BlockBefore
Photograph of Minnesota Correctional Facility - St. Cloud
Photograph by Bobak Ha'Eri, CC BY 3.0. Via Wikimedia Commons.

Minnesota State Reformatory for Men Historic District

Built in 1889. Listed on the National Register of Historic Places in 1986.

From the record

“Established in 1889 as the Minnesota State Reformatory for Men, it is a level four, close-security institution with an inmate population of about 1,000 men. Cloud serves as the intake facility for men committed to prison in Minnesota.”

Wikipedia article Minnesota Correctional Facility - St. Cloud, CC BY-SA 4.0.

One of 5 National Register listings published here for Sherburne County · listed in 1986 · category: District · built in 1889.

Sources: the Wikipedia article · the case file at the National Archives · the National Register database, National Park Service

The listing

  • Address. Off MN 301, St. Cloud, 56304
  • When was it listed? July 1986
  • Category. district
  • City. St. Cloud city
  • When was it built? 1889
  • National Register reference number. 86001671 - the number the National Park Service assigned this property when it was listed, and the key its nomination file is catalogued under at the National Archives.

Fires near this property

88 since 1992

Regional context, not property-specific evidence. The federal wildfire occurrence database lists 88 fires within 5 miles of Minnesota State Reformatory for Men Historic District between 1992 and 2018, burning about 326 acres in total. None started naturally. 18 were recorded as arson. Distance is straight-line from the map coordinates, so a fire counted here may appear on a neighbouring settlement's page as well.

Reported cause Fires
Debris and open burning31
Railroad operations and maintenance18
Arson/incendiarism18
Equipment and vehicle use10
Missing data/not specified/undetermined6
Recreation and ceremony3
Smoking2

The most recent of them, most recent first, with the day each was reported and the service that recorded it.

DateCause SizeReported by Name on the report
30 September 2000Missing data/not specified/undeterminedunder an acreMinnesota Department of Natural Resourcesnot named
25 September 1992Debris and open burningunder an acreMinnesota Department of Natural Resourcesnot named
27 August 2003Equipment and vehicle useunder an acreMinnesota Department of Natural Resourcesnot named
12 August 2003Arson/incendiarismunder an acreMinnesota Department of Natural Resourcesnot named
31 July 2007Arson/incendiarism3.0 acresMinnesota Department of Natural Resourcesnot named
9 June 1997Missing data/not specified/undeterminedunder an acreMinnesota Department of Natural Resourcesnot named
8 June 1998Railroad operations and maintenance4.0 acresMinnesota Department of Natural Resourcesnot named
7 June 1997Missing data/not specified/undetermined5.0 acresMinnesota Department of Natural Resourcesnot named

Every fire recorded in Sherburne County

Mines and quarries near this property

6 within 5 miles

Regional context, not property-specific evidence. The federal mineral resources record lists 6 workings within 5 miles of Minnesota State Reformatory for Men Historic District: 6 producers. All of them still produce. What was taken out: Sand and Gravel, Construction, Granite. Distance is straight-line from the map coordinates, so a quarry counted here may appear on a neighbouring settlement's page as well.

Where SiteCommodity StatusRecorded
Charcoal Gray QuarryGraniteProducer
Bussee PitSand and Gravel, ConstructionProducer
Granite City S and G PitSand and Gravel, ConstructionProducer
Granite City Sand and Gravel PitSand and Gravel, ConstructionProducer
Hardrives Pit and MillSand and Gravel, ConstructionProducer
Utz PitSand and Gravel, ConstructionProducer

Every working recorded in Sherburne County

Map coverage status

No historic map-sheet match is published for this property yet. That does not mean no map exists. This record needs a coordinate-quality review before it can be joined to a sheet boundary. Browse the county's mapped places while that work is pending.

Sources for this property

National Archives recordThe nomination case file for reference 86001671 in Record Group 79.
Wikipedia articleCommunity-written account of this property, licensed CC BY-SA.
Sherburne CountyAll 5 listed properties in this county.

Provenance

  • Listing record. National Park Service National Register of Historic Places, listed-properties dataset, current to 2026-05-22.
  • Map join. Address geocoded through the United States Census geocoder, then tested against the published boundary of every sheet in the USGS Historical Topographic Map Collection.
  • How this page is made. Listing fields come from federal records; map-sheet coverage is a labelled coordinate-to-boundary calculation, not a source-field claim.
  • Wildfire. Short, Karen C. 2022. Spatial wildfire occurrence data for the United States, 1992-2020 [FPA_FOD_20221014]. 6th Edition. Fort Collins, CO: Forest Service Research Data Archive. https://doi.org/10.2737/RDS-2013-0009.6 Collected with United States Government funding and usable without additional permissions or fees.
  • Mines and quarries. USGS Mineral Resources Data System (MRDS) https://mrdata.usgs.gov/mrds/ A work of the United States government, no copyright under 17 U.S.C. 105.