From the record
One of 4 National Register listings published here for Mountrail County · listed in 2018 · category: Site.
Sources: the National Register database, National Park Service · the Wikipedia article
Listed on the National Register of Historic Places in 2018.
One of 4 National Register listings published here for Mountrail County · listed in 2018 · category: Site.
Sources: the National Register database, National Park Service · the Wikipedia article
Regional context, not property-specific evidence. The federal wildfire occurrence database lists 10 fires within 5 miles of Assyrian Muslim Cemetery between 2005 and 2019, burning about 34 acres in total. 1 started naturally. None was recorded as arson. Distance is straight-line from the map coordinates, so a fire counted here may appear on a neighbouring settlement's page as well.
| Reported cause | Fires |
|---|---|
| Equipment and vehicle use | 4 |
| Debris and open burning | 3 |
| Misuse of fire by a minor | 1 |
| Natural | 1 |
| Missing data/not specified/undetermined | 1 |
The most recent of them, most recent first, with the day each was reported and the service that recorded it.
| Date | Cause | Size | Reported by | Name on the report |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 8 September 2005 | Equipment and vehicle use | 2.0 acres | North Dakota State Forest Service | not named |
| 6 August 2018 | Natural | 1.0 acres | North Dakota State Forest Service | 84TH BALE |
| 19 July 2005 | Equipment and vehicle use | 5.0 acres | North Dakota State Forest Service | not named |
| 30 June 2017 | Equipment and vehicle use | 1.0 acres | North Dakota State Forest Service | CVANCARA FIRE |
| 19 May 2018 | Debris and open burning | 1.0 acres | North Dakota State Forest Service | BARSTAD 1 |
| 17 May 2019 | Missing data/not specified/undetermined | 1.0 acres | North Dakota State Forest Service | HIGHWAY 2 MM 88 |
| 12 May 2017 | Debris and open burning | 1.0 acres | North Dakota State Forest Service | LUND CONTROLLED BURN |
| 24 April 2019 | Debris and open burning | 20 acres | North Dakota State Forest Service | TERRY DICK FIRE |
Regional context, not property-specific evidence. The National Weather Service names Ross, the town this property stands in, in 14 storm reports between 2003 and 2025: 8 hail, 5 funnel cloud, 1 thunderstorm wind. No death or injury is recorded in these reports. Each account below is quoted exactly as the forecast office filed it, from the NOAA Storm Events Database, and each date opens the federal record of that event.
| When | Event | Place named | Harm | What the report says |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| July 2010 | Funnel Cloud | Ross | - | This funnel cloud lasted for two minutes, and did not reach the surface. |
| June 2008 | Hail | Ross | - | Hail ranged from penny to quarter size. |
| August 2008 | Hail | Ross | - | No damage reports were received from the large hail. |
| July 2025 | Hail | Ross | - | no account filed |
| August 2025 | Thunderstorm Wind | Ross | - | no account filed |
| September 2025 | Funnel Cloud | Ross | - | no account filed |
| July 2024 | Funnel Cloud | Ross | - | no account filed |
| July 2024 | Hail | Ross | - | no account filed |
| July 2020 | Funnel Cloud | Ross | - | no account filed |
| June 2020 | Funnel Cloud | Ross | - | no account filed |
| July 2016 | Hail | Ross | - | no account filed |
| August 2009 | Hail | Ross | - | no account filed |
| July 2005 | Hail | Ross | - | no account filed |
| June 2003 | Hail | Ross | - | no account filed |
No historic map-sheet match is published for this property yet. That does not mean no map exists. This record needs a coordinate-quality review before it can be joined to a sheet boundary. Browse the county's mapped places while that work is pending.
Other National Register properties close enough to walk or drive between, ordered by distance from this one. Both positions come from the same geocoding pass that matched these properties to their map sheets.
| Photograph | Property | Distance | Listed |
|---|---|---|---|
![]() | Mountrail County Courthouse | 5.4 miles | 1978 |
![]() | Great Northern Railway Underpass | 5.4 miles | 1997 |
| National Archives record | The nomination case file for reference 100002693 in Record Group 79. |
| Wikipedia article | Community-written account of this property, licensed CC BY-SA. |
| Mountrail County | All 4 listed properties in this county. |