BlockBefore

Grand Portage of the St. Louis River

Listed on the National Register of Historic Places in 1973.

From the record

One of 15 National Register listings published here for Carlton County · listed in 1973 · category: Site.

Sources: the case file at the National Archives · the National Register database, National Park Service

The listing

  • Address. W of Duluth in Jay Cooke State Park off MN 210, Duluth, 55733
  • When was it listed? May 1973
  • Category. site
  • Township. Thomson township
  • National Register reference number. 73000966 - the number the National Park Service assigned this property when it was listed, and the key its nomination file is catalogued under at the National Archives.

Fires near this property

284 since 1992

Regional context, not property-specific evidence. The federal wildfire occurrence database lists 284 fires within 5 miles of Grand Portage of the St. Louis River between 1992 and 2020, burning about 269 acres in total. 2 started naturally. 24 were recorded as arson. Distance is straight-line from the map coordinates, so a fire counted here may appear on a neighbouring settlement's page as well.

Reported cause Fires
Railroad operations and maintenance89
Debris and open burning80
Equipment and vehicle use31
Missing data/not specified/undetermined27
Arson/incendiarism24
Recreation and ceremony12
Smoking10
Power generation/transmission/distribution5
Fireworks2
Natural2
Misuse of fire by a minor1
Other causes1

The most recent of them, most recent first, with the day each was reported and the service that recorded it.

DateCause SizeReported by Name on the report
3 September 2008Missing data/not specified/undeterminedunder an acreMinnesota Department of Natural Resourcesnot named
24 September 1998Recreation and ceremonyunder an acreMinnesota Department of Natural Resourcesnot named
15 September 2006Recreation and ceremonyunder an acreMinnesota Department of Natural Resourcesnot named
1 September 2005Recreation and ceremonyunder an acreMinnesota Department of Natural Resourcesnot named
8 August 2005Debris and open burningunder an acreMinnesota Department of Natural Resourcesnot named
7 August 2016Debris and open burningunder an acreMinnesota Department of Natural Resourcesnot named
6 August 2004Equipment and vehicle useunder an acreMinnesota Department of Natural Resourcesnot named
6 August 2004Equipment and vehicle useunder an acreMinnesota Department of Natural Resourcesnot named

Every fire recorded in Carlton County

Mines and quarries near this property

6 within 5 miles

Regional context, not property-specific evidence. The federal mineral resources record lists 6 workings within 5 miles of Grand Portage of the St. Louis River: 5 producers, 1 occurrence. 5 still produce. What was taken out: Sand and Gravel, Construction, Clay, Stone, Crushed/Broken. Distance is straight-line from the map coordinates, so a quarry counted here may appear on a neighbouring settlement's page as well.

Where SiteCommodity StatusRecorded
Carlton County Clay DepositClayOccurrence
Zenith Dredge Co QuarryStone, Crushed/BrokenProducer
Koski PitSand and Gravel, ConstructionProducer
Scanlon Pit and ShopSand and Gravel, ConstructionProducer
Thompson Twp PitSand and Gravel, ConstructionProducer
Tompson Township PitSand and Gravel, ConstructionProducer

Every working recorded in Carlton County

Map coverage status

No historic map-sheet match is published for this property yet. That does not mean no map exists. This record needs a coordinate-quality review before it can be joined to a sheet boundary. Browse the county's mapped places while that work is pending.

Listed places nearby

6 within 8 miles

Other National Register properties close enough to walk or drive between, ordered by distance from this one. Both positions come from the same geocoding pass that matched these properties to their map sheets.

Sources for this property

National Archives recordThe nomination case file for reference 73000966 in Record Group 79.
Carlton CountyAll 15 listed properties in this county.

Provenance

  • Listing record. National Park Service National Register of Historic Places, listed-properties dataset, current to 2026-05-22.
  • Map join. Address geocoded through the United States Census geocoder, then tested against the published boundary of every sheet in the USGS Historical Topographic Map Collection.
  • How this page is made. Listing fields come from federal records; map-sheet coverage is a labelled coordinate-to-boundary calculation, not a source-field claim.
  • Wildfire. Short, Karen C. 2022. Spatial wildfire occurrence data for the United States, 1992-2020 [FPA_FOD_20221014]. 6th Edition. Fort Collins, CO: Forest Service Research Data Archive. https://doi.org/10.2737/RDS-2013-0009.6 Collected with United States Government funding and usable without additional permissions or fees.
  • Mines and quarries. USGS Mineral Resources Data System (MRDS) https://mrdata.usgs.gov/mrds/ A work of the United States government, no copyright under 17 U.S.C. 105.