prospect
Kish Pit & MillSand and Gravel, ConstructionProducer
Snelenberger Sand & Gravel PitSand and Gravel, ConstructionProducer

Every working recorded in Saginaw County

Map coverage status

No historic map-sheet match is published for this property yet. That does not mean no map exists. This record needs a coordinate-quality review before it can be joined to a sheet boundary. Browse the county's mapped places while that work is pending.

Listed places nearby

1 within 8 miles

Other National Register properties close enough to walk or drive between, ordered by distance from this one. Both positions come from the same geocoding pass that matched these properties to their map sheets.

Photograph PropertyDistance Listed
Gugel Bridge7.9 miles2000

Sources for this property

National Archives recordThe nomination case file for reference 90000573 in Record Group 79.
Wikipedia articleCommunity-written account of this property, licensed CC BY-SA.
Saginaw CountyAll 37 listed properties in this county.

Provenance

  • Listing record. National Park Service National Register of Historic Places, listed-properties dataset, current to 2026-05-22.
  • Map join. Address geocoded through the United States Census geocoder, then tested against the published boundary of every sheet in the USGS Historical Topographic Map Collection.
  • How this page is made. Listing fields come from federal records; map-sheet coverage is a labelled coordinate-to-boundary calculation, not a source-field claim.
  • Wildfire. Short, Karen C. 2022. Spatial wildfire occurrence data for the United States, 1992-2020 [FPA_FOD_20221014]. 6th Edition. Fort Collins, CO: Forest Service Research Data Archive. https://doi.org/10.2737/RDS-2013-0009.6 Collected with United States Government funding and usable without additional permissions or fees.
  • Mines and quarries. USGS Mineral Resources Data System (MRDS) https://mrdata.usgs.gov/mrds/ A work of the United States government, no copyright under 17 U.S.C. 105.