BlockBefore

Frank Gran Farmstead

Listed on the National Register of Historic Places in 1982.

From the record

One of 19 National Register listings published here for Itasca County · listed in 1982 · category: Building.

Sources: the case file at the National Archives · the National Register database, National Park Service

The listing

  • What is counted as historic. The nomination lists 8 buildingss as contributing to the listing.
  • Listed as. Gran, Frank, Farmstead - the National Register files a house under its owner's surname.
  • Address. Co. Hwy. 10, La Prairie, 55709
  • When was it listed? April 1982
  • Category. building
  • Also known as. Itasca County MRA
  • Unorganized territory. Little Sand Lake
  • National Register reference number. 82002969 - the number the National Park Service assigned this property when it was listed, and the key its nomination file is catalogued under at the National Archives.

Fires near this property

92 since 1992

Regional context, not property-specific evidence. The federal wildfire occurrence database lists 92 fires within 5 miles of Frank Gran Farmstead between 1992 and 2020, burning about 206 acres in total. 3 started naturally. 19 were recorded as arson. Distance is straight-line from the map coordinates, so a fire counted here may appear on a neighbouring settlement's page as well.

Reported cause Fires
Debris and open burning38
Arson/incendiarism19
Missing data/not specified/undetermined12
Equipment and vehicle use7
Smoking4
Recreation and ceremony4
Natural3
Railroad operations and maintenance2
Power generation/transmission/distribution2
Other causes1

The most recent of them, most recent first, with the day each was reported and the service that recorded it.

DateCause SizeReported by Name on the report
17 July 2001Missing data/not specified/undeterminedunder an acreMinnesota Department of Natural Resourcesnot named
6 June 2011Naturalunder an acreMinnesota Department of Natural Resourcesnot named
5 June 2020Missing data/not specified/undeterminedunder an acreMinnesota Department of Natural Resourcesnot named
8 May 2020Other causesunder an acreMinnesota Department of Natural Resourcesnot named
8 May 2006Arson/incendiarismunder an acreMinnesota Department of Natural Resourcesnot named
6 May 1997Arson/incendiarismunder an acreMinnesota Department of Natural Resourcesnot named
5 May 2015Arson/incendiarism10 acresMinnesota Department of Natural Resourcesnot named
5 May 2013Debris and open burningunder an acreMinnesota Department of Natural Resourcesnot named

Every fire recorded in Itasca County

Storms near this property

7 since 2016

Regional context, not property-specific evidence. The National Weather Service names La Prairie, the town this property stands in, in 7 storm reports between 2016 and 2022: 5 hail, 1 flood, 1 flash flood. No death or injury is recorded in these reports. Each account below is quoted exactly as the forecast office filed it, from the NOAA Storm Events Database, and each date opens the federal record of that event.

WhenEvent Place namedHarm What the report says
August 2020Flash FloodLa Prairie-Two feet of water was covering US Highway 169 in the vicinity of Glenwood Drive causing the road to be closed.
July 2017FloodLa Prairie-Highway 169 was flooded with four to five inches of standing water covering the road.
May 2022HailLa Prairie-no account filed
August 2022HailLa Prairie-no account filed
July 2021HailLa Prairie-no account filed
July 2021HailLa Prairie-no account filed
March 2016HailLa Prairie-no account filed

Every storm recorded in Itasca County

Map coverage status

No historic map-sheet match is published for this property yet. That does not mean no map exists. This record needs a coordinate-quality review before it can be joined to a sheet boundary. Browse the county's mapped places while that work is pending.

Listed places nearby

6 within 8 miles

Other National Register properties close enough to walk or drive between, ordered by distance from this one. Both positions come from the same geocoding pass that matched these properties to their map sheets.

Photograph PropertyDistance Listed
Hartley Sugar Camp5.8 miles1982
General Superintendent's House7.8 miles1982
Canisteo District General Office Building7.8 miles1982
Coleraine Carnegie Library7.9 miles1980
Coleraine City Hall8.0 miles1992
Coleraine Methodist Episcopal Church8.0 miles1982

Sources for this property

National Archives recordThe nomination case file for reference 82002969 in Record Group 79.
Itasca CountyAll 19 listed properties in this county.

Provenance

  • Listing record. National Park Service National Register of Historic Places, listed-properties dataset, current to 2026-05-22.
  • Map join. Address geocoded through the United States Census geocoder, then tested against the published boundary of every sheet in the USGS Historical Topographic Map Collection.
  • How this page is made. Listing fields come from federal records; map-sheet coverage is a labelled coordinate-to-boundary calculation, not a source-field claim.
  • Wildfire. Short, Karen C. 2022. Spatial wildfire occurrence data for the United States, 1992-2020 [FPA_FOD_20221014]. 6th Edition. Fort Collins, CO: Forest Service Research Data Archive. https://doi.org/10.2737/RDS-2013-0009.6 Collected with United States Government funding and usable without additional permissions or fees.
  • Storms. NOAA National Centers for Environmental Information, Storm Events Database https://www.ncei.noaa.gov/stormevents/ A work of the United States government, no copyright under 17 U.S.C. 105. Narratives are quoted verbatim from the National Weather Service report and are not edited or summarised.