Dayton, Montana
9 topographic sheets cover this place, the earliest surveyed in 1920 and the latest in 1988. It stands in the Flathead Reservation census division. It lies in ZIP code area 59914. It stands on Proctor Creek. The Survey maps it on the Elmo quadrangle. 104 people lived here at the 2020 count. It stands 2,910 feet above sea level.
On record in Dayton
Buildings and businesses the archive holds for this place. Each opens its own page, with the source record it came from.
On the National Register 1 record
Dayton State Banklisted 2012
Population over time
3 figuresDayton grew from 95 to 104 between 2000 and 2020. These are the recorded population figures Wikidata holds for this place, reached through the Geographic Names Information System number this page is keyed on rather than by name, so they belong to this place and not to another of the same name. Most are census counts, but not all are: an early figure may be a founding or settlement estimate, and an estimate published within five years of a census is left out. The change column is computed, and is left blank where more than 20 years separate a figure from the one before it, because a gap that long is not a change between two counts.
| Year | People | Change |
|---|---|---|
| 2000 | 95 | |
| 2010 | 84 | -11 (-12%) |
| 2020 | 104 | +20 (+24%) |
Topographic sheets covering this place
6 surveys from 9 printed sheetsMatched by testing this settlement's coordinate against the published boundary of every sheet in the United States Geological Survey's historical collection. Each opens the scanned sheet at the Survey.
- 1920 USGS Flathead Lake quadrangle1:125000
- 1956 USGS Wallace quadrangle1:250000, 3 printings
- 1960 USGS Wallace quadrangle1:250000
- 1964 USGS Elmo quadrangle1:24000, 2 printings
- 1980 USGS Polson quadrangle1:100000
- 1988 USGS Elmo quadrangle1:24000
Fires near this place
105 since 1992Regional context, not property-specific evidence. The federal wildfire occurrence database lists 105 fires within 5 miles of Dayton between 1992 and 2020, burning about 203 acres in total. 32 started naturally. 3 were recorded as arson. Distance is straight-line from the map coordinates, so a fire counted here may appear on a neighbouring settlement's page as well.
| Reported cause | Fires |
|---|---|
| Natural | 32 |
| Recreation and ceremony | 23 |
| Missing data/not specified/undetermined | 17 |
| Debris and open burning | 11 |
| Fireworks | 9 |
| Equipment and vehicle use | 5 |
| Misuse of fire by a minor | 3 |
| Arson/incendiarism | 3 |
| Power generation/transmission/distribution | 1 |
| Smoking | 1 |
The most recent of them, most recent first, with the day each was reported and the service that recorded it.
| Date | Cause | Size | Reported by | Name on the report |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 5 September 2001 | Debris and open burning | under an acre | Northwestern Land Office | not named |
| 4 September 2001 | Fireworks | 1.0 acres | Flathead Agency | BIGARM |
| 4 September 2001 | Missing data/not specified/undetermined | under an acre | Northwestern Land Office | not named |
| 22 September 2005 | Debris and open burning | 80 acres | Flathead Agency | WALKING |
| 2 September 2012 | Power generation/transmission/distribution | under an acre | Flathead Agency | MELITA |
| 2 September 2001 | Recreation and ceremony | under an acre | Northwestern Land Office | not named |
| 2 September 2001 | Recreation and ceremony | under an acre | Northwestern Land Office | not named |
| 18 September 2018 | Arson/incendiarism | under an acre | Flathead Agency | WILD HORSE |
Settlements close enough to share some of these fires:
Mines and quarries near this place
9 within 5 milesRegional context, not property-specific evidence. The federal mineral resources record lists 9 workings within 5 miles of Dayton: 6 occurrences, 1 prospect, 1 unknown, 1 past producer. None of them still produces. What was taken out: Silver, Lead, Lead, Silver, Copper, Lead, Zinc, Silver. Distance is straight-line from the map coordinates, so a quarry counted here may appear on a neighbouring settlement's page as well.
| Where | Site | Commodity | Status | Recorded |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Chief Cliff Mine | Lead, Silver | Occurrence | Vein | |
| Gravel Pit | Sand and Gravel, Construction | Unknown | ||
| Mosher Prospect | Copper, Silver | Occurrence | 1910 | |
| Mosher Prospect | Copper | Past Producer | ||
| Silverstone Mine | Copper, Lead, Zinc, Silver | Occurrence | Vein | |
| Unnamed Building Stone | Stone, Dimension | Occurrence | ||
| Unnamed Prospects | Lead, Copper, Silver | Prospect | ||
| Chief Cliff Mine | Lead, Silver | Occurrence | ||
| Silverstone Mine | Silver, Lead | Occurrence |
Storms near this place
2 since 2013Regional context, not property-specific evidence. The National Weather Service names Dayton in 2 storm reports between 2013 and 2019: 2 thunderstorm wind. No death or injury is recorded in these reports. Each account below is quoted exactly as the forecast office filed it, from the NOAA Storm Events Database, and each date opens the federal record of that event.
| When | Event | Place named | Harm | What the report says |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| August 2019 | Thunderstorm Wind | Dayton | $1,000 | Estimated winds to 60 mph caused waves to 4 feet on Flathead Lake and power outages in the Dayton area. |
| August 2013 | Thunderstorm Wind | Dayton | - | A NWS employee reported trees bending with one large tree blown down. The waves on Flathead lake were the highest she had ever seen. |
Nearest settlements
The eight closest, with where each one stands in the county. Distances are straight-line, computed from the Geographic Names Information System coordinates.
| Map | Place | Distance | Sheets |
|---|---|---|---|
| Proctor | 2.3 miles | 9 | |
| Elmo | 4.5 miles | 9 | |
| Snowberg Court | 4.7 miles | 9 | |
| Big Arm | 4.8 miles | 9 | |
| Lindisfarne | 4.8 miles | 7 | |
| Rollins | 5.1 miles | 8 | |
| Sipes | 7.3 miles | 10 | |
| Meltons | 7.7 miles | 10 |
Elsewhere
Matched on this settlement's Geographic Names Information System number rather than its name, so it cannot be a different place of the same name in another state.
| Wikipedia article on Dayton | An encyclopaedic summary. Its text is share-alike, so it is linked here rather than copied. |
| Wikidata item Q965572 | The structured record the population and elevation above come from. Public domain (CC0). |
Provenance
This settlement is recorded in the Geographic Names Information System as feature 770496. The sheet list is computed by point-in-boundary test against the United States Geological Survey's historical topographic inventory. Both are works of the United States government and carry no copyright under 17 U.S.C. 105.
Wildfire. Short, Karen C. 2022. Spatial wildfire occurrence data for the United States, 1992-2020 [FPA_FOD_20221014]. 6th Edition. Fort Collins, CO: Forest Service Research Data Archive. https://doi.org/10.2737/RDS-2013-0009.6 Collected with United States Government funding and usable without additional permissions or fees.
Mines and quarries. USGS Mineral Resources Data System (MRDS) https://mrdata.usgs.gov/mrds/ A work of the United States government, no copyright under 17 U.S.C. 105.
Storms. NOAA National Centers for Environmental Information, Storm Events Database https://www.ncei.noaa.gov/stormevents/ A work of the United States government, no copyright under 17 U.S.C. 105. Narratives are quoted verbatim from the National Weather Service report and are not edited or summarised.





