BlockBefore
Photograph of Maramec Iron Works
Photograph by Kbh3rd at English Wikipedia, CC BY-SA 3.0. Via Wikimedia Commons.

Maramec Iron Works District

Listed on the National Register of Historic Places in 1969.

From the record

One of 9 National Register listings published here for Phelps County · listed in 1969 · category: District.

Sources: the case file at the National Archives · the National Register database, National Park Service

The listing

  • Address. 7 mi. S of St. James on MO 8, St. James, 65559
  • When was it listed? April 1969
  • Category. district
  • Township. Meramec township
  • National Register reference number. 69000122 - the number the National Park Service assigned this property when it was listed, and the key its nomination file is catalogued under at the National Archives.

Fires near this property

46 since 1992

Regional context, not property-specific evidence. The federal wildfire occurrence database lists 46 fires within 5 miles of Maramec Iron Works District between 1992 and 2020, burning about 322 acres in total. None started naturally. 2 were recorded as arson. Distance is straight-line from the map coordinates, so a fire counted here may appear on a neighbouring settlement's page as well.

Reported cause Fires
Debris and open burning26
Missing data/not specified/undetermined10
Arson/incendiarism2
Recreation and ceremony2
Railroad operations and maintenance2
Smoking1
Equipment and vehicle use1
Fireworks1
Power generation/transmission/distribution1

The most recent of them, most recent first, with the day each was reported and the service that recorded it.

DateCause SizeReported by Name on the report
30 September 2020Missing data/not specified/undeterminedunder an acreMissouri Department of Conservation230757-08110-09302020-1720
29 July 2016Debris and open burning1.0 acresMissouri Department of Conservation144732-02811-07292016-1151
28 May 1992Debris and open burning10 acresMissouri Department of Conservationnot named
28 May 1992Debris and open burning1.0 acresMissouri Department of Conservationnot named
10 May 1995Debris and open burning1.0 acresMissouri Department of Conservationnot named
23 April 1994Missing data/not specified/undetermined20 acresMissouri Department of Conservationnot named
21 April 1993Debris and open burning1.0 acresMissouri Department of Conservationnot named
21 April 1993Smoking1.0 acresMissouri Department of Conservationnot named

Every fire recorded in Phelps County

Mines and quarries near this property

10 of 29 shown

Regional context, not property-specific evidence. The federal mineral resources record lists 29 workings within 5 miles of Maramec Iron Works District: 26 past producers, 2 prospects, 1 producer. 1 still produces. What was taken out: Iron, Clay, Stone, Crushed/Broken, Sand and Gravel, Construction. Distance is straight-line from the map coordinates, so a quarry counted here may appear on a neighbouring settlement's page as well.

Where SiteCommodity StatusRecorded
Powell ProspectSulfur-PyritePast Producer
Rosati StoneFlagstoneProducer
Unknown - S+GSand and Gravel, ConstructionPast Producer
UnkStone, Crushed/BrokenPast Producer
UnkStone, Crushed/BrokenPast Producer
Dawson BankClayPast Producer
Unknown - ClayClayPast Producer
Unknown - ClayClayPast Producer
C O Parry ProspectIronProspect
Cooper MineIronPast Producer

Every working recorded in Phelps County

Map coverage status

No historic map-sheet match is published for this property yet. That does not mean no map exists. This record needs a coordinate-quality review before it can be joined to a sheet boundary. Browse the county's mapped places while that work is pending.

Listed places nearby

1 within 8 miles

Other National Register properties close enough to walk or drive between, ordered by distance from this one. Both positions come from the same geocoding pass that matched these properties to their map sheets.

Photograph PropertyDistance Listed
St. James Chapel4.9 miles1983

Sources for this property

National Archives recordThe nomination case file for reference 69000122 in Record Group 79.
Phelps CountyAll 9 listed properties in this county.

Provenance

  • Listing record. National Park Service National Register of Historic Places, listed-properties dataset, current to 2026-05-22.
  • Map join. Address geocoded through the United States Census geocoder, then tested against the published boundary of every sheet in the USGS Historical Topographic Map Collection.
  • How this page is made. Listing fields come from federal records; map-sheet coverage is a labelled coordinate-to-boundary calculation, not a source-field claim.
  • Wildfire. Short, Karen C. 2022. Spatial wildfire occurrence data for the United States, 1992-2020 [FPA_FOD_20221014]. 6th Edition. Fort Collins, CO: Forest Service Research Data Archive. https://doi.org/10.2737/RDS-2013-0009.6 Collected with United States Government funding and usable without additional permissions or fees.
  • Mines and quarries. USGS Mineral Resources Data System (MRDS) https://mrdata.usgs.gov/mrds/ A work of the United States government, no copyright under 17 U.S.C. 105.