BlockBefore

Pueblo of Santo Domingo (Kiua)

Listed on the National Register of Historic Places in 1973.

From the record

One of 12 National Register listings published here for Sandoval County · listed in 1973 · category: District.

Sources: the case file at the National Archives · the National Register database, National Park Service

The listing

  • Address. 35 mi. NE of Albuquerque, off I-25, Albuquerque, 87052
  • When was it listed? December 1973
  • Category. district
  • Census division. Santo Domingo-San Felipe
  • National Register reference number. 73001145 - the number the National Park Service assigned this property when it was listed, and the key its nomination file is catalogued under at the National Archives.

Fires near this property

183 since 1992

Regional context, not property-specific evidence. The federal wildfire occurrence database lists 183 fires within 5 miles of Pueblo of Santo Domingo (Kiua) between 1992 and 2020, burning about 418 acres in total. 6 started naturally. 7 were recorded as arson. Distance is straight-line from the map coordinates, so a fire counted here may appear on a neighbouring settlement's page as well.

Reported cause Fires
Debris and open burning114
Missing data/not specified/undetermined30
Recreation and ceremony11
Equipment and vehicle use8
Arson/incendiarism7
Natural6
Smoking2
Misuse of fire by a minor2
Firearms and explosives use1
Railroad operations and maintenance1
Power generation/transmission/distribution1

The most recent of them, most recent first, with the day each was reported and the service that recorded it.

DateCause SizeReported by Name on the report
4 September 2000Debris and open burningunder an acreSouthern Pueblos AgencyCANAL
25 September 2001Equipment and vehicle useunder an acreNew Mexico State Forestry DivisionHOTMIX
19 September 2005Debris and open burningunder an acreSouthern Pueblos AgencySAN DO
13 September 2010Equipment and vehicle useunder an acreSouthern Pueblos AgencyTURN OFF
8 August 2002Missing data/not specified/undeterminedunder an acreSouthern Pueblos AgencyBELONGING
31 August 2003Arson/incendiarismunder an acreSouthern Pueblos AgencyPENA
24 August 2005Missing data/not specified/undeterminedunder an acreSouthern Pueblos AgencyVIC
2 August 1999Debris and open burningunder an acreSouthern Pueblos AgencyGALISTEO

Every fire recorded in Sandoval County

Mines and quarries near this property

7 within 5 miles

Regional context, not property-specific evidence. The federal mineral resources record lists 7 workings within 5 miles of Pueblo of Santo Domingo (Kiua): 4 past producers, 2 prospects, 1 producer. 1 still produces. What was taken out: Sand and Gravel, Construction, Uranium. Distance is straight-line from the map coordinates, so a quarry counted here may appear on a neighbouring settlement's page as well.

Where SiteCommodity StatusRecorded
Ace ClaimsUraniumProspect
Gravel PitSand and Gravel, ConstructionPast Producer
Pena Blanca PitSand and Gravel, ConstructionProducerSedimentary
Pit Number 66-17-SSand and Gravel, ConstructionPast Producer
Pit Number 76-9-SSand and Gravel, ConstructionPast Producer
Pit Number 79-1-SSand and Gravel, ConstructionPast Producer
Two Gravel PitsSand and Gravel, ConstructionProspect

Every working recorded in Sandoval County

Map coverage status

No historic map-sheet match is published for this property yet. That does not mean no map exists. This record needs a coordinate-quality review before it can be joined to a sheet boundary. Browse the county's mapped places while that work is pending.

Listed places nearby

2 within 8 miles

Other National Register properties close enough to walk or drive between, ordered by distance from this one. Both positions come from the same geocoding pass that matched these properties to their map sheets.

Photograph PropertyDistance Listed
Santo Domingo Indian Trading Post2.4 miles1998
Cochiti Pueblo6.7 miles1974

Sources for this property

National Archives recordThe nomination case file for reference 73001145 in Record Group 79.
Sandoval CountyAll 12 listed properties in this county.

Provenance

  • Listing record. National Park Service National Register of Historic Places, listed-properties dataset, current to 2026-05-22.
  • Map join. Address geocoded through the United States Census geocoder, then tested against the published boundary of every sheet in the USGS Historical Topographic Map Collection.
  • How this page is made. Listing fields come from federal records; map-sheet coverage is a labelled coordinate-to-boundary calculation, not a source-field claim.
  • Wildfire. Short, Karen C. 2022. Spatial wildfire occurrence data for the United States, 1992-2020 [FPA_FOD_20221014]. 6th Edition. Fort Collins, CO: Forest Service Research Data Archive. https://doi.org/10.2737/RDS-2013-0009.6 Collected with United States Government funding and usable without additional permissions or fees.
  • Mines and quarries. USGS Mineral Resources Data System (MRDS) https://mrdata.usgs.gov/mrds/ A work of the United States government, no copyright under 17 U.S.C. 105.