Dayton, Nevada
25 topographic sheets cover this place, the earliest surveyed in 1891 and the latest in 1993. It stands in the Dayton census division. It lies in ZIP code area 89403. It lies near Gold Canyon. The Survey maps it on the Dayton quadrangle. 15,153 people lived here at the 2020 count. It stands 4,396 feet above sea level.
Research this city
On record in Dayton
Buildings and businesses the archive holds for this place. Each opens its own page, with the source record it came from.
Surveyed buildings and structures 2 records
- Bluestone Manufacturing Company, Main Street & Shady Avenue, Daytonfederal building survey, 1 photograph
- Sutro Tunnel Entrance, Comstock Mines vicinity, Daytonfederal building survey, 1 photograph
Population over time
2 figuresDayton grew from 8,964 to 15,153 between 2010 and 2020. These are the recorded population figures Wikidata holds for this place, reached through the Geographic Names Information System number this page is keyed on rather than by name, so they belong to this place and not to another of the same name. Most are census counts, but not all are: an early figure may be a founding or settlement estimate, and an estimate published within five years of a census is left out. The change column is computed, and is left blank where more than 20 years separate a figure from the one before it, because a gap that long is not a change between two counts.
| Year | People | Change |
|---|---|---|
| 2010 | 8,964 | |
| 2020 | 15,153 | +6,189 (+69%) |
Topographic sheets covering this place
10 surveys from 25 printed sheetsMatched by testing this settlement's coordinate against the published boundary of every sheet in the United States Geological Survey's historical collection. Each opens the scanned sheet at the Survey.
- 1891 USGS Carson quadrangle1:125000
- 1893 USGS Carson quadrangle1:125000, 8 printings
- 1893 USGS Carson City quadrangle1:125000
- 1956 USGS Dayton quadrangle1:62500, 3 printings
- 1957 USGS Reno quadrangle1:250000, 5 printings
- 1959 USGS Reno quadrangle1:250000
- 1960 USGS Reno quadrangle1:250000, 2 printings
- 1979 USGS Carson City quadrangle1:100000, 2 printings
- 1987 USGS Dayton quadrangle1:24000
- 1993 USGS Dayton quadrangle1:24000
Photographs
2 photographs,Taken for the Office of War Information and the Farm Security Administration, who photographed the country between 1935 and 1944. Works of United States government photographers, with no known restriction on use. Each opens its catalogue record.
Photographer not recorded. Library of Congress
Photographer not recorded. Library of Congress
Fires near this place
95 since 1992Regional context, not property-specific evidence. The federal wildfire occurrence database lists 95 fires within 5 miles of Dayton between 1992 and 2020, burning about 2,799 acres in total. 24 started naturally. 4 were recorded as arson. Distance is straight-line from the map coordinates, so a fire counted here may appear on a neighbouring settlement's page as well.
| Reported cause | Fires |
|---|---|
| Natural | 24 |
| Missing data/not specified/undetermined | 23 |
| Recreation and ceremony | 9 |
| Equipment and vehicle use | 8 |
| Other causes | 6 |
| Debris and open burning | 4 |
| Misuse of fire by a minor | 4 |
| Fireworks | 4 |
| Smoking | 4 |
| Arson/incendiarism | 4 |
| Power generation/transmission/distribution | 3 |
| Firearms and explosives use | 2 |
The most recent of them, most recent first, with the day each was reported and the service that recorded it.
| Date | Cause | Size | Reported by | Name on the report |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 9 September 2006 | Recreation and ceremony | under an acre | Carson City District Office | ELDORADO DAM |
| 8 September 2011 | Natural | under an acre | Carson City District Office | SIX MILE |
| 5 September 2010 | Missing data/not specified/undetermined | 1.0 acres | Carson City District Office | WINTERS |
| 5 September 2002 | Smoking | under an acre | Carson City District Office | MINE |
| 5 September 1993 | Natural | under an acre | Carson City District Office | SIX MILE |
| 4 September 2019 | Natural | under an acre | Carson City District Office | ELDORADO CANYON |
| 20 September 2009 | Equipment and vehicle use | under an acre | Carson City District Office | SR 341 |
| 17 September 2011 | Missing data/not specified/undetermined | 1.5 acres | Carson City District Office | LINEHAN |
Settlements close enough to share some of these fires:
Mines and quarries near this place
10 of 128 shownRegional context, not property-specific evidence. The federal mineral resources record lists 128 workings within 5 miles of Dayton: 71 past producers, 27 prospects, 9 producers, 7 occurrences. 16 still produce. What was taken out: Silver, Gold, Gold, Silver, Silver, Gold. Distance is straight-line from the map coordinates, so a quarry counted here may appear on a neighbouring settlement's page as well.
| Where | Site | Commodity | Status | Recorded |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Anderson Pit & Mill | Sand and Gravel, Construction, Gold | Occurrence | ||
| Dayton Mine | Gold, Silver, Zinc, Copper | Plant | ||
| Dixon | Tungsten, Manganese | Occurrence | ||
| Dixon Manganese-Tungsten Deposit | Tungsten, Manganese | Prospect | ||
| El Dorado Canyon | Limestone, General | Occurrence | ||
| Eureka Canyon Quarry | Volcanic Materials | Past Producer | ||
| Keystone Shaft | Gold, Copper, Lead, Silver | Past Producer | ||
| Silver City Lode Deposits | Gold, Silver, Manganese, Iron | Past Producer | 1859, 1873 | |
| Silver City Mine | Gold, Silver, Molybdenum | Past Producer | ||
| Bullion Mine | Silver, Gold, Copper, Lead, Zinc, Iron | Past Producer | 1859 |
Storms near this place
18 since 1997Regional context, not property-specific evidence. The National Weather Service names Dayton in 18 storm reports between 1997 and 2025: 6 flash flood, 5 heavy rain, 2 hail, 2 thunderstorm wind. No death or injury is recorded in these reports. Each account below is quoted exactly as the forecast office filed it, from the NOAA Storm Events Database, and each date opens the federal record of that event.
| When | Event | Place named | Harm | What the report says |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| January 2017 | Flood | Dayton | $1,300,000 | Twenty five structures, including at least 10 homes (one 8-plex and two single-family homes), were damaged by flood waters in Dayton by the morning of the 9th. Flooding of the two single family homes in East Dayton may have been largely due to breaks in ditches and culverts incapable of handling the exceptionally large volume of water. Water depth varied from 6 inches to as much as 3 feet on the south side of the Carson River. Standing flood waters lasted for at least several days after the initial flood surge on the 8th. Schools were closed county-wide on the 9th. The damage estimate from the Lyon County Emergency Manager is considered very low-end and could actually be several million dollars for Dayton alone. In February, a Federal Disaster Declaration was approved for the January flooding. |
| July 2002 | Thunderstorm Wind | Dayton | $50,000 | Several downed power poles and four small trailers destroyed. |
| July 2007 | Lightning | Dayton | $40,000 | Lightning struck the Mark Twain Fire Station building in Dayton. The building was severely damaged. A 1952 International fire engine that was being stored in the building was also damaged. |
| June 2015 | Flash Flood | Dayton | $20,000 | Per a spotter report, 1.13 inches of rain fell in about an hour in the Six Mile Canyon area near the Lyon and Storey County line. Lyon County Emergency Management received reports of significant yard and landscaping damage as well as water in garages. Also, heavy equipment was required to remove mud from streets in the Mark Twain community as well as in Six Mile Canyon (Storey County). |
| June 2004 | Lightning | Dayton | $2,000 | Lightning caused power outage in Dayton. A total of 1600 people were without power for more than two hours. |
| July 2002 | Thunderstorm Wind | Dayton | $1,000 | no account filed |
| August 2025 | Flash Flood | Dayton | - | Nevada Department of Transportation reported flash flooding with mud and debris on US-50 near Bryce Road. Additionally, minor debris and flooding was reported on US-50 near US-95 ALT near Silver Springs. |
| June 2023 | Flash Flood | Dayton | - | A county official reported flash flooding that caused hazardous road conditions in the Dayton, NV area. |
| August 2022 | Heavy Rain | Dayton | - | Trained spotter located 2.0 mi ESE of Six Mile Canyon reported a one hour total rainfall amount of 1.56 inches between 5:00 PM and 6:00 PM LST. |
| December 2021 | Heavy Rain | Dayton | - | COCORAHS station (nv-ly-15) 3.4 mi NE of Dayton,NV reported 1.52 of heavy rain. |
| April 2018 | Heavy Rain | Dayton | - | CoCoRaHS station NV-LY-15, 2 miles east-southeast of Six Mile Canyon reported 0.67 inches of rainfall in a 24 hour period from 6 April 0700PST to 7 April 0700PST. |
| May 2018 | Heavy Rain | Dayton | - | CoCoRaHS station NV-LY-15, 2 miles east-southeast of Six Mile Canyon reported 1.52 inches of rainfall in a 24-hour period from 24 May 0700PST to 25 May 0700PST. |
| July 2015 | Flash Flood | Dayton | - | The Lyon County Sheriff's office reported a car stuck in water flowing over V and T Way from a dry wash. The car had to be pulled out by heavy machinery. Pictures of the incident indicate that the water was approximately 18 inches deep at the time of the rescue. |
| October 2009 | Heavy Rain | Dayton | - | The Lyon County Emergency Manager reported street flooding in Dayton at 1745PST. |
| September 2003 | Flash Flood | Dayton | - | Spotter reported 4-6 inches of water running over U.S. Highway 50 due to heavy thunderstorm rains. |
| August 2002 | Flash Flood | Dayton | - | Flash Flood on Highway 50 |
| July 1997 | Hail | Dayton | - | The Lyon County Sheriff's Office reported golf ball size hail in Dayton. |
| July 2001 | Hail | Dayton | - | no account filed |
Nearest settlements
The eight closest, with where each one stands in the county. Distances are straight-line, computed from the Geographic Names Information System coordinates.
| Map | Place | Distance | Sheets |
|---|---|---|---|
| Johntown (historical) | 1.9 miles | 31 | |
| Sutro | 3.0 miles | 31 | |
| Silver City | 3.1 miles | 32 | |
| Twin Flat | 3.3 miles | 32 | |
| Eureka (historical) | 3.5 miles | 29 | |
| Mound House | 4.6 miles | 29 | |
| Carson Rapids City | 5.0 miles | 31 | |
| Palmyra (historical) | 7.6 miles | 22 |
Elsewhere
Matched on this settlement's Geographic Names Information System number rather than its name, so it cannot be a different place of the same name in another state.
| Wikipedia article on Dayton | An encyclopaedic summary. Its text is share-alike, so it is linked here rather than copied. |
| Wikidata item Q1020984 | The structured record the population and elevation above come from. Public domain (CC0). |
Provenance
This settlement is recorded in the Geographic Names Information System as feature 856226. The sheet list is computed by point-in-boundary test against the United States Geological Survey's historical topographic inventory. Both are works of the United States government and carry no copyright under 17 U.S.C. 105.
Wildfire. Short, Karen C. 2022. Spatial wildfire occurrence data for the United States, 1992-2020 [FPA_FOD_20221014]. 6th Edition. Fort Collins, CO: Forest Service Research Data Archive. https://doi.org/10.2737/RDS-2013-0009.6 Collected with United States Government funding and usable without additional permissions or fees.
Mines and quarries. USGS Mineral Resources Data System (MRDS) https://mrdata.usgs.gov/mrds/ A work of the United States government, no copyright under 17 U.S.C. 105.
Storms. NOAA National Centers for Environmental Information, Storm Events Database https://www.ncei.noaa.gov/stormevents/ A work of the United States government, no copyright under 17 U.S.C. 105. Narratives are quoted verbatim from the National Weather Service report and are not edited or summarised.









