From the record
One of 80 National Register listings published here for Iron County · listed in 1994 · category: District.
Sources: the case file at the National Archives · the National Register database, National Park Service
Listed on the National Register of Historic Places in 1994.
One of 80 National Register listings published here for Iron County · listed in 1994 · category: District.
Sources: the case file at the National Archives · the National Register database, National Park Service
Regional context, not property-specific evidence. The federal wildfire occurrence database lists 5 fires within 5 miles of Camp Gibbs between 2007 and 2020, burning about 1 acre in total. None started naturally. None was recorded as arson. Distance is straight-line from the map coordinates, so a fire counted here may appear on a neighbouring settlement's page as well.
| Reported cause | Fires |
|---|---|
| Missing data/not specified/undetermined | 2 |
| Recreation and ceremony | 2 |
| Debris and open burning | 1 |
The most recent of them, most recent first, with the day each was reported and the service that recorded it.
| Date | Cause | Size | Reported by | Name on the report |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 5 May 2020 | Debris and open burning | under an acre | Ottawa National Forest | LANDING |
| 7 April 2010 | Missing data/not specified/undetermined | under an acre | Ottawa National Forest | IRON LAKE |
| 29 April 2012 | Recreation and ceremony | under an acre | Ottawa National Forest | BLOCKHOUSE |
| 29 April 2007 | Recreation and ceremony | under an acre | Ottawa National Forest | BUSH CREEK FIRE |
| 17 April 2015 | Missing data/not specified/undetermined | under an acre | Ottawa National Forest | PAINT RIVER FORKS |
Regional context, not property-specific evidence. The federal mineral resources record lists 9 workings within 5 miles of Camp Gibbs: 7 prospects, 2 producers. 2 still produce. What was taken out: Iron, Sand and Gravel, Construction. Distance is straight-line from the map coordinates, so a quarry counted here may appear on a neighbouring settlement's page as well.
| Where | Site | Commodity | Status | Recorded |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Champion Inc. Pit | Sand and Gravel, Construction | Producer | ||
| Iron River Lumber & Fuel Co Pit | Sand and Gravel, Construction | Producer | ||
| East Morrison Creek Exploration | Iron | Prospect | ||
| Mccolman Expl | Iron | Prospect | ||
| Near Morrison Creek Exploration | Iron | Prospect | ||
| Pewabic Expl | Iron | Prospect | ||
| Pewabic West Expl | Iron | Prospect | ||
| South East Morrison Creek Prospect | Iron | Prospect | ||
| West Morrison Creek Exploration | Iron | Prospect |
No historic map-sheet match is published for this property yet. That does not mean no map exists. This record needs a coordinate-quality review before it can be joined to a sheet boundary. Browse the county's mapped places while that work is pending.
Other National Register properties close enough to walk or drive between, ordered by distance from this one. Both positions come from the same geocoding pass that matched these properties to their map sheets.
| Photograph | Property | Distance | Listed |
|---|---|---|---|
| Beechwood Store | 3.8 miles | 1983 | |
![]() | Bethany Lutheran Church | 4.0 miles | 1983 |
| James Mine Historic District | 6.7 miles | 1983 | |
![]() | Scalcucci's Grocery | 7.2 miles | 1983 |
![]() | Spies Boardinghouse | 7.2 miles | 1983 |
![]() | Nelson E. Fisher House-High Banks | 7.3 miles | 1983 |
| National Archives record | The nomination case file for reference 93001408 in Record Group 79. |
| Iron County | All 80 listed properties in this county. |