BlockBefore
Photograph of Grand-Leader Building
Photograph by William Wesen Appraiser, CC BY-SA 3.0. Via Wikimedia Commons.

Grand-Leader (Stix, Baer & Fuller Dry Goods Co.) Building

Listed on the National Register of Historic Places in 2003.

From the record

One of 663 National Register listings published here for St. Louis County · listed in 2003 · category: Building.

Sources: the case file at the National Archives · the National Register database, National Park Service

The listing

  • What is counted as historic. The nomination lists 1 building as contributing to the listing.
  • Listed as. Grand--Leader (Stix, Baer & Fuller Dry Goods Co.) Building - the National Register files a house under its owner's surname.
  • Address. 601 Washington Ave., St. Louis (Independent City), 63101
  • When was it listed? July 2003
  • Category. building
  • Architect. Mauran, Russell and Crowell
  • National Register reference number. 03000650 - the number the National Park Service assigned this property when it was listed, and the key its nomination file is catalogued under at the National Archives.

Fires near this property

1 since 2011

Regional context, not property-specific evidence. The federal wildfire occurrence database lists 1 fire within 5 miles of Grand-Leader (Stix, Baer & Fuller Dry Goods Co.) Building in 2011, burning under an acre in total. None started naturally. None was recorded as arson. Distance is straight-line from the map coordinates, so a fire counted here may appear on a neighbouring settlement's page as well.

Reported cause Fires
Missing data/not specified/undetermined1

The most recent of them, most recent first, with the day each was reported and the service that recorded it.

DateCause SizeReported by Name on the report
17 December 2011Missing data/not specified/undeterminedunder an acreIllinois Division of Forestry Resources79TH

Every fire recorded in St. Louis County

Mines and quarries near this property

10 of 56 shown

Regional context, not property-specific evidence. The federal mineral resources record lists 56 workings within 5 miles of Grand-Leader (Stix, Baer & Fuller Dry Goods Co.) Building: 52 past producers, 2 producers, 1 plant, 1 prospect. 3 still produce. What was taken out: Stone, Crushed/Broken, Clay, Fire Clay (Refractory), Fire Clay (Refractory), Coal. Distance is straight-line from the map coordinates, so a quarry counted here may appear on a neighbouring settlement's page as well.

Where SiteCommodity StatusRecorded
(Facility) Sauget Zinc RefineryZinc, Refiner, Sulfur, Sulfuric AcidPlant
Bambrick-Bates Constr. Co. Quarry 1Clay, Stone, Crushed/BrokenPast Producer
Hypothetical Lead MineLead, Silver, Zinc, Cobalt, Copper, Nickel, CadmiumProspectUnderground
Madison PlantThoriumProducer
Parker-Russell Fireclay MineFire Clay (Refractory), CoalPast Producer
Pfizer Inc. Mineral PigmentsIronProducer
Hydraulic Press Brick Co Mine No 3Fire Clay (Refractory)Past Producer
Hydraulic Press Brick Co Mine No 4ClayPast Producer
Hydraulic Press Brick Co Mine No.6ClayPast Producer
Hydraulic Press Brick Fireclay No 2Fire Clay (Refractory)Past Producer

Every working recorded in St. Louis County

Map coverage status

No historic map-sheet match is published for this property yet. That does not mean no map exists. This record needs a coordinate-quality review before it can be joined to a sheet boundary. Browse the county's mapped places while that work is pending.

Listed places nearby

6 within 8 miles

Other National Register properties close enough to walk or drive between, ordered by distance from this one. Both positions come from the same geocoding pass that matched these properties to their map sheets.

Photograph PropertyDistance Listed
Union Market0.1 miles1984
Railway Exchange Building0.1 miles2009
May Company Department Store Building0.1 miles1983
Kennard, J., and Sons Carpet Company Building0.1 miles2000
Missouri Athletic Club Building0.1 miles2007
Employment Security Building0.2 miles2018

Sources for this property

National Archives recordThe nomination case file for reference 03000650 in Record Group 79.
St. Louis CountyAll 663 listed properties in this county.

Provenance

  • Listing record. National Park Service National Register of Historic Places, listed-properties dataset, current to 2026-05-22.
  • Map join. Address geocoded through the United States Census geocoder, then tested against the published boundary of every sheet in the USGS Historical Topographic Map Collection.
  • How this page is made. Listing fields come from federal records; map-sheet coverage is a labelled coordinate-to-boundary calculation, not a source-field claim.
  • Wildfire. Short, Karen C. 2022. Spatial wildfire occurrence data for the United States, 1992-2020 [FPA_FOD_20221014]. 6th Edition. Fort Collins, CO: Forest Service Research Data Archive. https://doi.org/10.2737/RDS-2013-0009.6 Collected with United States Government funding and usable without additional permissions or fees.
  • Mines and quarries. USGS Mineral Resources Data System (MRDS) https://mrdata.usgs.gov/mrds/ A work of the United States government, no copyright under 17 U.S.C. 105.