BlockBefore
Photograph of Planter Road - Jackson Creek Bridge
Photograph by Sa magnuson33, CC BY-SA 3.0. Via Wikimedia Commons.

Planter Road-Jackson Creek Bridge

Listed on the National Register of Historic Places in 1999.

From the record

“The Planter Road - Jackson Creek Bridge is a bridge located on Planter Road over Jackson Creek in Wakefield Township, Michigan. It was listed on the National Register of Historic Places in 1999.”

Wikipedia article Planter Road-Jackson Creek Bridge, CC BY-SA 4.0.

One of 11 National Register listings published here for Gogebic County · listed in 1999 · category: Structure.

Sources: the Wikipedia article · the case file at the National Archives · the National Register database, National Park Service

The listing

  • What is counted as historic. The nomination lists 1 structure as contributing to the listing.
  • Listed as. Planter Road--Jackson Creek Bridge - the National Register files a house under its owner's surname.
  • Address. Planter Rd. over Jackson Creek, Wakefield Township, 49968
  • When was it listed? December 1999
  • Category. structure
  • Also known as. Highway Bridges of Michigan MPS
  • Township. Wakefield township
  • National Register reference number. 99001515 - the number the National Park Service assigned this property when it was listed, and the key its nomination file is catalogued under at the National Archives.

Fires near this property

9 since 1992

Regional context, not property-specific evidence. The federal wildfire occurrence database lists 9 fires within 5 miles of Planter Road-Jackson Creek Bridge between 1992 and 2020, burning about 13 acres in total. 1 started naturally. 2 were recorded as arson. Distance is straight-line from the map coordinates, so a fire counted here may appear on a neighbouring settlement's page as well.

Reported cause Fires
Arson/incendiarism2
Equipment and vehicle use2
Debris and open burning2
Missing data/not specified/undetermined1
Power generation/transmission/distribution1
Natural1

The most recent of them, most recent first, with the day each was reported and the service that recorded it.

DateCause SizeReported by Name on the report
16 August 2012Naturalunder an acreOttawa National ForestLONE PINE
7 May 1992Arson/incendiarismunder an acreMichigan Department of Natural Resourcesnot named
6 May 2007Equipment and vehicle use1.5 acresMichigan Department of Natural Resourcesnot named
4 May 2020Missing data/not specified/undetermined1.0 acresMichigan Department of Natural ResourcesWAKEFIELD FD 0540001 - 2020
30 April 1995Debris and open burningunder an acreMichigan Department of Natural Resourcesnot named
30 April 1992Arson/incendiarismunder an acreMichigan Department of Natural Resourcesnot named
23 April 2010Power generation/transmission/distributionunder an acreOttawa National ForestJOHNSON ROAD
17 October 1995Equipment and vehicle use2.0 acresMichigan Department of Natural Resourcesnot named

Every fire recorded in Gogebic County

Mines and quarries near this property

10 of 45 shown

Regional context, not property-specific evidence. The federal mineral resources record lists 45 workings within 5 miles of Planter Road-Jackson Creek Bridge: 29 past producers, 13 occurrences, 2 producers, 1 prospect. 2 still produce. What was taken out: Iron, Sand and Gravel, Construction, Lead. Distance is straight-line from the map coordinates, so a quarry counted here may appear on a neighbouring settlement's page as well.

Where SiteCommodity StatusRecorded
Unnamed Lead ProspectLeadOccurrence
Cebolski PitsSand and Gravel, ConstructionProducer
Les Johnson Sand and Gravel PitSand and Gravel, ConstructionProducer
Anvil-Palms-Keeweenaw GroupIronPast Producer1886, 1887
Anvil-Palms-Keweenaw GroupIronPast Producer1887, 1957
Castile-Meteor MineIronPast ProducerSecondary Enrichment
Chicago Mines (Sparta)IronPast Producer1892, 1915
Chicago- Includes Former SpartaIronPast Producer1892
Colby MineIronPast Producer1884, 1923
Eureka-AsteroidIronPast Producer1890

Every working recorded in Gogebic County

Map coverage status

No historic map-sheet match is published for this property yet. That does not mean no map exists. This record needs a coordinate-quality review before it can be joined to a sheet boundary. Browse the county's mapped places while that work is pending.

Listed places nearby

2 within 8 miles

Other National Register properties close enough to walk or drive between, ordered by distance from this one. Both positions come from the same geocoding pass that matched these properties to their map sheets.

Photograph PropertyDistance Listed
Main Street-Black River Bridge3.1 miles1999
Gogebic County Courthouse4.5 miles1981

Sources for this property

National Archives recordThe nomination case file for reference 99001515 in Record Group 79.
Wikipedia articleCommunity-written account of this property, licensed CC BY-SA.
Gogebic CountyAll 11 listed properties in this county.

Provenance

  • Listing record. National Park Service National Register of Historic Places, listed-properties dataset, current to 2026-05-22.
  • Map join. Address geocoded through the United States Census geocoder, then tested against the published boundary of every sheet in the USGS Historical Topographic Map Collection.
  • How this page is made. Listing fields come from federal records; map-sheet coverage is a labelled coordinate-to-boundary calculation, not a source-field claim.
  • Wildfire. Short, Karen C. 2022. Spatial wildfire occurrence data for the United States, 1992-2020 [FPA_FOD_20221014]. 6th Edition. Fort Collins, CO: Forest Service Research Data Archive. https://doi.org/10.2737/RDS-2013-0009.6 Collected with United States Government funding and usable without additional permissions or fees.
  • Mines and quarries. USGS Mineral Resources Data System (MRDS) https://mrdata.usgs.gov/mrds/ A work of the United States government, no copyright under 17 U.S.C. 105.