From the record
One of 35 National Register listings published here for Park County · listed in 1998 · category: District.
Sources: the case file at the National Archives · the National Register database, National Park Service
Listed on the National Register of Historic Places in 1998.
One of 35 National Register listings published here for Park County · listed in 1998 · category: District.
Sources: the case file at the National Archives · the National Register database, National Park Service
Regional context, not property-specific evidence. The federal wildfire occurrence database lists 11 fires within 5 miles of Chico Hot Springs between 1995 and 2019, burning about 12 acres in total. 7 started naturally. None was recorded as arson. Distance is straight-line from the map coordinates, so a fire counted here may appear on a neighbouring settlement's page as well.
| Reported cause | Fires |
|---|---|
| Natural | 7 |
| Recreation and ceremony | 2 |
| Missing data/not specified/undetermined | 1 |
| Debris and open burning | 1 |
The most recent of them, most recent first, with the day each was reported and the service that recorded it.
| Date | Cause | Size | Reported by | Name on the report |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 15 September 2019 | Natural | under an acre | Park County | MILE 575 |
| 3 August 1999 | Natural | 10 acres | Custer Gallatin National Forest | CHICO |
| 15 August 2003 | Natural | under an acre | Custer Gallatin National Forest | CONLIN GULCH |
| 15 August 1995 | Recreation and ceremony | under an acre | Custer Gallatin National Forest | MESS KIT |
| 14 August 1996 | Natural | under an acre | Custer Gallatin National Forest | DRY CREEK |
| 14 August 1996 | Natural | under an acre | Custer Gallatin National Forest | SOLDIER |
| 1 August 2013 | Natural | under an acre | Custer Gallatin National Forest | PRIZE |
| 12 May 2019 | Missing data/not specified/undetermined | under an acre | Park County | not named |
Regional context, not property-specific evidence. The federal mineral resources record lists 39 workings within 5 miles of Chico Hot Springs: 16 unknowns, 14 prospects, 4 occurrences, 3 past producers. 2 still produce. What was taken out: Silver, Gold, Copper, Lead. Distance is straight-line from the map coordinates, so a quarry counted here may appear on a neighbouring settlement's page as well.
| Where | Site | Commodity | Status | Recorded |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Alaska | Silver, Zinc, Gold, Lead | Unknown | ||
| Balm of Gilead Mama Gaylord Creek | Silver, Zinc, Lead, Gold | Prospect | ||
| Basic Metals Mine | Copper, Silver, Lead, Gold, Zinc | Prospect | ||
| Chico Hot Springs | Stone, Dimension | Unknown | ||
| Crown Point | Gold, Silver, Lead | Unknown | ||
| Emigrant | Gold, Silver, Molybdenum, Lead | Producer | Galena, Molybdenite, Pyrite, Sphalerite | |
| Gold Leaf | Silver, Gold, Copper | Occurrence | ||
| Great Eastern Mine | Copper, Zinc, Silver, Lead, Gold | Prospect | ||
| Great Western | Copper, Gold, Lead, Silver, Zinc | Prospect | ||
| Klu Klux Claim | Silver, Lead, Zinc | Unknown |
Regional context, not property-specific evidence. The National Weather Service names Pray, the town this property stands in, in 2 storm reports between 2016 and 2022: 1 hail, 1 thunderstorm wind. No death or injury is recorded in these reports. Each account below is quoted exactly as the forecast office filed it, from the NOAA Storm Events Database, and each date opens the federal record of that event.
| When | Event | Place named | Harm | What the report says |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| September 2022 | Thunderstorm Wind | Pray | - | no account filed |
| July 2016 | Hail | Pray | - | no account filed |
No historic map-sheet match is published for this property yet. That does not mean no map exists. This record needs a coordinate-quality review before it can be joined to a sheet boundary. Browse the county's mapped places while that work is pending.
Other National Register properties close enough to walk or drive between, ordered by distance from this one. Both positions come from the same geocoding pass that matched these properties to their map sheets.
| Photograph | Property | Distance | Listed |
|---|---|---|---|
| Frederick and Josephine Bottler House | 4.5 miles | 2020 | |
![]() | John Hepburn Place | 7.3 miles | 2005 |
| National Archives record | The nomination case file for reference 98001085 in Record Group 79. |
| Park County | All 35 listed properties in this county. |