From the record
One of 27 National Register listings published here for Otoe County · listed in 1992 · category: Structure.
Sources: the case file at the National Archives · the National Register database, National Park Service
Listed on the National Register of Historic Places in 1992.
One of 27 National Register listings published here for Otoe County · listed in 1992 · category: Structure.
Sources: the case file at the National Archives · the National Register database, National Park Service
Regional context, not property-specific evidence. The federal wildfire occurrence database lists 15 fires within 5 miles of Bridge between 2002 and 2020, burning about 46 acres in total. None started naturally. None was recorded as arson. Distance is straight-line from the map coordinates, so a fire counted here may appear on a neighbouring settlement's page as well.
| Reported cause | Fires |
|---|---|
| Debris and open burning | 10 |
| Missing data/not specified/undetermined | 3 |
| Recreation and ceremony | 1 |
| Equipment and vehicle use | 1 |
The most recent of them, most recent first, with the day each was reported and the service that recorded it.
| Date | Cause | Size | Reported by | Name on the report |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 13 June 2016 | Equipment and vehicle use | under an acre | Nebraska Forest Service | not named |
| 23 May 2018 | Debris and open burning | under an acre | Nebraska Forest Service | not named |
| 4 April 2002 | Debris and open burning | 1.0 acres | Nebraska Forest Service | not named |
| 29 April 2018 | Missing data/not specified/undetermined | 1.2 acres | Nebraska Forest Service | not named |
| 8 March 2012 | Debris and open burning | under an acre | Nebraska Forest Service | not named |
| 5 March 2009 | Debris and open burning | 1.0 acres | Nebraska Forest Service | not named |
| 29 March 2013 | Debris and open burning | 3.0 acres | Nebraska Forest Service | not named |
| 21 March 2009 | Debris and open burning | 4.0 acres | Nebraska Forest Service | not named |
Regional context, not property-specific evidence. The National Weather Service names Lorton, the town this property stands in, in 12 storm reports between 2005 and 2023: 6 thunderstorm wind, 5 hail, 1 funnel cloud. No death or injury is recorded in these reports. Each account below is quoted exactly as the forecast office filed it, from the NOAA Storm Events Database, and each date opens the federal record of that event.
| When | Event | Place named | Harm | What the report says |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| March 2011 | Thunderstorm Wind | Lorton | $10,000 | Thunderstorm wind gusts estimated at over 60 mph ripped all of the vinyl siding off the side of a house southeast of Syracuse and two large sliding doors on a shed were blown off of their tracks. The winds were also accompanied by hail up to dime-size. |
| April 2023 | Thunderstorm Wind | Lorton | - | Emergency manager reported an estimated wind gust of 60 mph. |
| August 2021 | Thunderstorm Wind | Lorton | - | Public reported 2 grain bins blown down and another severely damaged. Small grain weigh shed destroyed. |
| August 2019 | Funnel Cloud | Lorton | - | A funnel cloud was reported 4 miles north-northeast of Cook. |
| June 2017 | Thunderstorm Wind | Lorton | - | A trained storm spotter estimated 60 mph winds south of Lorton Village. |
| September 2014 | Thunderstorm Wind | Lorton | - | A storm survey revealed a swath of damage winds to the south of the tornado track, likely associated with the rear-flank downdraft of the slow-moving Otoe County supercell. The damage was confined to flattened corn and broken or snapped tree limbs. |
| March 2011 | Hail | Lorton | - | Hail up to dime-size was accompanied by thunderstorm winds that were estimated at a little over 60 mph. |
| July 2010 | Thunderstorm Wind | Lorton | - | A spotter estimated thunderstorm wind gusts around 60 mph. |
| April 2005 | Hail | Lorton | - | Hail up to 1.5 inches in diameter caused some tree and vehicle damage in Lorton. The hail piled up a foot deep in spots and snowplows were used to clear some roads in the area. |
| March 2012 | Hail | Lorton | - | no account filed |
| March 2012 | Hail | Lorton | - | no account filed |
| September 2010 | Hail | Lorton | - | no account filed |
No historic map-sheet match is published for this property yet. That does not mean no map exists. This record needs a coordinate-quality review before it can be joined to a sheet boundary. Browse the county's mapped places while that work is pending.
| National Archives record | The nomination case file for reference 92000733 in Record Group 79. |
| Otoe County | All 27 listed properties in this county. |