BlockBefore
Photograph of Camp Ripley Bridge
Photograph by McGhiever, CC BY-SA 4.0. Via Wikimedia Commons.

Bridge No. 4969

Listed on the National Register of Historic Places in 2015.

From the record

“Camp Ripley Bridge, also known as Bridge 4969, is the only remaining unified road-rail bridge over the Mississippi River. It carries both a railroad spur line and Minnesota State Highway 115 at Camp Ripley in Morrison County.”

Wikipedia article Camp Ripley Bridge, CC BY-SA 4.0.

One of 15 National Register listings published here for Morrison County · listed in 2015 · category: Structure.

Sources: the Wikipedia article · the National Register database, National Park Service

The listing

  • What is counted as historic. The nomination lists 1 structure as contributing to the listing.
  • Address. TH 115 & BNSFRR over Mississippi R., Camp Ripley, 56345
  • When was it listed? January 2015
  • Category. structure
  • Township. Green Prairie township
  • National Register reference number. 14001175 - assigned by the National Park Service when the property was listed.

Fires near this property

116 since 1992

Regional context, not property-specific evidence. The federal wildfire occurrence database lists 116 fires within 5 miles of Bridge No. 4969 between 1992 and 2020, burning about 719 acres in total. 2 started naturally. 22 were recorded as arson. Distance is straight-line from the map coordinates, so a fire counted here may appear on a neighbouring settlement's page as well.

Reported cause Fires
Debris and open burning49
Arson/incendiarism22
Equipment and vehicle use17
Missing data/not specified/undetermined12
Smoking5
Recreation and ceremony4
Power generation/transmission/distribution2
Natural2
Other causes2
Fireworks1

The most recent of them, most recent first, with the day each was reported and the service that recorded it.

DateCause SizeReported by Name on the report
7 September 2003Debris and open burningunder an acreMinnesota Department of Natural Resourcesnot named
26 September 2012Equipment and vehicle use2.0 acresMinnesota Department of Natural Resourcesnot named
15 September 2015Debris and open burningunder an acreMinnesota Department of Natural Resourcesnot named
12 September 1998Missing data/not specified/undeterminedunder an acreMinnesota Department of Natural Resourcesnot named
1 September 1996Arson/incendiarismunder an acreMinnesota Department of Natural Resourcesnot named
7 August 2008Recreation and ceremonyunder an acreMinnesota Department of Natural Resourcesnot named
6 August 2005Equipment and vehicle useunder an acreMinnesota Department of Natural Resourcesnot named
29 August 2018Power generation/transmission/distributionunder an acreMinnesota Department of Natural Resourcesnot named

Every fire recorded in Morrison County

Mines and quarries near this property

1 within 5 miles

Regional context, not property-specific evidence. The federal mineral resources record lists 1 working within 5 miles of Bridge No. 4969: 1 producer. All of them still produce. What was taken out: Sand and Gravel, Construction. Distance is straight-line from the map coordinates, so a quarry counted here may appear on a neighbouring settlement's page as well.

Where SiteCommodity StatusRecorded
Schling Pit WestSand and Gravel, ConstructionProducer

Every working recorded in Morrison County

Map coverage status

No historic map-sheet match is published for this property yet. That does not mean no map exists. This record needs a coordinate-quality review before it can be joined to a sheet boundary. Browse the county's mapped places while that work is pending.

Listed places nearby

6 within 8 miles

Other National Register properties close enough to walk or drive between, ordered by distance from this one. Both positions come from the same geocoding pass that matched these properties to their map sheets.

Sources for this property

National Archives recordThe nomination case file for reference 14001175 in Record Group 79.
Wikipedia articleCommunity-written account of this property, licensed CC BY-SA.
Morrison CountyAll 15 listed properties in this county.

Provenance

  • Listing record. National Park Service National Register of Historic Places, listed-properties dataset, current to 2026-05-22.
  • Map join. Address geocoded through the United States Census geocoder, then tested against the published boundary of every sheet in the USGS Historical Topographic Map Collection.
  • How this page is made. Listing fields come from federal records; map-sheet coverage is a labelled coordinate-to-boundary calculation, not a source-field claim.
  • Wildfire. Short, Karen C. 2022. Spatial wildfire occurrence data for the United States, 1992-2020 [FPA_FOD_20221014]. 6th Edition. Fort Collins, CO: Forest Service Research Data Archive. https://doi.org/10.2737/RDS-2013-0009.6 Collected with United States Government funding and usable without additional permissions or fees.
  • Mines and quarries. USGS Mineral Resources Data System (MRDS) https://mrdata.usgs.gov/mrds/ A work of the United States government, no copyright under 17 U.S.C. 105.