BlockBefore
Photograph of Endicott-Johnson Shoe Distribution Plant
Photograph by Mx. Granger, CC0 1.0. Via Wikimedia Commons.

Endicott-Johnson Shoe Distribution Plant

Listed on the National Register of Historic Places in 2007.

From the record

One of 663 National Register listings published here for St. Louis County · listed in 2007 · category: Building.

Sources: the case file at the National Archives · the National Register database, National Park Service

The listing

  • What is counted as historic. The nomination lists 2 buildingss as contributing to the listing.
  • Listed as. Endicott--Johnson Shoe Distribution Plant - the National Register files a house under its owner's surname.
  • Address. 1132 Spruce St., St. Louis
  • When was it listed? October 2007
  • Category. building
  • Architectural style. Neoclassical architecture
  • National Register reference number. 07001074 - the number the National Park Service assigned this property when it was listed, and the key its nomination file is catalogued under at the National Archives.

Fires near this property

3 since 2006

Regional context, not property-specific evidence. The federal wildfire occurrence database lists 3 fires within 5 miles of Endicott-Johnson Shoe Distribution Plant between 2006 and 2014, burning about 2 acres in total. None started naturally. None was recorded as arson. Distance is straight-line from the map coordinates, so a fire counted here may appear on a neighbouring settlement's page as well.

Reported cause Fires
Missing data/not specified/undetermined2
Misuse of fire by a minor1

The most recent of them, most recent first, with the day each was reported and the service that recorded it.

DateCause SizeReported by Name on the report
22 March 2014Misuse of fire by a minor1.0 acresMissouri Department of Conservationnot named
17 December 2011Missing data/not specified/undeterminedunder an acreIllinois Division of Forestry Resources79TH
9 October 2006Missing data/not specified/undetermined1.0 acresMissouri State Fire Marshal's Officenot named

Every fire recorded in St. Louis County

Mines and quarries near this property

10 of 80 shown

Regional context, not property-specific evidence. The federal mineral resources record lists 80 workings within 5 miles of Endicott-Johnson Shoe Distribution Plant: 73 past producers, 3 plants, 3 producers, 1 prospect. 6 still produce. What was taken out: Stone, Crushed/Broken, Clay, Fire Clay (Refractory), Fire Clay (Refractory), Coal. Distance is straight-line from the map coordinates, so a quarry counted here may appear on a neighbouring settlement's page as well.

Where SiteCommodity StatusRecorded
(Facility) Sauget Zinc RefineryZinc, Refiner, Sulfur, Sulfuric AcidPlant
Bambrick-Bates Constr. Co. Quarry 1Clay, Stone, Crushed/BrokenPast Producer
Delore Barite MillBarium-BariteProducer
Hypothetical Lead MineLead, Silver, Zinc, Cobalt, Copper, Nickel, CadmiumProspectUnderground
Krummel and Buchner MineCoal, Fire Clay (Refractory)Past Producer
Madison PlantThoriumProducer
Pfizer Inc. Mineral PigmentsIronProducer
Superior Dredge and MillSand and Gravel, ConstructionPlant
Parker-Russell Fireclay MineFire Clay (Refractory), CoalPast Producer
Tole and Thorp Fireclay MineFire Clay (Refractory), CoalPast Producer

Every working recorded in St. Louis County

Map coverage status

No historic map-sheet match is published for this property yet. That does not mean no map exists. This record needs a coordinate-quality review before it can be joined to a sheet boundary. Browse the county's mapped places while that work is pending.

Listed places nearby

6 within 8 miles

Other National Register properties close enough to walk or drive between, ordered by distance from this one. Both positions come from the same geocoding pass that matched these properties to their map sheets.

Photograph PropertyDistance Listed
Municipal Service Buildingunder 500 feet2005
Winkelmeyer Buildingunder 500 feet1985
St. Louis Mart and Terminal Warehouse0.1 miles2016
J.C. Penney Co. Warehouse Building0.2 miles1998
Cupples Warehouse District0.2 miles1998
Municipal Courts Building0.2 miles2012

Sources for this property

National Archives recordThe nomination case file for reference 07001074 in Record Group 79.
St. Louis CountyAll 663 listed properties in this county.

Provenance

  • Listing record. National Park Service National Register of Historic Places, listed-properties dataset, current to 2026-05-22.
  • Map join. Address geocoded through the United States Census geocoder, then tested against the published boundary of every sheet in the USGS Historical Topographic Map Collection.
  • How this page is made. Listing fields come from federal records; map-sheet coverage is a labelled coordinate-to-boundary calculation, not a source-field claim.
  • Wildfire. Short, Karen C. 2022. Spatial wildfire occurrence data for the United States, 1992-2020 [FPA_FOD_20221014]. 6th Edition. Fort Collins, CO: Forest Service Research Data Archive. https://doi.org/10.2737/RDS-2013-0009.6 Collected with United States Government funding and usable without additional permissions or fees.
  • Mines and quarries. USGS Mineral Resources Data System (MRDS) https://mrdata.usgs.gov/mrds/ A work of the United States government, no copyright under 17 U.S.C. 105.