BlockBefore
Photograph of Meloan, Cummins & Co., General Store
Photograph by Jim Roberts, CC BY-SA 4.0. Via Wikimedia Commons.

Cummins & Co. Meloan General Store

Listed on the National Register of Historic Places in 1993.

From the record

One of 21 National Register listings published here for Pike County · listed in 1993 · category: Building.

Sources: the case file at the National Archives · the National Register database, National Park Service · the Wikipedia article

The listing

  • What is counted as historic. The nomination lists 1 building as contributing to the listing.
  • Listed as. Meloan, Cummins & Co., General Store - the National Register files a house under its owner's surname.
  • Address. Jct. of Middle and Water Sts., NW corner, Paynesville, 63336
  • When was it listed? June 1993
  • Category. building
  • Township. Calumet township
  • National Register reference number. 93000571 - the number the National Park Service assigned this property when it was listed, and the key its nomination file is catalogued under at the National Archives.

Fires near this property

5 since 1992

Regional context, not property-specific evidence. The federal wildfire occurrence database lists 5 fires within 5 miles of Cummins & Co. Meloan General Store between 1992 and 2006, burning about 28 acres in total. None started naturally. None was recorded as arson. Distance is straight-line from the map coordinates, so a fire counted here may appear on a neighbouring settlement's page as well.

Reported cause Fires
Missing data/not specified/undetermined2
Debris and open burning2
Recreation and ceremony1

The most recent of them, most recent first, with the day each was reported and the service that recorded it.

DateCause SizeReported by Name on the report
10 June 2006Missing data/not specified/undetermined2.0 acresMissouri State Fire Marshal's Officenot named
24 April 2006Missing data/not specified/undeterminedunder an acreMissouri State Fire Marshal's Officenot named
1 March 1992Debris and open burning4.0 acresMissouri Department of Conservationnot named
14 February 2006Recreation and ceremony20 acresMissouri State Fire Marshal's Officenot named
27 January 2002Debris and open burning2.0 acresMissouri Department of Conservationnot named

Every fire recorded in Pike County

Mines and quarries near this property

1 within 5 miles

Regional context, not property-specific evidence. The federal mineral resources record lists 1 working within 5 miles of Cummins & Co. Meloan General Store: 1 past producer. None of them still produces. What was taken out: Stone, Crushed/Broken. Distance is straight-line from the map coordinates, so a quarry counted here may appear on a neighbouring settlement's page as well.

Where SiteCommodity StatusRecorded
Roberts QuarryStone, Crushed/BrokenPast Producer

Every working recorded in Pike County

Storms near this property

4 since 2008

Regional context, not property-specific evidence. The National Weather Service names Paynesville, the town this property stands in, in 4 storm reports between 2008 and 2026: 2 thunderstorm wind, 2 hail. No death or injury is recorded in these reports. Each account below is quoted exactly as the forecast office filed it, from the NOAA Storm Events Database, and each date opens the federal record of that event.

WhenEvent Place namedHarm What the report says
April 2026Thunderstorm WindPaynesville-Thunderstorm winds damaged the siding and roof of a single family home. A large tree was also split in half, but the center of the tree was rotted and half of the tree was leafless.
April 2010HailPaynesville-Golfball sized hail damaged a greenhouse at Clopton High School and also caused siding and roof damage to several buildings on campus.
January 2008Thunderstorm WindPaynesville-Numerous large tree limbs were blown down in Paynesville...along Highway H.
April 2010HailPaynesville-no account filed

Every storm recorded in Pike County

Map coverage status

No historic map-sheet match is published for this property yet. That does not mean no map exists. This record needs a coordinate-quality review before it can be joined to a sheet boundary. Browse the county's mapped places while that work is pending.

Listed places nearby

6 within 8 miles

Other National Register properties close enough to walk or drive between, ordered by distance from this one. Both positions come from the same geocoding pass that matched these properties to their map sheets.

Sources for this property

National Archives recordThe nomination case file for reference 93000571 in Record Group 79.
Wikipedia articleCommunity-written account of this property, licensed CC BY-SA.
Pike CountyAll 21 listed properties in this county.

Provenance

  • Listing record. National Park Service National Register of Historic Places, listed-properties dataset, current to 2026-05-22.
  • Map join. Address geocoded through the United States Census geocoder, then tested against the published boundary of every sheet in the USGS Historical Topographic Map Collection.
  • How this page is made. Listing fields come from federal records; map-sheet coverage is a labelled coordinate-to-boundary calculation, not a source-field claim.
  • Wildfire. Short, Karen C. 2022. Spatial wildfire occurrence data for the United States, 1992-2020 [FPA_FOD_20221014]. 6th Edition. Fort Collins, CO: Forest Service Research Data Archive. https://doi.org/10.2737/RDS-2013-0009.6 Collected with United States Government funding and usable without additional permissions or fees.
  • Mines and quarries. USGS Mineral Resources Data System (MRDS) https://mrdata.usgs.gov/mrds/ A work of the United States government, no copyright under 17 U.S.C. 105.
  • Storms. NOAA National Centers for Environmental Information, Storm Events Database https://www.ncei.noaa.gov/stormevents/ A work of the United States government, no copyright under 17 U.S.C. 105. Narratives are quoted verbatim from the National Weather Service report and are not edited or summarised.