BlockBefore
Photograph of Olive Township District No. 1 School
Photograph by rossograph, CC BY-SA 3.0. Via Wikimedia Commons.

Olive Township District No. 1 School

Built in 1866. Listed on the National Register of Historic Places in 1998.

From the record

“The Olive Township District No. 1 School, also known as the Ottawa Station School, is a one-room school located at 11611 Stanton Street in Olive Township, Michigan. It is now a museum operated by the Olive Township Historical Society.”

Wikipedia article Olive Township District No. 1 School, CC BY-SA 4.0.

One of 29 National Register listings published here for Ottawa County · listed in 1998 · category: Building · built in 1866.

Sources: the Wikipedia article · the case file at the National Archives · the National Register database, National Park Service

The listing

  • What is counted as historic. The nomination lists 1 building as contributing to the listing.
  • Address. 11611 Stanton St., Olive Township, 49460
  • When was it listed? August 1998
  • Category. building
  • Township. Olive township
  • When was it built? 1866
  • National Register reference number. 98001061 - the number the National Park Service assigned this property when it was listed, and the key its nomination file is catalogued under at the National Archives.

Fires near this property

28 since 1992

Regional context, not property-specific evidence. The federal wildfire occurrence database lists 28 fires within 5 miles of Olive Township District No. 1 School between 1992 and 2019, burning about 37 acres in total. None started naturally. 4 were recorded as arson. Distance is straight-line from the map coordinates, so a fire counted here may appear on a neighbouring settlement's page as well.

Reported cause Fires
Missing data/not specified/undetermined10
Debris and open burning7
Arson/incendiarism4
Equipment and vehicle use3
Misuse of fire by a minor3
Railroad operations and maintenance1

The most recent of them, most recent first, with the day each was reported and the service that recorded it.

DateCause SizeReported by Name on the report
6 September 1995Misuse of fire by a minorunder an acreMichigan Department of Natural Resourcesnot named
18 September 2005Debris and open burning1.0 acresMichigan Department of Natural Resourcesnot named
22 August 2003Debris and open burning1.5 acresMichigan Department of Natural Resourcesnot named
2 August 2005Equipment and vehicle use5.0 acresMichigan Department of Natural ResourcesOTTAWA #002
14 August 2019Missing data/not specified/undetermined1.0 acresMichigan Department of Natural ResourcesOLIVE TOWNSHIP FIRE/RESCUE 19180 - 2019
11 August 1996Debris and open burningunder an acreMichigan Department of Natural Resourcesnot named
10 August 2019Missing data/not specified/undetermined1.0 acresMichigan Department of Natural ResourcesBLENDON TOWNSHIP FD 19281 - 2019
7 July 2018Equipment and vehicle use1.0 acresMichigan Department of Natural ResourcesOLIVE TOWNSHIP FIRE/RESCUE 0000153 - 2018

Every fire recorded in Ottawa County

Mines and quarries near this property

1 within 5 miles

Regional context, not property-specific evidence. The federal mineral resources record lists 1 working within 5 miles of Olive Township District No. 1 School: 1 producer. All of them still produce. What was taken out: Sand and Gravel, Construction. Distance is straight-line from the map coordinates, so a quarry counted here may appear on a neighbouring settlement's page as well.

Where SiteCommodity StatusRecorded
Bass River Pit & MillSand and Gravel, ConstructionProducer

Every working recorded in Ottawa County

Map coverage status

No historic map-sheet match is published for this property yet. That does not mean no map exists. This record needs a coordinate-quality review before it can be joined to a sheet boundary. Browse the county's mapped places while that work is pending.

Sources for this property

National Archives recordThe nomination case file for reference 98001061 in Record Group 79.
Wikipedia articleCommunity-written account of this property, licensed CC BY-SA.
Ottawa CountyAll 29 listed properties in this county.

Provenance

  • Listing record. National Park Service National Register of Historic Places, listed-properties dataset, current to 2026-05-22.
  • Map join. Address geocoded through the United States Census geocoder, then tested against the published boundary of every sheet in the USGS Historical Topographic Map Collection.
  • How this page is made. Listing fields come from federal records; map-sheet coverage is a labelled coordinate-to-boundary calculation, not a source-field claim.
  • Wildfire. Short, Karen C. 2022. Spatial wildfire occurrence data for the United States, 1992-2020 [FPA_FOD_20221014]. 6th Edition. Fort Collins, CO: Forest Service Research Data Archive. https://doi.org/10.2737/RDS-2013-0009.6 Collected with United States Government funding and usable without additional permissions or fees.
  • Mines and quarries. USGS Mineral Resources Data System (MRDS) https://mrdata.usgs.gov/mrds/ A work of the United States government, no copyright under 17 U.S.C. 105.