BlockBefore
Photograph of Ben J. Selkirk and Sons Building
Photograph by Paul Sableman, CC BY 2.0. Via Wikimedia Commons.

Ben J. and Sons Selkirk Building

Listed on the National Register of Historic Places in 2005.

From the record

One of 663 National Register listings published here for St. Louis County · listed in 2005 · category: Building.

Sources: the case file at the National Archives · the National Register database, National Park Service

The listing

  • What is counted as historic. The nomination lists 1 building as contributing to the listing.
  • Listed as. Selkirk, Ben J. and Sons, Building - the National Register files a house under its owner's surname.
  • Address. 4160-4166 Olive St., St. Louis (Independent City), 63108
  • When was it listed? November 2005
  • Category. building
  • National Register reference number. 05001280 - the number the National Park Service assigned this property when it was listed, and the key its nomination file is catalogued under at the National Archives.

Fires near this property

2 since 2006

Regional context, not property-specific evidence. The federal wildfire occurrence database lists 2 fires within 5 miles of Ben J. and Sons Selkirk Building in 2006, burning about 1 acre in total. None started naturally. None was recorded as arson. Distance is straight-line from the map coordinates, so a fire counted here may appear on a neighbouring settlement's page as well.

Reported cause Fires
Missing data/not specified/undetermined2

The most recent of them, most recent first, with the day each was reported and the service that recorded it.

DateCause SizeReported by Name on the report
27 February 2006Missing data/not specified/undeterminedunder an acreMissouri State Fire Marshal's Officenot named
9 October 2006Missing data/not specified/undetermined1.0 acresMissouri State Fire Marshal's Officenot named

Every fire recorded in St. Louis County

Mines and quarries near this property

10 of 85 shown

Regional context, not property-specific evidence. The federal mineral resources record lists 85 workings within 5 miles of Ben J. and Sons Selkirk Building: 81 past producers, 3 producers, 1 prospect. 3 still produce. What was taken out: Stone, Crushed/Broken, Clay, Fire Clay (Refractory), Fire Clay (Refractory), Coal. Distance is straight-line from the map coordinates, so a quarry counted here may appear on a neighbouring settlement's page as well.

Where SiteCommodity StatusRecorded
Bambrick-Bates Constr. Co. Quarry 1Clay, Stone, Crushed/BrokenPast Producer
Delore Barite MillBarium-BariteProducer
Hypothetical Lead MineLead, Silver, Zinc, Cobalt, Copper, Nickel, CadmiumProspectUnderground
Krummel and Buchner MineCoal, Fire Clay (Refractory)Past Producer
St Louis Perlite PlantPerliteProducer
Parker-Russell Fireclay MineFire Clay (Refractory), CoalPast Producer
Tole and Thorp Fireclay MineFire Clay (Refractory), CoalPast Producer
Coffin MineFire Clay (Refractory)Past Producer
Evans and Howard Fireclay Mine No 7Fire Clay (Refractory)Past Producer
Evans and Howard Fireclay Mine No.6Fire Clay (Refractory)Past Producer

Every working recorded in St. Louis County

Map coverage status

No historic map-sheet match is published for this property yet. That does not mean no map exists. This record needs a coordinate-quality review before it can be joined to a sheet boundary. Browse the county's mapped places while that work is pending.

Listed places nearby

6 within 8 miles

Other National Register properties close enough to walk or drive between, ordered by distance from this one. Both positions come from the same geocoding pass that matched these properties to their map sheets.

Photograph PropertyDistance Listed
Kate Chopin House0.2 miles1986
Block Unit #1 Historic District0.3 miles2000
Philip and Louisa Green House0.3 miles2015
Fullerton's Westminster Place0.3 miles1980
Leonardo0.4 miles1983
Melrose Apartments0.4 miles2007

Sources for this property

National Archives recordThe nomination case file for reference 05001280 in Record Group 79.
St. Louis CountyAll 663 listed properties in this county.

Provenance

  • Listing record. National Park Service National Register of Historic Places, listed-properties dataset, current to 2026-05-22.
  • Map join. Address geocoded through the United States Census geocoder, then tested against the published boundary of every sheet in the USGS Historical Topographic Map Collection.
  • How this page is made. Listing fields come from federal records; map-sheet coverage is a labelled coordinate-to-boundary calculation, not a source-field claim.
  • Wildfire. Short, Karen C. 2022. Spatial wildfire occurrence data for the United States, 1992-2020 [FPA_FOD_20221014]. 6th Edition. Fort Collins, CO: Forest Service Research Data Archive. https://doi.org/10.2737/RDS-2013-0009.6 Collected with United States Government funding and usable without additional permissions or fees.
  • Mines and quarries. USGS Mineral Resources Data System (MRDS) https://mrdata.usgs.gov/mrds/ A work of the United States government, no copyright under 17 U.S.C. 105.