BlockBefore
Photograph of Blossomland Bridge
Photograph by Ian Rastall, CC0 1.0. Via Wikimedia Commons.

Blossomland Bridge

Built in 1948. Listed on the National Register of Historic Places in 1999.

From the record

One of 32 National Register listings published here for Berrien County · listed in 1999 · category: Structure · built in 1948.

Sources: the case file at the National Archives · the National Register database, National Park Service · the Wikipedia article

The listing

  • What is counted as historic. The nomination lists 1 structure as contributing to the listing.
  • Address. MI 63 over St. Joseph R., Saint Joseph, 49085
  • When was it listed? December 1999
  • Category. structure
  • Also known as. Highway Bridges of Michigan MPS
  • City. St. Joseph city
  • When was it built? 1948
  • National Register reference number. 99001576 - the number the National Park Service assigned this property when it was listed, and the key its nomination file is catalogued under at the National Archives.

Fires near this property

59 since 2018

Regional context, not property-specific evidence. The federal wildfire occurrence database lists 59 fires within 5 miles of Blossomland Bridge between 2018 and 2020, burning about 66 acres in total. 13 started naturally. None was recorded as arson. Distance is straight-line from the map coordinates, so a fire counted here may appear on a neighbouring settlement's page as well.

Reported cause Fires
Equipment and vehicle use24
Missing data/not specified/undetermined18
Natural13
Recreation and ceremony3
Smoking1

The most recent of them, most recent first, with the day each was reported and the service that recorded it.

DateCause SizeReported by Name on the report
27 September 2020Natural1.0 acresMichigan Department of Natural ResourcesST JOSEPH FD 228 - 2020
1 September 2019Missing data/not specified/undetermined1.0 acresMichigan Department of Natural ResourcesST JOSEPH CHARTER TWP FD STATION 1 2019068 - 2019
7 August 2019Missing data/not specified/undetermined1.0 acresMichigan Department of Natural ResourcesST JOSEPH FD 159 - 2019
7 August 2019Natural1.0 acresMichigan Department of Natural ResourcesBENTON CHARTER TWP FD 0000399 - 2019
22 August 2020Equipment and vehicle use1.0 acresMichigan Department of Natural ResourcesBENTON HARBOR FD 293 - 2020
22 August 2019Missing data/not specified/undetermined1.0 acresMichigan Department of Natural ResourcesBENTON HARBOR FD 238 - 2019
19 August 2019Missing data/not specified/undetermined1.0 acresMichigan Department of Natural ResourcesBENTON CHARTER TWP FD 0000425 - 2019
14 August 2019Equipment and vehicle use1.0 acresMichigan Department of Natural ResourcesST JOSEPH FD 166 - 2019

Every fire recorded in Berrien County

Mines and quarries near this property

1 within 5 miles

Regional context, not property-specific evidence. The federal mineral resources record lists 1 working within 5 miles of Blossomland Bridge: 1 past producer. None of them still produces. What was taken out: Limestone, General. Distance is straight-line from the map coordinates, so a quarry counted here may appear on a neighbouring settlement's page as well.

Where SiteCommodity StatusRecorded
Saint Joseph Terminal MillLimestone, GeneralPast Producer

Every working recorded in Berrien County

Map coverage status

No historic map-sheet match is published for this property yet. That does not mean no map exists. This record needs a coordinate-quality review before it can be joined to a sheet boundary. Browse the county's mapped places while that work is pending.

Listed places nearby

6 within 8 miles

Other National Register properties close enough to walk or drive between, ordered by distance from this one. Both positions come from the same geocoding pass that matched these properties to their map sheets.

Photograph PropertyDistance Listed
Whitcomb Hotel0.2 miles2021
St. Joseph North Pier Inner and Outer Lights0.7 miles2005
Fidelity Building1.2 miles2002
Wendell P. and Harriet Rounds Robbins House1.8 miles2007
Eden Springs Park2.3 miles2023
Shiloh House2.5 miles1972

Sources for this property

National Archives recordThe nomination case file for reference 99001576 in Record Group 79.
Wikipedia articleCommunity-written account of this property, licensed CC BY-SA.
Berrien CountyAll 32 listed properties in this county.

Provenance

  • Listing record. National Park Service National Register of Historic Places, listed-properties dataset, current to 2026-05-22.
  • Map join. Address geocoded through the United States Census geocoder, then tested against the published boundary of every sheet in the USGS Historical Topographic Map Collection.
  • How this page is made. Listing fields come from federal records; map-sheet coverage is a labelled coordinate-to-boundary calculation, not a source-field claim.
  • Wildfire. Short, Karen C. 2022. Spatial wildfire occurrence data for the United States, 1992-2020 [FPA_FOD_20221014]. 6th Edition. Fort Collins, CO: Forest Service Research Data Archive. https://doi.org/10.2737/RDS-2013-0009.6 Collected with United States Government funding and usable without additional permissions or fees.
  • Mines and quarries. USGS Mineral Resources Data System (MRDS) https://mrdata.usgs.gov/mrds/ A work of the United States government, no copyright under 17 U.S.C. 105.